BOOK REVIEW: So Much More by Kim Holden

8ead1874-b502-4bc4-a293-6a7f008544d2

Love is strange. It comes out of nowhere. There’s no logic to it. It’s not methodical. It’s not scientific. It’s pure emotion and passion. And emotion and passion can be dangerous because they fuel love…and hate.

I’m now a reluctant connoisseur of both—an expert through immersion. I know them intimately.

When I fell in love with Miranda, it was swift and blind. She was the person I’d elevated to mythical status in my head, in my dreams.

Here’s the thing about dreams, they’re smoke.

They’re spun as thoughts until they become something we think we want. Something we think we need.

That was Miranda. She was smoke.

I thought I wanted her. I thought I needed her.

Over time reality crept in and slowly dissected and disemboweled my dreams like a predator, leaving behind a rotting carcass.

Reality can be a fierce bitch.

So can Miranda.

And I can be a fool…

who believes in dreams.

And people.

And love.

Note from the author: Due to strong language and sexual content, this book is recommended for mature audiences only.

 

FullSizeRender (49)

It’s no secret — Kim Holden broke me into tiny shards after I read Brightside. Struggling to find my footing back into normalcy, the pain eventually ebbed into this numbing dullness but honestly, I never really got over the heartbreak. In Ms. Holden’s latest release, So Much More, she somehow managed to put me back together again. Trust me, I found it weirdly interesting as well– a strange turn of events and a first that would seem only Kim Holden has ever managed to do for me. Here’s the thing, the power behind Kim’s words and the message they deliver crosses boundaries, they tear down walls, and they speak straight to the heart.

In So Much More, Kim takes us into the minds and the lives of some of the most unforgettable fictional characters to grace the pages of a novel. In Seamus, I saw courage and the very meaning of what love looks and feels like. While Faith made me believe in seeing the good in everyone and reminding me to choose optimism over pessimism even in the most dire of times. And as much as I loathed Miranda, she was the perfect example that love could truly change a person. Through much of this book, Miranda’s character gave me no other choice but to hate her and I did and even though I couldn’t stand the thought of her, I still found myself incredibly curious about her. She had this presence, this pull that you couldn’t turn away from.

There are so many resounding, prolific messages in So Much More. Every aspect of each of the character’s journey meant something more than what it may have seemed at first glance. My emotions seemed to get deeper and deeper as their stories began to unravel from page to page. I was in awe of their resiliency — each finding it in very different ways. The insight into the human specimen so greatly presented by these varying characters.

Kim Holden has a phenomenal talent for weaving such honest yet confounding human traits into her contemporary love stories. So Much More is a perfect example of this. As a reader, you can’t help but drown in her words and you’d wholeheartedly agree that this book was extremely meaningful.

The characters will make you believe in redemption and the underlying message of this book will make you want to be a better person. So even though Kim Holden broke me so painfully hard in Brightside, she’s put me back together in this hope filled book. So Much More is just that… It is definitely so much more.

 

We Like It Big Tunes:

Heartbeats- Jose Gonzalez

One night to be confused
One night to speed up truth
We had a promise made
Four hands and then away

Both under influence
We had divine scent
To know what to say
Mind is a razor blade

To call for hands of above
To lean on
Wouldn’t be good enough
For me, no

One night of magic rush
The start a simple touch
One night to push and scream
And then relief

Ten days of perfect tunes
The colors red and blue
We had a promise made
We were in love

To call for hands of above
To lean on
Wouldn’t be good enough
For me, no

To call for hands of above
To lean on
Wouldn’t be good enough

And you, you knew the hands of the devil
And you, kept us awake with wolf teeth
Sharing different heartbeats
In one night

To call for hands of above
To lean on
Wouldn’t be good enough
For me, no

To call for hands of above
To lean on
Wouldn’t be good enough
For me, no

About the Author:

7445352

Some of my favorite things:

Reading (YA or New Adult), writing (especially on a productive day), the two coolest guys on the planet (my husband and son), my bicycle (hand built by my husband), Facebook (it’s an addiction at this point), iced coffee (hazelnut from McDonalds), and music (LOVE Sunset Sons, the 1975, Dredg, the xx, Balance and Composure, Teenage Bottlerocket, Manchester Orchestra, and 30 Seconds to Mars).

I also love dreaming. Big. Writing a few years ago was an elusive dream until I grabbed a hold of it with both hands and refused to let go. Keep chasing YOUR dreams …

Want more? Find her on Facebook or Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

