BOOK REVIEW: The Story of Us by Tara Sivec

31454532.jpg1,843 days. That’s how long I survived in that hellhole. They tried to break me, but I resisted. And I owe it all to the memory of warm summer nights, the scent of peaches, and the one woman who loved me more than I ever deserved to be loved. Now, I’ll do anything to get back to her.

Only Shelby Eubanks isn’t the girl I left behind all those years ago. She’s someone else, a stranger. My Shelby-my little green-eyed firecracker-would never give up her dreams, would never disappear into her mother’s ambitions. But I won’t give up on her. On us. I may be broken, and scarred, and not the man I used to be, but I will do whatever it takes to remind her of the story of us.

Melanie’s 4.5-Star Review:

image1 (1).JPG

The Story of Us is an emotionally gripping second chance story not only of love but of life. This is my first Tara Sivec book and definitely won’t be the last. When I decided to give this book a go, I went in simply out of a praiseworthy recommendation from a favorite author of mine and I am so glad that I did. From the very second that I began reading Eli and Shelby’s story, I knew that it would be the sort that would bring me to tears and I found that I was not wrong. A journey of re-discovery and redemption for two unforgettable characters, this novel is going to own you the whole way through.

While there were times that I felt the story line echoed the same chorus, I do feel that the author may have wanted to reiterate certain points and the importance of them. It could have been that I was just too impatient to find out how the story would unfold, but it made me ache for more of a dialogue between the characters. With that, I have to say I loved that Ms. Sivec gave us a glimpse into the past through Eli’s letters to Shelby. I felt every single one of them and made me desperate for their reunion. First loves and second chance romances are my kryptonite and The Story of Us hit all the high notes. The connection that Eli and Shelby had was one to be envied and with the countless number of challenges that they both had to endure just to hold on to their relationship alone made it impossible to deny how much they loved each other. I mean, giving up their own happiness for the sake of protecting the other? If that’s not selfless love, I don’t know what is.

I was anchored to these characters. I felt their pain and their heartache and gloried in their happiest times. I thought that Eli was as genuine and as sweet as book boyfriends come. Having gone through what he had and losing so many years of his life as well as losing so many important people in his life… I don’t know how he managed to be a rock for Shelby during her times of weakness. But the best part of this story is that Shelby herself becomes nothing short of a savior for Eli as well. I loved that as broken as they were as individuals, they remained strong for one another. The Story of Us is a stark reminder of what an unselfish love looks like.

Though time and time again I found myself wiping away tears of sympathy, the ultimate prize for Eli and Shelby came as proof that if you hold on tight to those that mean the most to you, all the pain and hardships become nothing more than a reminder of life’s greatest gifts. The gift of unconditional love and happy endings.  The Story of Us touched me in ways I cannot explain into words but if my emotions could somehow be transferred on to this review, it would say it all. I would recommend this book to just about everyone who believes in the promise and the power of love.

We Like It Big Tunes:

Think About You- Leon

Hey you, are you asleep?
I wonder if you’re out, if you are drinking
It’s late, I know
But baby I ain’t wasted
Can’t you call me

[Pre-Chorus]
Can’t get along, can’t be alone
Where’s your mind at?
Are you on your own?
You’re falling out, I’m falling back
Where’s your heart at?
Don’t you feel alone?

[Chorus]
Tell me would you give us one more try?
‘Cause I, I think about (ooh), I think about you
Heavy-hearted, trouble on my mind
‘Cause I, I think about (ooh), I think about you

[Verse 2]
Your words, they burn
I read it twice, the way you write is different
You’re cold, and it’s cruel
Acting like I am someone that you never knew

[Pre-Chorus]
Can’t get along, can’t be alone
Where’s your mind at?
Are you on your own?
You’re falling out, I’m falling back
Where’s your heart at?
Don’t you feel alone?

[Chorus]
Tell me would you give us one more try?
‘Cause I, I think about (ooh), I think about you
Heavy-hearted trouble on my mind
‘Cause I, I think about (ooh), I think about you

[Bridge]
I’ve tried, but a heart don’t lie
Don’t you remember?
‘Cause I remember
(The days when you were mine)
I’ve tried, but a heart don’t lie
Don’t you remember?
‘Cause I remember

[Chorus]
Tell me would you give us one more try?
‘Cause I, I think about (ooh), I think about you
Heavy-hearted, trouble on my mind
‘Cause I, I think about (ooh), I think about you
Tell me would you give us one more try?
‘Cause I, I think about (ooh), I think about you
Heavy-hearted, trouble on my mind
‘Cause I, I think about (ooh), I think about you
‘Cause I, I think about (ooh), I think about you

About the Author:

71pyKAWAvxL._UX250_Tara Sivec is a USA Today best-selling author, wife, mother, chauffeur, maid, short-order cook, baby-sitter, and sarcasm expert. She lives in Ohio with her husband and two children and looks forward to the day when all three of them become adults and move out.

After working in the brokerage business for fourteen years, Tara decided to pick up a pen and write instead of shoving it in her eye out of boredom. She writes in a wide range of genres including Romantic Comedy, Romantic Comedy/Mystery, Romantic Suspense, New Adult Drama, Contemporary Romance and Psychological Thriller. Her novel Seduction and Snacks won first place in the Indie Romance Convention Reader’s Choice Awards 2013 for Best Indie First Book and she was voted Best Indie Author in the Indie Romance Convention Reader’s Choice Awards 2014.

In her spare time, Tara loves to dream about all of the baking she’ll do and naps she’ll take when she ever gets spare time.

Leave a Reply

