BOOK REVIEW: Dear Heart, I Hate You by J. Sterling

94f20c97-8c9f-4664-bd85-dd308d3b36d6

I didn’t plan on him.
Or for him.
Or anything that had to do with Cal Donovan from Boston.
Meeting him had been a complete and utter surprise, taking me one hundred percent off guard. I met new people every single day in my line of work and none of them affected me. Wasn’t that the way of things though? You could meet a thousand people and they’d all mean nothing to you. But then you’d meet that one and they suddenly meant everything.

389558ad-f06a-4544-ae6a-a51b99044336

I love it when I find myself smiling from ear to ear after I finish a book. Dear Heart, I Hate You by J. Sterling left me looking like the Cheshire Cat. This book was full of sweet and sexy mixed in with some angst. All of which kept me wholly entertained and I found myself flipping through the pages like a speed demon. In Dear Heart, I Hate You I felt like J. Sterling got her rhythm back and I fell in love with her writing all over again as I initially did when she introduced Cassie and Jack Carter to the literary world.

Jules is one heck of an independent and confident heroine. I loved her from the get go. From her sass to her drive, she was bold and empowered in so many aspects of her life. While her career was at the forefront of her life, she’d put her love life at the very back burner. Dead set on succeeding and making a name for herself in the real estate world, Jules has made it a rule to cast guys away. So when Mr. Cal Donovan, self-assured and as equally career driven, catches her eye, it completely knocks her off balance. An unexpected as it was instant, their connection was electrifying. OMG, I swooned and sighed a number of times, too many to count. I loved their flirtatious banter and the smitten looks they would give one another. It was like, I was falling in love too. There’s no better feeling than that. I was truly lost in its pages, enjoying every minute with Cal and Jules.

The author did a great job with slowly introducing the issues that you know would become their downfall. It wasn’t something surprising where you’d find yourself scratching your head wondering, “where in the world did that come from?!” It was always simmering, leaving your heart beating a little bit faster knowing and waiting for that proverbial other shoe to drop and when it does, it didn’t matter than you knew it was coming. You still felt every twist and knot in your belly, the heaviness in your throat, the tears brimming, accumulating until finally a couple of them drop and fall right on to the screen of your Kindle. I felt Jules’ heartbreak and man did I loathe Cal Donovan during those moments. I was silently yelling, “do not do it, Jules. Stand your ground. Big girlies panties on, walk away!!!” Yep, that’s how bad it got and I savored every bit of it. My inner literary masochist was most definitely jumping up and down.

So does Cal end up shaping up and begging for forgiveness??? Do Jules and Cal eventually make their way back to one another??? I guess if you want to find out, you’d have to buy this book yourself and I promise that you will enjoy it as much as I did. Take my word for it, Dear Heart, I Hate You is J. Sterling’s return to my “go to” author list. Not only did she write in an incredible BFF for Jules ( Tami my Filipina sistah), but she also gave us other secondary characters all of whom I am very much looking forward to reading about. This is a perfect summer must read!

We Like It Big Tunes:

About the Author:

5085738

I got fired from my last job. It’s true. I know you’re sitting there thinking “Jenn, how could anyone in their right mind fire someone as amazing and awesome as you???” And i’d love to give you a good reason, but the truth is- being this awesome is clearly very scary to other less awesome people.

So I said screw them and started writing my first book. And you know what I realized? Writing books that mean something to me is a million times better than working for my ass off for someone who doesn’t really care about anything other than the bottom line.

My soul feels more satisfied.
My heart, more full.

Leave a Reply

