Hotline by Quinn Anderson Review

Hotline

30828044
Zack never intended to become a phone sex operator, but with half a college degree and a smart mouth, his options were limited. It helps that he has a knack for thinking on his feet and a willingness to roll with whatever his clients throw at him. Sure, he gets his fair share of creeps and unconventional requests, but it pays the bills, and he’s in no danger of breaking his one rule: never fall for a client.

Until a man named “John” starts calling, and Zack finds himself interested in more than a paycheck. It’s not just that John has money, or that his rumbling baritone drives Zack wild. He’s everything Zack isn’t: educated, poised, and in total control of his life.

A twist of fate brings them face-to-face, and now that they’ve seen each other—and spent an unforgettable night together—they can’t go back to the way things were. A sex worker and a trust fund brat . . . It’s like Romeo and Juliet, but with less stabbing and slightly fewer dick jokes. Hopefully they can pull off a more successful ending.

fullsizerender-11
4.5 stars

This book was seriously a great find and a fantastic read! I feel like I hit the jackpot with this book! I absolutely loved everything about it.
And it had a bit of a pretty women feel to it.

I love how this story takes place in LA! I grew up in Alhambra and once I read (his) work place was in Pasadena I got all happy! (My old stomping grounds!) I loved how the author describes the area. It truly felt I was back in LA!
Bravo to the author!

Holy hell… Was this book hot!
Damn! The phone sex going on in this book book.
Wow! Just wow!
I seriously needed a cigarette after “John” & “Wesley” phone sex! The role playing was just so detailed! It was really working for me!! I loved how they both got into it. Sometimes I would forget that it was a scene they were playing out with each other. I also loved how they built up a form of intimacy with each other either before or after the scene was done playing out.
I think that was the start of them forming their relationship.

I loved Zack’s set of friends. They didn’t over power the book. It was just the right mix of them in it.

Overall…
This was a great read. I loved the writing and the flow of the book. I loved how Zacks character was so laid back.
If I had to say something about this book. It would have to be the money thing. The first date I felt could have been in a more even playing field. I just felt Zack was way out of his element with John. He felt inferior to him. I mean John was well cultured. He had traveled to different places, new several different languages, came from money. That date was little too much for me. I mean.. Come… Zack couldn’t even read the menu!..
And
His parents. I was really upset at the dinner scene! I mean… I wish Zack would have been a little more vocal about his feelings to his parents. The whole parents thing seemed unfinished. I felt like we need more from them.

But other than that. I would totally recommend this book to everyone! I hope we get a second book to see how everything turned out with them!

I will definitely be reading more books by this author.

*ARC provided by Riptide Publishing via Netgalley for an honest review.*

About The Author
5832084
Quinn Anderson earned a Master’s degree from the University of Dublin in Ireland and is also a University of Florida alumna with a Bachelor’s degree in Psychology. She began writing books, poetry, and fan fiction at 14 years of age and was first published at 19. Her favourite authors include J.K. Rowling, Gail Carson Levine, Libba Bray, Tamorra Pierce, and T.A. Barron. A nerd extraordinaire, Quinn gets ideas from video games, anime, comic books, card games on motorcycles, and tabletop games. Quinn’s favourite thing to write is witty dialogue, and her favourite thing to read is a slow burn.
Leave a Reply

