BOOK REVIEW: Where Lightning Strikes by AL Jackson

unnamed (1)

Amazon US Kindle | Amazon US Paperback

Do you know what it feels like right before lightning strikes? How you can feel the current running through your veins? The trembles of warning that ripple through the air? It was a thrill Tamar King chased all her life until it became the very thing she had to escape.

For the last four years, Tamar King has hidden herself in an isolated world she created. She was safe. No one could touch her. Until Lyrik West walked through her door.

He’s the lead guitarist for Sunder and everything she can never have. The dark and beautiful rock star becomes everything she craves.

Lyrik’s life has been devoted to his band and that success has cost him. Bitter, hard, and filled with regret, he refuses to lose himself again, but from the moment he sees her, he wants one night with Tamar King.

The gorgeous bartender is more than he bargained for. Their attraction is consuming. Their desire overpowering. With one touch, they ignite.

But is it worth the cost of getting burned?

She’s a gorgeous nightmare and he’s a wicked dream…

unnamed

Where Lightning Strikes is every book reviewer’s downfall. When words fail you because the myriad of feelings overwhelm you instead. I have no idea how to get my message across to you. I wish I could lay out my emotions on paper in its place, to somehow transfer it through some magical ink where you too can feel what it is I am feeling at the moment. Where Lightning Strikes is my TOP 2016 read, falling easily into my most favorite books to date. It’s no secret how much I adore AL Jackson. She writes books that I feel are meant just for me; hitting all the points that I look for time and time again in any book I pick up. If you’d asked me before reading Where Lightning Strikes, which of her books was my very favorite? I wouldn’t have been able to tell you because I loved them all. I’d feel as if I’d betrayed Aly and Jared. Melanie and Daniel. Sam and Christopher. Shea and Baz. But if you were to ask me that same question today, the answer out of my mouth would tumble without quarrel. Where Lightning Strikes overwhelmed me. It’s so inexplicable even to me. What was it exactly about Tamar and Lyrik’s story that just held me captive? I felt their pain and their joy but most especially, it was the hope that swirled around them that just struck me so powerfully. It was like someone punched me behind the head causing a shocking ripple of energy that just caused me to lock up. Imagine the panic I felt when the sting hit my nose and tears began to heavily well in my eyes when I was on my way to a family event. No doubt people must have thought that my husband and I got in a tiff along the way. I was affected and frankly, I’d given up any care and I allowed it to take control. Quite simply, I LOVED, LOVED this book.

From the very get go my heart beat in both fear and excitement of the possibilities that lay ahead. There was always this ball of nervous energy that kept me on my toes. A foreshadowing of the disaster and havoc that both Tamar and Lyrik would surely cause one another. But there was this crushing sense of hope that trumped it all and I just knew that the rubble they’d eventually find themselves stuck under wouldn’t be unbearable enough to hold them down. There was this unyielding beauty between Tamar and Lyrik that made me believe that even at their lowest low, during moments that just packed a punch to my gut, that their love would triumph.

AL Jackson has such a way with her characters. She creates an enigmatic set of characters in every book she’s ever written. A striking contradiction that toys with your psyche. Take for example Tamar, ultra-hard on the outside – a beautiful pinup with curves you could get lost in for days on end. Armed with a thick layer of makeup, the reddest shade of lipstick and a perilous set of high, high heels. Tamar King reinvents herself into this sexy siren to keep others at bay. After all, too much beauty can sure be blindingly intimidating. But what lays underneath it all is the real version of Tamar; a girl who’d pay the world’s wealth to forget about the horrid experiences she’d been put in. A girl who just wants to be loved, cleansed of the filth that she can’t seem to rid herself of. My God did my heart break over and over again for Tamar as each piece of her past was revealed. This literal pain would overcome me, causing ripples across my spine and I would just find myself in tears. Big, heavy tears would incessantly pour out of my eyes. I was a hot mess. It was Lyrik who would ultimately be the balm to soothe the jarring emotions, though I wanted to rip him apart after some not so nice things he’d spew at Tamar over his own fear and guilt. Lyrik was definitely much more than I had anticipated. I didn’t think anyone in Sunnder could outdo their leading man, Baz. Lyrik held immense power over Tamar as he did over me. With his own ghosts, he lived his life wrapped around an impenetrable shield and even with the unlimited number of women at his disposal, he lived an even lonelier life. It isn’t until Tamar tempts and eventually alters the course he’s chosen for himself that Lyrik garners enough courage to face his past.

The love that develops between Tamar and Lyrik was one for the stars. To heal and to revive one another, they were made solely for each other. The unwavering trust that Tamar had for Lyrik… Ugh it was spectacular. It was like finally being able to breath after being trapped for so long. These two? Oh yeah, they most definitely made my soul sing. With some of the best lines I’ve come to read in books, AL Jackson made me weep in both their boundless beauty mixed alongside that soul searing pain. The dark and the light…A perfect paradox of every possible emotion that made this story come to life. Where Lightning Strikes encompasses everything I love about getting lost in the pages of a book. It gripped me like I couldn’t have ever imagined. This book made me fall in love with this author all over again, reminding me just how much her words speak to me. A bookshelf worthy book that has made an everlasting mark, Where Lightning Strikes is indisputably AL Jackson’s best work yet.

About the Author:

AL Jackson

A.L. Jackson is the New York Times & USA Today Bestselling author of contemporary romance. She writes emotional, sexy, heart-filled stories about boys who usually like to be a little bit bad.

Her bestselling series include THE REGRET SERIES, CLOSER TO YOU, as well as the newest BLEEDING STARS novels. Watch for the next installments, WAIT and STAY, coming in 2016.

If she’s not writing, you can find her hanging out by the pool with her family, sipping cocktails with her friends, or of course with her nose buried in a book.

Be sure not to miss new releases and sales from A.L. Jackson – Sign up to receive her newsletter http://bit.ly/NewsFromALJackson or text “jackson” to 96000 to receive short but sweet updates on all the important news.

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW: Where Lightning Strikes by AL Jackson

  1. Pingback: Melanie’s Best of 2016 Picks | welikeitbigbookblog

Leave a Reply

