Unearthed by Kora Knight Release Blitz/Review

unearthed

unearthed-cover

Love buried his heart in the cold, hard ground. Now he’s fighting to keep it there.

Title: Unearthed (Book 1)

Series: The Dungeon Black Duology

Author: Kora Knight

 

Grab Unearthed on Amazon

Add Unearthed on Goodreads

 

Blurb

Love. The most powerful force in existence, but also the most ruthless. Cunning and deceptive. Man’s greatest Achilles heel. Leaving all who embrace it weak and vulnerable.
At least that’s how Dom-for-hire Max Kelley sees it, after the love of his life knocked him on his ass. A brutal blow that not only stole his breath, but decimated his ability to trust. Turning him cold and cynical. The TKO he never saw coming.
Love. A mistake Max won’t ever make again.
Meaning no more relationships—not exactly a hardship. Just the thought of dating makes him queasy, and one of the reasons he doms for a living. To sexually engage without the poison of intimacy. The other reason? To keep his demons sated. With whips and chains, and scandalous kink. A fiery mix that always hits the spot.
That is, until a bright-eyed beauty walks into his life and refuses to leave.
Sean Matthews. College senior and flirt extraordinaire. Max’s newest—and greenest—client sub. Man, is he delicious; able to push Max’s buttons, able to make him crave the things he knows he shouldn’t. Sound the alarm, this can only mean trouble. Unfortunately, deterring Sean proves virtually impossible, and now Max finds himself at a crossroads.
Man up and kick his favorite sub to the curb… or succumb to his own caged desires.

Warning: This erotic, gay, BDSM romance contains intensely explicit sexual scenes both inside and out of the dungeon.

fullsizerender-13

I couldn’t wait for this book to come out. I literally stumbled onto the Up-Ending series. I was looking for an easy fast read. And I ended up getting sucked into Scott’s and Tad’s world. And now ultimately Max’s world too. (<b>LOVE THIS COVER!!</b>)
The Up-ending series and this author was an incredible find. And I’m so glad I stumbled onto her books!

This book was a little intense. I wasn’t expecting a lot of the things that went on in this book. Did I enjoy it…
yes and no.
Some things that went on this book… were hard for me to enjoy.

This book started off so damn cute. Than bam! Broke my heart.

Oh man… the first 12% of this book… Was everything!
I had all the feels of a first love and a broken heart. It just brought tears to my eyes what Max went through in his early years. It explains so much about why max is the way he is. Strong, quite, had a presence about him. I felt the pain and anger Max was going through. His first boyfriend/love of his life really made him to who he is today.

I would say after the first 12% of this book. It sort of just leveled out a bit. This book was definitely a slow burn. It took a good while for Max and Sean to do anything with each other. We do get a lot information about both characters. which I loved.
I just needed a little more.

The early years with Sean, Max and Scott were really an eye opener. Such painful past they all had. And each of them shaping and changing how they live their lives in the future.
It was really hard to read Scott’s early years. Such a different person than the person we knew him in the up-ending series. He’s come so far. And I absolutely loved reading his parts.

Max with his first love and Sean with his childhood secret about Rick.
Now… I’m not going to lie.
I wasn’t really feeling Sean’s secret. I just thought it was too heavy of a subject. I just wasn’t expecting this book to deal with such a heavy subject. I guess we have to guess on how we should perceive what Sean went through. It could go either way.
Sean see’s It one way and Max sees it another way.
I was seeing it Max’s way. It all just felt wrong. Especially since Sean wasn’t able to do certain things Sexual because of it.

Even though I enjoyed this book quite a bit. I was just a little disappointed.
I didn’t feel the emotional connection from Max to Sean until way later in the book.
And I mean WAY later.
And I have to say… it was really borderline. I’m still having a hard time connecting the two.
Max was so hot and cold (mostly cold). While Sean flirted with Max non stop. Max indulged him here and there.
But…I was still waiting for Max to let go and let Sean in.

Every time Max referred to Sean as his Sub. I just felt a disconnect from him. I was waiting for that intimate moment between them sexually. Because whenever Max showed Sean any kind of affection. He would get upset with himself get angry and just shut everything down. I just felt like I need more.
Max’s private thoughts showed a side to him that I wished he would have let out. But it seemed to me as we were nearing the end of the book. Max got more aggressive and a little meaner with Sean.

The whole apartment scene at Sean’s was a big WTH. And the dinner scene. Didn’t really sit well with me as well.
Yes… Sean was rewarded.
But i’m just not big on humiliation. And then we have the last scene in the book. I just don’t think that was my cup of tea. I had a hard time with that too.

I was expecting Max to be a little harder than Tad and Scott’s story.
But… I was hoping their would be just a little bit more of an emotional connection with them. Relationship wise.
I really can’t wait to see how book 2 in this series turns out.
I’m not going to lie… I’m kinda scared.
But… I will go in with an open mind.

*ARC provided for an honest review*

 

unearthed-teaser-2

14470696_344640699211913_1599632568_n

And look what’s ALREADY up for Pre-Order:

512ibmt8k9lTitle: Revived (Book 2)

Series: The Dungeon Black Duology

On Amazon

Coming 11/30/2016

And don’t miss the series that introduced Max and Sean:

kora-bannerUpending Tad Bundle (Volumes 1,2,3) on Amazon

Upending Tad Bundle (Volumes 4,5,6) on Amazon

 

The Author

Stalk Kora Here:

SOCIAL MEDIA LINKS
http://www.koraknight.com/
https://www.facebook.com/authorkoraknight/
https://twitter.com/KoraKnight_Auth
https://www.instagram.com/koraknight/
https://www.pinterest.com/valgirld/kora-knight/
https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8529860.Kora_Knight
https://www.amazon.com/Kora-Knight/e/B00OBYLP8W/
https://plus.google.com/u/0/117558623135317111788

 

Leave a Reply

