BOOK REVIEW: Before I Ever Met You by Karina Halle

unnamedBlurb:

I first met William McAlister when I was just a teenager.

He was handsome, had a beautiful wife and was on the verge of success, having just joined my father as his business partner. Mr. McAlister was full of smooth charm, but back then he was barely a blip on my radar. Just a family friend.

Fast forward ten years: I’m 25 years old and a single mom trying to make things right for her seven-year old son. I’ve made some mistakes, grappled with my demons and now I’m back in the city of Vancouver, getting a second chance at a better life.

I’ve started by working for my father’s production company as an executive assistant. My first day on the job and I already know I could have a promising career there.
That is until I see Will McAlister for the first time in a decade.

Now recently divorced and as sophisticated as always, Will has gone from being my father’s friend and business partner to something so much more.

We’re both older, for one thing, and he just oozes this worldly confidence and stark sexuality. Combined with his tall, muscular build and sharp suits, strong jaw and bedroom eyes, Will has turned into one hell of a distraction.

A distraction I’m having a hard time staying away from, considering his office is right across from my desk and I work with him in such close proximity.

But it’s just a harmless crush, right?

It’s just an innocent fantasy of screwing him on his desk, right?

It can’t ever be more because he’s my father’s best friend, business partner, and my boss.

Right?

Wrong.

Melanie’s 4.5 Star Review:

I knew I needed this book before I even had it because the blurb alone just about set my heart on fire. Karina Halle’s Before I Even Met You was everything I could have ever hoped for. This was packed full of romance turning readers like myself into mush. It won major swoon worthy points with just Will McAlister alone. The guy had me looking like that heart eyed emoji. So many moments had me sighing and gushing. This was THE perfect weekend read and honestly would make for the perfect work week pick me up as well. It is guaranteed that this will brighten your day.

Karina Halle’s writing is indisputably one of the best out there. What I love most about her work is that someone, somewhere has somehow lived what she’s written. Her writing is honest and easy to relate to but yet they all have enough fictional power to make you believe in magic. Before I Even Met You was another to add to that list. The heroine, Jackie Phillips has had a rough go due to a decision she decided to make 7 years ago. Though she painfully pays for it in many ways, that decision also gave her the most precious gift of all—Tyson her 7yr. old son who has got to be one of the most adorable, lovable fictional kids I’ve been introduced to. I mean this kid deserves his own book one day.

Finding herself suddenly catapulted back into her childhood home after being estranged from her parents, she struggles with regret and frustration over her past. She is determined to find her way and to land on her own two feet, she takes a job at her father’s film company, Mad Men as an Executive assistant to Will McAlister. Will flippin’ McAllister who is 16 years her senior who also happens to be her father’s much younger friend and business partner. A recently divorced Will who himself had been burned in one of the worst ways imaginable. He too finds himself back in a city he thought he’d left behind. With both Jackie and Will finding themselves in situations they’d never anticipated, they quickly collide into one another’s lives and find reprieve when in each other’s company. What unfolds between them is one that could only be written in books but one that we should all be so lucky to experience.

I admired Will’s tenacity and Jackie’s fortitude. I was on board with Will’s natural ability to bring Ty into the fold, never once being asked to. He is one of the good guys and one that Jackie so deserved to have in her life after everything that she had to give up. There were so many heartwarming moments that Jackie and Will shared, moments that begin to creep into your heart as well. I also loved that Ms. Halle threw in some light hearted scenes which made me laugh out loud—it was yar. And let me just say that the epilogue was EVERYTHING! Every friggin’ thing you could wish for – I was beside myself with glee!

While the blurb may lead you to believe that this is just another taboo romance—a much older man who happens to be her father’s friend, Before I Ever Met You is far from it. This was so much more. It’s full of heart and inspiration. This is through and through a love story. A story of a second chance at love with the right person. A story of finding redemption and salvation through sincere and worthy love. I recommend this book to my fellow hopeless romantics. If you’re looking to get lost in the clouds, this is it. Not to mention, you will WANT to meet Will “Hung” McAlister and experience just what he has to offer.

Music To My Ears:

In the morning when I wake
And the sun is coming through,
Oh, you fill my lungs with sweetness,
And you fill my head with you.
Shall I write it in a letter?
Shall I try to get it down?
Oh, you fill my head with pieces
Of a song I can’t get out.
Can I be close to you?
Oh-oh-oh-ooh, ooh
Can I be close to you?
Ooh, ooh.
Can I take it to a morning
Where the fields are painted gold
And the trees are filled with memories
Of the feelings never told?
When the evening pulls the sun down,
And the day is almost through,
Oh, the whole world it is sleeping,
But my world is you.
Can I be close to you (Ah)?
Ooh (aah), ooh (aah).
Can I be close to you (Ah)?
Ooh (aah), ooh (aah).
Can I be close to you (Ah)?
Ooh (aah), ooh (aah).
Can I be close to you (Ah)?
Ooh (aah), ooh (aah).
Can I be close to you?
Ooh, ooh.

Buy Links:

Amazon Kindle | B&N Nook | iBooks

Leave a Reply

