Rough Edges (It Was Always You) by Cardeno C. Review

34207821

Rough Edges

Kyle has an unwelcome crush on his nemesis Brent. Brent has a welcome crush on his friend Kyle. As it turns out, the line between a friend and an enemy doesn’t have to be a line at all.

Born on the wrong side of the tracks to the wrong family, Kyle Potter has spent his life clawing his way toward a better future. When he gets the perfect job at the perfect firm in perfect Los Angeles, Kyle is sure there are only blue skies ahead. And then he meets perfect Brent Haralson.
Born with a silver spoon to a well-established family, Brent Haralson has never been interested in leveraging his connections. Friends, success, and dates come easily to Brent and rejection isn’t something he has to deal with in life. And then he meets perfect Kyle Potter.

Kyle despises his unwelcome crush on his lazy, arrogant nemesis. Brent welcomes his feelings for his stubborn, brilliant friend. As it turns out, the line between a friend and an enemy doesn’t have to be a line at all.

Word count: 17,127
This is a 2nd edition without substantive changes from the 1st edition, which was part of the It Was Always You anthology.

fullsizerender-12

Ok… I’m just going to jump right into my review. I had mixed feeling about this book. Rough Edges was an appropriate name for this book. Right off the bat I could feel Kyle’s animosity and resentment towards Brent. There was no small baby steps or no work up to it. Just full on disgust towards him!

My issue is that the man does nothing with his life. He’s worthless.

It was a pretty strong start to this little novella. And at times hard to read! I really wanted to see how the author would change my mind about Kyle. Because I was not feeling him in the beginning. I get he grew up poor. Unfortunately it was the hand he was dealt with when he was born. Just like Brent had no choice or say on how his life would be being born with money.

As I read on…. Kyle still didn’t sit well with me. That chip on his shoulder was pretty big! At times I felt like saying enough! He was just so over the top! I loved how Brent took everything and switched it on Kyle. Kill him with happiness I felt should have been Brent’s motto! Poor guy! He took it all.

It was kind of weird how things switched for them. Someone had to give in order to move past all of Kyle’s ugliness and stubbornness. Brent really went above and beyond! LOL
But I felt that’s when things changed for them. Kyle softened a bit. But it was still hard for me to let that all go with how he acted in the beginning of the book. But I was happy that he dropped all the animosity towards Brent. And he fully embraced him.

Two years ago in June, I went to the beach with my friends and met this infuriatingly proud, stubborn, brilliant guy and since then I’ve done everything I can to get his attention. Now that I finally have it, you better believe I’ll do whatever it takes to keep it.

I still think Kyle has a lot to make up for. But I felt good about them as a couple.
Overall this was an ok read for me.

*ARC provided by author for an honest review*

4620386

Cardeno C. – CC to friends – is a hopeless romantic who wants to add a lot of happiness and a few “awwws” into a reader’s day. Writing is a nice break from real life as a corporate type and volunteer work with gay rights organizations. Cardeno’s stories range from sweet to intense, contemporary to paranormal, long to short, but they always include strong relationships and walks into the happily-ever-after sunset.

Heartwarming Stories. Strong Relationships. Forever Love.

Website: www.cardenoc.com

Blog: (Shared Blog) http://caferisque.blogspot.com/

Twitter: @CardenoC

FB Profile: http://www.facebook.com/CardenoC

FB Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/Carde…

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCX6M…

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/cardenoC/

Leave a Reply

