Someone Else’s Summer by Rachel Bateman Review

30285632

Someone Else’s Summer

Stars: 4.5 stars
Anna’s always idolized her older sister, Storm. So when Storm dies in a tragic car accident on the night of her high school graduation, Anna is completely lost and her family is torn apart. That is, until she finds Storm’s summer bucket list and decides to honor her sister by having the best summer ever—which includes taking an epic road trip to the coast from her sleepy Iowa town. Setting out to do everything on Storm’s list along with her sisters best friend Cameron—the boy next door—who knew that Storm’s dream summer would eventually lead to Anna’s own self-discovery?

fullsizerender-11

4.5 Stars

Where do I start with this review….

I’m so glad that I came across this book on Netgalley. I read the synopsis and something just pulled me to it. It isn’t one of my normal reads. But it turned out to be a great surprise for me.

This book starts off incredibly sad. Anna’s sister Storm died tragically and it took everyone by surprise. She beat cancer when she was younger she has just graduated from high school. She was getting ready to head off to college. Everyone took her death pretty hard.
But Anna… she was in a state of shock. She had a hard time dealing with Storms death.

When Anna came across Storm’s notebook. She found a bucket list. Something they use to do when they were younger. Every year the list would change according to their age, likes and dislikes.
Anna knew she had to carry out Storms list. She had to give Storm her one last summer. So she sets out with the boy next door/best friend Cameron. And together they set out for an adventure.

They both discover things about each other on this trip. They push themselves to do things they never would have done before.
While giving Storm her last summer. Anna finds herself in a way.

I absolutely loved Cameron in this book! He was so understanding. He was so patient with Anna. And I felt he was a good best friend to Storm.
Anna… I felt she was so immature at times. I also felt she was a follower. She allowed her best friend Piper to call the shots. I also felt Piper was not very supportive to Anna during her sister death. she was mean and selfish to Anna. And I wished that Anna would have set her straight in this book.
Also too… Anna would treat Cameron kind of mean. I had to stop myself from getting too upset. I had to take Anna’s age into account.
But still… it was hard. 90% into the book. Anna really got to me. I could totally understand why she would be upset. I would be too. But to totally block out Cameron the way she did was so wrong on so many levels.
He lost his best friend too. And Anna has to remember they were best friends. Storm confided in him about something she felt passionate about.

I loved the ending of this book. It felt right. I honestly wanted more. I wish there was an epilogue! I would love to see how things turned out with them.
This was a first time read for me by this author. I will definitely be check out her other books!

*ARC provided via Netgalley for an honest review*

6998406

Rachel Bateman

Rachel Bateman is a writer and editor who spends too much time thinking she can out bake the Cake Boss. (Spoiler: She can’t.) She lives in the middle of Montana, but dreams of the South. Rachel is the owner of Metamorphosis Books, an author services company offering formatting and interior layout for independent authors. When not writing, editing, or reading books, she can be found playing with her husband, young son, and small zoo of pets.

Website
Twitter
Goodreads
Facebook
Leave a Reply

