A Beautiful Sin by Terri E. Laine, A.M. Hargrove Review

fullsizerender-12

A Beautiful Sin

Since I was a boy, my desire was to serve. To give my vows and life over to the Church, despite the corruption in my soul.

Because of it.

I am a sinner. The embodiment of temptation – or so I’ve been told.

Yet I’ve never laid my hands upon a woman. Never sought the pleasures of the flesh that so many have been tempted by. I never wanted to.

Until her.

Sky blue eyes and pale blonde hair swallow me up until blue is all that I can see.

She is my weakness. My downfall. My temptation.

My name is Canaan. I am an ordained Roman Catholic Priest.

Her name is Haven, and I’m still not sure if she’s my salvation or my destruction.

This is not a love story.

This is a confession.

Dear Heavenly Father: I have sinned.

And so help me, I may sin again. 

Warning – A Beautiful Sin is a forbidden romance that blurs lines between passion and religious faith. Please be warned, the subject matter may be offensive to some readers.

fullsizerender-11

Bless me, Father, for I have sinned…

This isn’t a love story. For that would go against my vows. Yet the sins we’ve committed could mean the end…or the beginning of everything.

Father, this is my confession…”

I’m 50/50 about this book. This book was not what I was expecting. I thought I was going to read something a little erotic. But no… This story was deep with a strong subject matter. That’s not a bad thing. Just took me by surprise.

Omg…
I can honestly say… I was not prepared for all that went down in the first 10% of this book. My jaw just hit the floor!
I just hated what Canaan and Haven went through as kids. People you thought you could trust or should trust. Didn’t turn out to be good people at all. Now as grown adults they both have severe anxiety issues. The way they cope with their issues was pretty bad! Especially Canaan’s way. That was hard to read. They have lots of flashbacks. They both have been running away from their demons. They just don’t know how to stop them.

Canaan from a young age knew he wanted to become a priest. When other kids just went through the motions with going to church. Canaan felt different. He felt the words and he knew this was his calling

Haven lost her mother at a young age. She had to move in with her aunt and uncle. Thats when her childhood essentially ended. She used drawing as a way to get away from it all.

After years of both of them being away from their home town. Both finally come back for different reasons. Causing them both to have flashbacks and major anxiety attacks. I felt for Canaan so bad. His body physically could not handle the flashbacks.

The way Haven and Canaan meet was a little déjà vu moment. It was in the same room that Canaan couldn’t bare to be in and it was the same room Haven hoped to get the help she needed back when she was a kid.

I really wasn’t feeling Haven in the beginning of this book. The way she treated Canaan was just to over the top. It was ridiculous. I felt she directed her anger at the wrong person. As I read on. She worked past her issues with Canaan. It just bothered me. And it kind of effected her character for me.

I knew going into this book there was going to be some religious talk. But it almost seemed like too much. I’m not catholic. So some of the words and saying and rituals the priest did before they did a service just went over my head.

I don’t know… I felt like there could have been a little more attraction between Canaan and Haven.

Overall… This was an ok read. I thought the ending was really nice. And I’m glad ended the way it did. I’m glad I took a chance on this book.

*ARC provided by Red Coat PR via Netgalley*

Authors

Terri E. Laine

14299771

Terri E. Laine, USA Today bestselling author, left a lucrative career as a CPA to pursue her love for writing. Outside of her roles as a wife and mother of three, she’s always been a dreamer and as such became an avid reader at a young age.

Many years later, she got a crazy idea to write a novel and set out to try to publish it. With over a dozen titles published under various pen names, the rest is history. Her journey has been a blessing, and a dream realized. She looks forward to many more memories to come.

You can find more about her books at www.terrielaine.com.

facebook:/TerriELaineBooks
facebook page:/TerriELaineAuthor
twitter: @TerriLaineBooks
instagram: /TerriELaineAuthor

A.M. Hargrove

5338829

One day, on her way home from work as a sales manager, USA Today bestselling author, A. M. Hargrove, realized her life was on fast forward and if she didn’t do something soon, it would be too late to write that work of fiction she had been dreaming of her whole life. So she made a quick decision to quit her job and reinvented herself as a Naughty and Nice Romance Author.

She fancies herself all of the following: Reader, Writer, Dark Chocolate Lover, Ice Cream Worshipper, Coffee Drinker (swears the coffee, chocolate, and ice cream should be added as part of the USDA food groups), Lover of Grey Goose (and an extra dirty martini), #WalterThePuppy Lover, and if you’re ever around her for more than five minutes, you’ll find out she’s a non-stop talker.

Website
Twitter
Facebook
Goodreads
Leave a Reply

