Just Drive (Anchor Point #1) by L.A. Witt Review

31689633

Just Drive (Anchor Point #1)

For Sean Wright, driving a cab in the tiny Navy town of Anchor Point isn’t an exciting job . . . until he picks up just-dumped Paul Richards. A drive turns into a walk on the pier, which turns into the hottest hookup Sean’s had in ages.

After a long overdue breakup, Paul can’t believe his luck. Of all the drivers, he’s picked up by the gorgeous, gay, and very willing Sean. Younger guys aren’t usually his thing, but Paul can’t resist.

One taste and neither man can get enough . . . right up until they realize that Paul is Sean’s father’s commanding officer and the last man Sean should be involved with.

With two careers on the line, their only option is to back off. It’s not easy, though; the sex and the emotional connection are exactly what both men have been craving for a long time. But Paul has devoted twenty-four years to his career and his dream of making admiral. If he’s caught with Sean, that’s all over. He has to choose—stay the course, or trade it all for the man who drove off with his heart.

fullsizerender-11

So this is the 2nd L.A. Witt book I’ve read. I think i’m missing out by not reading her other books! Because I fully enjoyed this book! I really got into it. It flowed pretty good. I did have some questions early on about it. And continue to have them until the end of the book. But still a good read!

Ok…
I had to call my good friend that is in the Navy about this book. She is stationed here at Camp Pendleton (I live in Oceanside Ca. And my husband is a former Marine). Because I just couldn’t wrap my head around why Sean and Paul were staying away from each other.
I really didn’t understand why there was so much struggle between Sean and Paul about being together. I understand Paul was Sean’s father’s commanding officer. But Sean was not in the military and he was young… but well over the legal age limit to be with whomever he likes. There should have been no fraternization between them. Even if he was a dependent of an active duty member under his command. No Fraternization.

But…. from what my friend said it could get sticky if he’s the boss. Favoritism or special treatment could be questioned if Sean father would have picked up rank.
She also said perception is reason to screw people’s career. And that’s what it all boiled down too with between Sean and Paul. Was the Navy career. The relationship was totally doable. But was it worth to question his or theirs (meaning his dad’s) careers.

I felt kind of bad for Sean. I can’t imagine moving around all the time. I met my husband in his last year in the military. So we never moved or anything. We have been pretty lucky in that way. And before he met me. He never moved either. He was stationed at Camp Pendleton the whole time he was in. But since I live here in Oceanside. Lots of my friends have moved. And it just breaks my heart to loose a good friend.

Sean has had to live his life the military way. Even though he never signed up for it. He had a lot of issues with the Navy. He always felt second to his father. He kind of resolved himself to be second best. It was sad to read.
Paul I felt was kind of a broken man. He made a lot of sacrifices in his life for his Navy career. And Paul I felt was ready in his life for something different to change. So when Sean came in it. In a time he was already questioning things. Made for a perfect in for Sean. He didn’t need to break down so many walls from Paul.

The whole age thing. We are really kept in the dark about that for a while. There are vague numbers thrown around here and there. But we don’t really know for a good chunk of the book.
At 52% mark… all we know is Paul is 42 and Sean is in his early 20’s. But they still haven’t actually revealed their ages to each other yet.
Why… I have no clue.

But when we get closer to the end… you really start to get confused! And honestly…. I wasn’t about to sit down and write out the time line of everyone’s ages, when they started their careers and when people were born! I just felt the age/career time line should have been tighter.

Sean mentioned quite a bit about going to school and studying. But not once was it mentioned or asked by Paul what he was going to school for. And Sean never said anything too. It was kind of weird.

Overall….I can honestly say I enjoyed this book. Even with all the imperfections. The chemistry between Sean and Paul was super strong. You could totally feel it in their sex scenes. The ending was perfect. I like how everyone put Sean first for once.

I can’t wait to read the next book in this series!

*ARC provided by Riptide Publishing via Netgalley*

img_4776

L.A. Witt is an abnormal M/M romance writer who has finally been released from the purgatorial corn maze of Omaha, Nebraska, and now spends her time on the southwestern coast of Spain. In between wondering how she didn’t lose her mind in Omaha, she explores the country with her husband, several clairvoyant hamsters, and an ever-growing herd of rabid plot bunnies.

She also has substantially more time on her hands these days, as she has recruited a small army of mercenaries to search South America for her nemesis, romance author Lauren Gallagher, but don’t tell Lauren. And definitely don’t tell Lori A. Witt or Ann Gallagher. Neither of those twits can keep their mouths shut…

Visit her website at http://www.gallagherwitt.com/.

Leave a Reply

