BOOK REVIEW: Stand by A.L. Jackson

ALJackson-StandBookCover525x8_BW_MEDIUMZachary Kennedy has never been known as a fighter, but he’ll never regret fighting for her…

I’m Zee Kennedy.
Quiet. Reserved. Predictable.
When my brother died, everyone thought I was just the good guy who stepped up to take his place in the band.

No one knew what I was hiding. The one thing I’ve been fighting for.

For seven years, I’ve never lost focus.

Not until one chance encounter with Alexis Kensington.

Now she’s become my greatest temptation.
I knew better than to touch her, but now that I’ve had a taste, I can’t get enough.
Her kiss becomes my air. Her body my salvation.

She needed a savior and somehow she became mine.

Taking her was a betrayal. But keeping her means risking everything.
One look at Alexis Kensington, and I know she’s worth the fight.
Will my past continue to keep me down or will I finally find the strength to pull myself up and Stand…

Melanie’s 5-Star Review:

18446735_834697163353768_7050315529418488371_nThe end to every beloved series is always bittersweet, there’s no question about that. However, what rabid fans could only hope for is that the finale is the sort that the characters deserve. So for fans of the Bleeding Stars series, I am here to tell you that Ms. Jackson not only delivered but delivered it fiercely. In Stand we get to see a new side to A.L. Jackson’s writing. She hooks you with intrigue and keeps you wanting for more. I didn’t expect such a suspenseful story line but from the get go, Zee’s story was bound by so much secrecy and mystery. My heart was pulsing erratically, my palms sweating, and my mind going a hundred miles an hour trying to figure out Zee’s truth. It was a losing battle, impatiently begging for the pages to go by faster to reveal all the secrets wide open and at the same time hopelessly wanting the pages to slow so that I could relish the book just that much longer to avoid accepting the inevitable fact that Stand is the last of this heart tugging series.

Zee and Alexis had a powerful start to their story—quite reminiscent to that of Ash and Willow’s actually. There was this tangible connection that tethered them from the very first moment they’re introduced. A strange familiarity that caused both their walls to crumble – easily, effortlessly, extraordinarily.  I loved, loved Alexis. I loved how genuinely open she was about her feelings for Zee; always choosing to live and squashing down all her fears. She was all in, leaving behind any uncertainty and for me this was a breath of fresh air, something I always seem to crave from heroines.

With Zee’s world being surrounded by so much ambiguity, Alexis was exactly the kind of woman that he needed to fight for him. She was there to remind him of life’s meaning and to lead him to re-discover who he is. After losing Mark, Zee also lost himself. He harbored so much guilt and he felt the only way for him to atone for his sins was to protect his brother’s living legacy—Sunder. Stepping up to take over his brother’s place in the band as their drummer, he forgets to find happiness for himself, believing that he didn’t deserve a happy ending if Mark couldn’t have his. My heart broke for Zee so many times during this book. Having such a strong bond with my own siblings, I couldn’t help but empathize. I deeply felt his loss and the pain that came with it. So when the sun began to shine during his days and the stars began to glitter with promises of wishes coming true, my heart bloomed right alongside the love that blossomed between Alexis and Zee.

The last few lines of this book just about undid me. My throat bobbed heavily, tears prickled at the corners of my eyes, and goosebumps erupted across my skin.  Everything about this book just felt final because A.L. Jackson did an outstanding job with driving the entire story line in full circle. There was no stone in the sea left unturned. She made you truly feel like you were drowning to breathe both from Zee’s story alone and from sheer realization that, “OMG this is really it!” I have come to love all of the characters and their emotionally gripping journey. Every single one of them. Their stories that cause your heart to go haywire you’d swear it’s where lightning strikes. I cannot wait for you all to read this book, I guarantee you will not be disappointed one bit. These beloved characters will stay with me forever and if someone is smart enough to adapt these books into film you can bet I’d be the first one to stand in line for it. So yes, I am in utter denial as I finish up this review. I can’t imagine not ever getting a taste of the whole Sunder family again so I’m grateful for a thing called—re-reads.

Buy Links:

Amazon: http://smarturl.it/StandAmzn

iBooks: http://smarturl.it/StandiBooks

Kobo: http://smarturl.it/StandKobo

Nook: http://smarturl.it/StandNook

Google Play: http://smarturl.it/StandGooglePlay

Signed Paperbacks: http://www.aljacksonauthor.com/stand

GIVEAWAY

Grand Prize: $50.00 Amazon Gift Card + First 5 Bleeding Stars Novels SignedGiveaway

Enter here: ​http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/share-code/ZTQyZDZiNDFkNzRhMjJmZWYzMGFkNDU0Yzg0N2UwOjg2/?

About the Author:

AL JacksonA.L. Jackson is the New York Times & USA Today Bestselling author of contemporary romance. She writes emotional, sexy, heart-filled stories about boys who usually like to be a little bit bad.

Her bestselling series include THE REGRET SERIES, CLOSER TO YOU, as well as the newest BLEEDING STARS novels. Watch for the next installment STAND, coming Spring 2017.

If she’s not writing, you can find her hanging out by the pool with her family, sipping cocktails with her friends, or of course with her nose buried in a book.

 

Be sure not to miss new releases and sales from A.L. Jackson – Sign up to receive her newsletter http://smarturl.it/NewsFromALJackson or text “aljackson” to 24587 to receive short but sweet updates on all the important news.

Connect with A.L.

Newsletter: http://smarturl.it/NewsFromALJackson

Facebook: http://smarturl.it/ALJacksonPage
Reader Group: http://smarturl.it/AmysAngelsRock
Amazon: http://smarturl.it/ALJacksonAmzn
Bookbub: http://smarturl.it/ALJacksonBookbub
Twitter: @aljacksonauthor
Instagram: @aljacksonauthor
Snapchat: @aljacksonauthor

 

Leave a Reply

