RELEASE DAY BLITZ & BOOK REVIEW: A Place in the Sun by R.S. Grey

Title: A Place in the Sun

Author: R.S. Grey

Release Date: Oct 24, 2016

Add on Goodreads

When her mother’s incessant matchmaking hits an all-time high, Georgie Archibald does what any sensible woman would do: she flees the country.
Seeking refuge in the picturesque seaside village of Vernazza, Italy, Georgie’s only plan is to lie low, gorge herself on gelato, and let the wine and waves wash her troubles away…that is until she wakes up in a bed that belongs to the most romantic-looking man she’s ever seen.
Gianluca.
After going out of his way to rescue her, the former London financier turned mysterious recluse makes it clear that despite acting as her white knight, he has no plans to co-star in her fairytale.
But Georgie isn’t asking for his heart—she’s merely intrigued.
After all, Gianluca isn’t just gorgeous—tall and tan from days spent in the sun—his touch sets her world on fire. With him, Georgie experiences the most intoxicating passion she’s ever known, and it only takes a few steamy nights for her to realize that sometimes running away from trouble is the best way to find it.
unnamed

A Place in the Sun played out like a movie right before my very eyes. Everything about this book from its vivid imagery to the magnificent narration to its enthralling dialogue are simply begging for a movie deal. I am desperate for Georgie and Gianluca’s story to be projected across the big screen because I honestly, wholeheartedly believe that is exactly where this love story belongs. I cannot express just how much I loved this book! I’ve read quite a bit of R.S. Grey’s work—many of which I’ve wholly enjoyed but hands down, this one is my MOST FAVORITE ever. A romantic journey between two unlikely people, one on a mission to fall madly in love while the other has sworn off love completely. What unravels in the pages of this wonderful book is one that I know I’ll think about over and over again. I have this major book hangover and all I want to do is start all over again and re-read the heck out of it. I set out with hopes of liking this book but like Georgie, instead I found myself falling madly, completely, and deeply in love with it instead.

For those who’ve read R.S. Grey’s Settling The Score, book one in her Summer Games series then you’ll be familiar with Georgie Archibald. The lively, vivacious little sister of Olympic swimmer Freddie Archibald. While she played a major role during her here and there cameos, I just knew that she would be such a fun character to follow. I am thanking my lucky stars right now that Ms. Grey decided on giving her, her own book because let me tell you guys… Georgie OWNS A Place in the Sun. She shined like a diamond, she slayed like Bey, and she brought the entire village of Vernazza down! I loved, LOVED how she saw the world around her and I absolutely loved how she really lived life. She made things happen without regard of how it may not turn out her way. Fear or failure be damned. Tired of her mum’s pushiness to marry her off to the next English bloke, she sets off and traverses to Italy to find love. Leave it to luck (or magic) that she falls head over heels in love with the village recluse. Gianluca, struggling to move on with his life continues to grieve a lost love never again believing nor wanting for love to find him again. But as fate or luck (or magic) would have it, he finds himself warry but so totally interested by this vivacious, beautiful English woman who quite literally falls into his arms.

The way in which their relationship progresses was beyond perfection. Every which way that the author took her characters in was just right—the timing and the meaning behind all of their feelings for one another just made sense. Like it all just fell into place exactly as they should have. The swoon factor… OMG the many, many moments that just took my breath away and with the swoon of course came the heat. Holy mother of Italian stallions! Georgie and Luca brought the sexy in sex! Nothing about it was crass, rather it was sensually erotic. Every single intimate moment meant something and there is nothing sexier than that.

I over indulged in R.S. Grey’s storytelling and there was zero ounce of guilt to be found. This book had it all. Witty laugh out loud moments with just the right touch of drama and a whole lot of romance which all revolved around two of the best fictional couples I’ve had the pleasure of knowing. A Place in the Sun definitely has a place on my book shelf. The author’s writing is spectacular—she takes you on a journey without even needing to pack your luggage and boarding a plane. You feel and taste every single detail in its pages.

I’ll say it again, THIS BOOK DESERVES A DAMN MOVIE!!! Do you hear me out there?! C’mon HOLLYWOOD, it’s time to take these pages onto the big screen. This would be one I’d gladly fork over $20.00 to watch. R.S. Grey has hit gold and I have hit a solid wall of book hangovers. One that I know can only be ebbed by re-reading A Place in the Sun once, or twice, or THRICE over. A quick book not because of the number of pages but because it’s simply a page turner. This has my book shelf worthy stamp of approval and one that I highly recommend to just about anyone out there.

We Like It Big Tunes:

Come Away With Me – Norah Jones

I am a lover of books, chocolate, reality TV, black labs, and cold weather. Seriously, if I had it my way I would be curled up on the couch with all of those things… everyday. 

I live in Texas where I spend my free time writing and reading. My favorite authors are Mindy Kaling & Jonathan Safran Foer. I’m a comedy geek and love all things “funny”. Women like Tina Fey, Amy Poehler, and Mindy Kaling are definitely the biggest inspirations for my writing, though I think my work tends to skew a bit smuttier than theirs.

   

 

One thought on “RELEASE DAY BLITZ & BOOK REVIEW: A Place in the Sun by R.S. Grey

  1. Pingback: Melanie’s Best of 2016 Picks | welikeitbigbookblog

Leave a Reply

