RELEASE BLITZ & BOOK REVIEW: A Thousand Letters by Staci Hart

 

 

 

Title: A Thousand Letters
Author: Staci Hart
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Release Date: February 9, 2017
Blurb

Sometimes your life is split by a single decision.

 

I’ve spent every day of the last seven years regretting mine: he left, and I didn’t follow. A thousand letters went unanswered, my words like petals in the wind, spinning away into nothing, taking me with them.

But now he’s back.

I barely recognize the man he’s become, but I can still see a glimmer of the boy who asked me to be his forever, the boy I walked away from when I was young and afraid.

Maybe if he’d come home under better circumstances, he could speak to me without anger in his voice. Maybe if I’d said yes all those years ago, he’d look at me without the weight of rejection in his eyes. Maybe if things were different, we would have had a chance.

One regretted decision sent him away. One painful journey bought him back to me. I only wish I could keep him.

*A contemporary romance inspired by Jane Austen’s Persuasion*

 

Melanie’s 4.5 Star Review:

Staci Hart’s A Thousand Letters was an unexpected heart bender. I am a big fan of this author’s work, having read every single one of the books in her Contemporary series. When the blurb was revealed for A Thousand Letters, my goodness did my heart flutter. Seeing that it was inspired by Jane Austen’s Persuasion and a second chance romance I was definitely waving my arms around in lively anticipation. I mean, I knew this was going to be good but what I did not expect was how heavy this book would be. Staci Hart put me through one hell of an emotional wringer. The very first night that I started this book, not only was I left reading it through a haze of tears but those tears continued to roll off my eyes as I was falling asleep.

The thing with A Thousand Letters is that the love story goes beyond an amorous one, far beyond the romance found and lost between Elliot and Wade. What rang most loud to me was the love and the complexities within a family unit. It’s what beat me to the ground empathizing with their loss. And oh, what a massive loss it was!!! Thinking about it now still gets me all teary-eyed. Bah! I very much loved the powerful message of what happens to those who are full of regret. Be that through Wade’s or Elliot’s regrets—it leapt off the pages and made me think twice about my own life. Isn’t that the beauty about the written word? The power that words hold to both cut and heal you? I felt that during so many moments in this book.

Elliot has a gentle and quiet soul who enjoys helping others even when the weight of being entirely too selfless is beginning to diminish that very unique magic she possess. It was sacrificing her own happiness for her unworthy family that leads to the biggest regret of her life—losing her one and only love, Wade Waters. When dire circumstances forces Wade and Elliot back together, they finally find the chance to make things right. But the road to righting the wrongs had so many twists and turns for these two. The angst was in full effect. I felt both pity and anger all at once towards them that it about drove me right into the crazy train. Though we get so much of the push and pull, I truly craved a chance to enjoy Elliot and Wade at peace. Their regret and their fear far outweighed their surrender during the majority of this book. I guess you could say that I wished for more of those lighter, happier times.

There is absolutely no question of Staci Hart’s brilliant execution. Her writing superb alongside the poetry which elevated the richness of this entire book. If you’re looking for something meaningful and evocative with a slew of classical literary references—ones that would give any English Literature fiends a total buzz, then seriously… Look no more! Staci Hart’s A Thousand Letters was a thousand and one more than what I had expected. I totally recommend this one as your next read.

fullsizerender-11

 

I honestly don’t know where to start with this review. This book was so different from some of the other books I’m use to reading.

This is the first book I’ve read by this author. I really didn’t know what to expect. As I started reading this book I knew I was in for a treat. I absolutely loved the way this book was written. It totally sucked me in right from the very first page.

Elliot and Wades story I felt was timeless. They had such history together. I felt everything they were going through. The author did a fantastic job of conveying the heaviness between Elliot and Wade throughout this book.

I was crying for a good chunk of it!

Wade didn’t know how to be or feel other than angry with Elliot. He also didn’t know how to deal with life events. He was a classic runner. Once things got to be too much… he started to feel all the anxiety of the situation. It was very hard for him to deal with it. Causing more heartache and pain to the people he loved.

The roller coaster ride between Wade and Elliot at times was frustrating. Wade I felt made a mess of things. And it took him forever to see it.

Elliot was hard for me. The way she submitted to her family was really hard to read. There was so many times I wanted to scream at her to step up and use her voice with certain situations with her family.
Elliot and Mary relationship drove me pretty crazy! I wanted to shake Elliot and tell her to stand up to her sister.
Elliot was a people pleaser. She always wanted to make everything easy for everyone. Even if she wasn’t fully happy herself. Many times I felt like she just might disappear into herself. It was hard to read.

I wish she would have found her voice sooner rather than later. That was an issue with me. That…. and the end felt rushed to me. There was so much heaviness throughout the book. It would have been nice to feel the lightness of everything a little longer.

Overall this book was pretty fantastic. I can’t believe this is my first Staci Hart book. It definitely won’t be my last.

*ARC provided for an honest review*

Purchase Links

AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU

Free in Kindle Unlimited

 

Author Bio

 

Staci has been a lot of things up to this point in her life: a graphic designer, an entrepreneur, a seamstress, a clothing and handbag designer, a waitress. Can’t forget that. She’s also been a mom, with three little girls who are sure to grow up to break a number of hearts. She’s been a wife, even though she’s certainly not the cleanest, or the best cook. She’s also super, duper fun at a party, especially if she’s been drinking whiskey. Her favorite word starts with f and ends with k.From roots in Houston, to a seven year stint in Southern California, Staci and her family ended up settling somewhere in between and equally north, in Denver. They are new enough that snow is still magical. When she’s not writing, she’s sleeping, cleaning, or designing graphics.

Author Links
Leave a Reply

