Textual Relations By Cate Ashwood Review

Textual Relations

Title: Textual Relations

Author: Cate Ashwood

Publisher: Cate Ashwood

Genre: Contemporary m/m romance (GFY)

Length: Novella – 32,500 words

Goodreads Linkhttps://www.goodreads.com/book/show/35668308-textual-relations

Sales Link: http://hyperurl.co/khnznx

Blurb:

Evolutionary psychology professor Henry Hathaway is ready to spend his birthday the same way he does every year: a good teeth cleaning followed by lunch with his brother. But when he receives a wrong-number text confirming the details of a date, he does what any considerate person would—he goes to meet them and explain why they’ve been stood up.

Asher Wescott hadn’t expected his blind date to go well, because when do they ever? Henry shows up instead, and things are suddenly looking up. Socially awkward and attached to his routines, Henry is nevertheless one of the most charming and kind men Asher has met in a long time.

Too bad he’s not Henry’s type.

An accidental date, an impulsive kiss, and a few conflicted feelings later, can Asher get Henry to see the world—and him—in a different light?

Release Date: August 10th, 2017

FullSizeRender-11

3.5 stars

I just happened to run across this author. She’s a first time read for me. I always get a little nervous when reading new (to me) authors. You never know what you’re going to get. I have to admit. This book started off a little rocky for me. But totally won me over at the end.
I absolutely loved Asher’s characters! He was just the perfect guy! And I think just the right guy for Henry.

Ok… I really enjoyed this book. I read it in one sitting. I liked the characters but the dialogue in the beginning of this book was hard to get through. I had a hard time with it. It was just too technical. At times I felt like I was reading a psychology book. Some of the stuff was just hard to get through. It was just a little over the top.
It just felt too clinical for me…. it took away from the story.

I think there needed to be a balance with all the psychology talk. It felt at times that Henry was looking to medically diagnosed himself as to why he was having these feelings for Asher so late in life. He just couldn’t wrap his head around it all. But, I loved how he didn’t let these feelings interfere with his growing relationship with Asher. He fully went in head first. And I loved that!

Right from the beginning you knew what kind of personality Henry had. He was so formal and technical. Very precise about things. He was socially awkward. He didn’t know how to act with other people outside of his work environment.
I absolutely loved how Henry and Asher met. He was just so taken aback with Asher when they first met. Asher was laid back. He went with the flow and brought Henry out of his comfort zone every time they were together. He brought a side out of Henry that he never knew he had. I think that’s what appealed to Henry And made a very big impression on him.

I loved their first kiss! Super hot! And I loved the star scene! Another hot moment!

This book changed for me once Henry let’s himself go and fully embraces Asher. He stops the Psych analogy talk and the book flows with them being together.
I loved the ending of this book. Henry has come a long way. And he definitely deserves his happy ending. No more boring nights for him!

Overall all… even with all the psychology talk. I enjoyed this book. I will definitely be checking out this authors other books!

*ARC provided for an honest review*

6936948

About the Author:

Cate discovered her love for books of all kinds early on, but romance is where her heart truly lies. She is addicted to the happily ever afters and the journey the characters take to get there. Currently residing in White Rock, B.C, Cate loves living just a stone’s throw from the ocean. When she’s not writing, she can be found consuming coffee at an alarming rate while wrangling her children, her husband, and their two cats.

Cate loves to hear from readers. You can contact her at cateashwood@gmail.com or on her website http://www.cateashwood.com.

If you’d like to get up-to-date information, exclusive excerpts and content, and giveaways, be sure to sign up for Cate’s Newsletter.

 

 

Leave a Reply

