Broken Girl by Gretchen de la O Review

28582130

Broken Girl

by Gretchen de la O

Reviewed by:

Michelle

My name is ROSE NEWTON, and I sell my body on the streets of San Francisco. I’m what you call society’s dirty little secret. On the outside, I’m in control, the woman who makes her own rules and gives nothing away for free. Inside, I’m broken and numb. Torn and shattered by my past, my life is nothing more than the lost fragments of what’s left of me.

SHANE WEST represents everything that’s foreign to me. He’s brave, kind, funny, gorgeous and persistent. When fate brings us face to face, an undeniable attraction blazes between us. He becomes the constant I’ve never had and the only man I’ll ever trust.

There is nothing simple about falling in love when you’re keeping a secret like mine.

*Reader’s discretion advised. Certain content might not be suitable for some readers.

 

FullSizeRender-2

Wow…

I had a whole wide variety of feelings while reading this book. I mean…
The beginning of this book was just so shocking and in your face! It totally made my stomach turn.
It set the tone of the book for me. I was preparing myself for more of that! I thought it was a really bold move to start the book the way Gretchen did.
And… I was really looking forward to that same intensity throughout this book.

But as I kept reading…
It started to loose a little bit of that momentum that this book had started with in the beginning. It got a little chaotic in certain places for me. Almost like too much was thrown at you.
I was constantly getting thrown off course in this story.

Does this story pick up…
Yes, it does pick up again. But I felt like I had to pick and choose what I wanted to focus on.

What I loved about this book was the intensity of Rose. She had something horrible happen to her at a very young age. Then add crappy parents to the mix. She never had a chance. She did what she had to do to survive. I felt the Gretchen did a great job portraying all the aspects of being a prostitute.
I absolutely devoured Sybil’s parts in this book. I felt the sadness of it all. And it just broke my heart.
I felt the intensity of Rose’s pain.
She felt so lost.

Shane… I loved him!
I felt the need and the want coming from Shane. I felt he truly did love Rose.
But…
I felt that there should have been more Interaction between them before they declared their love for each other.
They hung out one day a week and only for a few hours. And they went out to eat….again only spending a few hours together.
Rose always kept her guard up. So it wasn’t like they really connected on a deeper level.
They never shared personal stuff with each other.
It was more of a want and a longing coming from both of them.
It was really hard to connect with them. I felt that they needed more time with each other.
I needed them to be more intimate with each other in order for me to fully except their love for each other.

Things that didn’t work for me in this book. was the whole Mr. C and Martie parts.
It really made no sense to me.

Overall…
I thought this was an ok read. And I will continue to read this authors work.

*ARC provided by the author for an honest review*

-Michelle

5181921

Gretchen enjoys self-publishing her work and is truly learning to let go with every curve and bump in the creative process. Gretchen enjoys writing about first loves and first times, in the first person. She is a firm believer that anything is possible if you set your mind to it; and what you expect out of life, always finds a way of showing up.

Website

Twitter

GretchendelaO

Facebook
Goodreads
Leave a Reply

