At Attention (Out of Uniform #2) by Annabeth Albert Review

33280694

At Attention (Out of Uniform #2)

Lieutenant Apollo Floros can ace tactical training missions, but being a single dad to his twin daughters is more than he can handle. He needs live-in help, and he’s lucky a friend’s younger brother needs a place to stay. He’s surprised to see Dylan all grown up with a college degree…and a college athlete’s body. Apollo’s widowed heart may still be broken, but Dylan has his blood heating up.

It’s been eight years since the teenage Dylan followed Apollo around like a lovesick puppy, and it’s time he showed Lieutenant Hard-to-Please that he’s all man now—an adult who’s fully capable of choosing responsibility over lust. He can handle Apollo’s muscular sex appeal, but Apollo the caring father? Dylan can’t afford to fall for that guy. He’s determined to hold out for someone who’s able to love him back, not someone who only sees him as a kid brother.

Apollo is shocked by the intensity of his attraction to Dylan. Maybe some no-strings summer fun will bring this former SEAL back to life. But the combination of scorching desire and warm affection is more than he’d expected, and the emotion between them scares him senseless. No fling lasts forever, and Apollo will need to decide what’s more important—his past or his future—if he wants to keep Dylan in his life.

fullsizerender-13
Wow… I have so many emotions running through me while reading this book. I absolutely loved it! I love when a book just surprises you like that!
Apollo and Dylan’s path together was not an easy one. Apollo had a lot to overcome before he could fully give himself to Dylan. And Dylan I felt was perfect for Apollo. He knew just how to handle him and get him somewhat out of his comfort zone.

I couldn’t help but laugh at the way Apollo parents. Meaning their are a couple of types of parents out there. The let’s go with the flow kind of parents, the strict kind of parents, or the super anal kind.
I would have to put Apollo in the super anal category with some strictness sprinkled in there. LOL

Omg… I get it. I’ve been there with my first child. (I have 3) You are super paranoid about everything! I was super anal with my oldest daughter when she was a baby! But by the time the third one came along. As long as there wasn’t any blood coming out of where they got hurt. It was all good! LOL
That folder Apollo had was pretty crazy! And that text he sent Dylan killed me even more!
Honestly I loved it. His fridge and cupboards! I wish I was that organized!

I had mixed feeling about Apollo. I sympathized with him and felt bad for him because of Neal. But at the same time I wanted to tell him to get his head on straight with Dylan!
I can’t imagine being in his place. It’s like he was permanently stuck in limbo. He was straddling the line between moving on and holding back.
And poor Dylan was caught in the middle of all that.

Dylan’s crush and infatuation with Apollo I felt carried him through all the rough patches he went through with Apollo. He really put up with a lot with him. I was sad and proud of him for really putting himself first when the time came that he knew he needed more from Apollo.

“I mean, I want you to choose me for me. Not because I’m good with the girls. Not because I fit in your spare room or your spare time. Not because there’s a hole in your life and I help you forget that for a few hours, but for me. I want you to see me and choose me, and I’m going to hold out for that.”

Apollo’s conversation with Neal broke my heart. But needed to be done. The pressure Apollo must have felt for those years. The pent up Anxiety of facing his reality. Was hard for him to face and let go. He was scared and didn’t know how to deal with it. He was scared of moving on.

The ending of this book was so perfect. Apollo really showed Dylan the grand gesture that he knew Dylan needed in order for them to make it as a couple.

I’m really feeling this series! I can’t wait for the next book in this series!

*ARC provided by Carina Press via Netgalley*

6477494
About this author


Frequent tweeter, professional grammar nerd, and obsessive reader, Annabeth Albert is also a Pacific Northwest romance writer in a variety of subgenres.

Emotionally complex, sexy, and funny stories are her favorites both to read and to write. In between searching out dark heroes to redeem, she works a rewarding day job and wrangles two toddlers.

website

twitter username

Goodreads
Facebook
Leave a Reply

