BOOK REVIEW: The Foxe and the Hound by R.S. Grey

51UAQ6O9x6L._AC_US218_

When your life is a hot mess at twenty, it’s cute. At twenty-seven…well, not so much.

It’s just that my lofty dreams–making it as a real estate agent, paying rent on time, showering daily–have stayed just that: dreams. Oh, and love? I’ve decided love might be a little ambitious for me at the moment. Instead, I’ve settled for the two guys who will never leave me: Ben & Jerry.

That is, until Dr. Adam Foxe takes up residence as the town’s new vet.

With his strong jaw, easy confidence, and form-fitting scrubs, it’s not long before every housewife in Hamilton is dragging neglected tomcats in for weekly checkups.

Like everyone else, I’m intrigued. Even after I spoil my chance at a good first impression, he still offers me a proposition I can’t refuse: play his girlfriend at a family function and he’ll hire me as his real estate agent. Welcome to love in the 21st century.

It’s too bad I underestimated Adam’s irresistible charm and the undeniable attraction that burns between us. The day he pins me to the wall and silences me with a kiss, the line between reality and ruse begins to blur. Every teasing touch brings me to my knees. Every kiss promises more.

It looks like my hot mess of a life is about to get a little hotter.

Melanie’s 5+ Star Review:

unnamed (2)Laughter truly is the best medicine and in R.S. Grey’s latest release, The Foxe and the Hound, there are no shortages of those at all. This had to have been one of the funniest books I’ve ever read with its clever and witty dialogue to date. I was cackling like a fool garnering bizarre looks from strangers and I didn’t care one bit. The Foxe and The Hound is a delightfully, laugh out loud romantic comedy that is totally book shelf worthy.

I’ve read and loved so many of this author’s work but with this one, she has done something so absolutely amazing with in my opinion. The characters are utterly loveable. I found Madeleine to be outright charming – quirks and all. She appealed so greatly to me because she was someone who many of us could relate to. From her frustrations with her job to her dream of finding the right person to settle down with. It was her journey to finally falling into step with her career and to finding the right person for her that kept me entertained in the best way possible. Adam was just the right fit for Madeleine. Someone who had a solid and respectful career but also someone who’d been burned romantically in the past. One who had promised to shy away from any romantic notions, afraid to get hurt again. With Madeleine needing some foundation to take root, Adam was just the right person to provide that for her while Adam needed someone who believed in a happily ever after and one who was able to bring some lightness to his world.

The character interaction and the pacing were on point from start to finish. My eyes stayed glued to every page, never once missing a beat. The supporting cast was just as entertaining as the lead protagonists. I was literally clutching on to my stomach while I erupted in rowdy laughter.  There is no better feeling than getting to swoon and laugh all at the same time. Oh em gee, the shenanigans that Madeleine and Adam would find themselves in! One of the BEST!

I can’t possibly end this review without mentioning Mouse, Madeleine’s puppy. That adorable monster who was the catalyst to this whole story line. I promise, you won’t finish this book without falling in love with him just as equally as his humans.

If you are in the market for an easy breezy read with tons of laugh out loud humor and a full cast that is wonderfully hilarious then look no more! The Foxe and the Hound is THE PERFECT poolside/inside/wherever-side summer read.

We Like It Big Tunes:

The Lumineers- Ho Hey

About the Author:

712f5jdRveL._UX250_

R.S. Grey is the USA Today bestselling author of thirteen novels, including four #1 bestselling romantic comedies. She loves yoga, chocolate, reality TV, and cold weather. She lives in Texas with her husband and two dogs. Visit her at RSGrey.com or on Instagram: @authorrsgrey.

For upcoming teasers, samples, and all things new-release-related, join her Facebook reading group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/1378399812435745/

Leave a Reply

