BLOG TOUR & BOOK REVIEW: The Sound of Serendipity by Cynthia Rodriguez

Title: The Sound of Serendipity
Author: Cynthia A. Rodriguez
Release Date: April 14, 2016
Find on Goodreads
So many things can happen to a person on a Central Park bench.
For Emerson Kingsley, falling in love happened, despite her broken monster of a heart.
Emerson knows more about listening than she does about love, whether it’s listening to artists as a music producer or listening to stories as she people watches.
Months of watching Maddox Bailey from a park bench are to blame for her infatuation. In her mind, the moment they meet will be spectacular if she ever finds the nerve to speak to him.
But when the two share an awkward cab ride, she realizes that maybe fantasies are meant to stay that way.
The only problem is, now that they’ve met, he keeps popping up in her life. Each time he does, Emerson finds the real-life Maddox to be better than anything she could’ve dreamed—sexy, passionate, and sweeter than his chocolate brown eyes.
A woman in love with possibilities meets a man determined to make them happen.
FullSizeRender
The Sound of Serendipity is my first Cynthia Rodriguez book and what I’ve come out with is the appreciation for how beautifully she writes. Emerson and Maddox’s love story had a quiet disposition about it, yet the author’s words made me see the intensity behind the calm. As beautiful as the words written across the pages were, I’m going to be very honest and say that it took me quite a while to get through this book. I didn’t feel a sense of urgency to flip through the pages like a madwoman because I HAD to find out how it all comes together. Instead, there was this sort of laziness that it seemed to draw out of me. It made me want to sit down and relax, re-open my Kindle and take my time with it. The pacing of this book and the amount of back and forth detail about every bit of emotion that Emerson was feeling were definitely the catalysts to the languidness it brought out of me. And quite frankly, I don’t know if that’s a good thing or a bad thing.

Emerson’s character was a struggle for me during so many times in this book and I know it’s because I couldn’t relate to her and for me, I need to somehow be able to relate to the heroine in some way or another. Books for me are an escape from the daily realities and to be able to step into the shoes of its heroine is one of the biggest pleasures for someone with a serious case of fiction addiction. I will say that there were those times, though scarce, that I sympathized for her. Losing her mom at a pivotal time in a girl’s life and suddenly having the weight of the world on her shoulders. I felt bad that she had to be pressured into sacrificing her own passion in order for her to feel like she wasn’t letting her father down. But the thing is… I never felt like she actually wanted to stand up for herself. She let other people’s opinions get to her to the point of toxicity. She allowed those around her to make decisions for her, never comfortable enough to stand up for herself. Ugh. I had such a tough time with this. I love a vulnerable heroine, in fact I think vulnerability makes for the best of them but ultimately, the heroine must save herself. I so wanted her to step away from the wall and break through the shadows.

Now her relationship with Maddox was a bit of a conundrum for me at the start. You see, Emerson has been watching and at the same time been falling in love with Maddox from afar for months. Sitting on a park bench she sees a slew of different women on his arm and she berated herself with self-doubt, believing that a man like him could never want a girl like her. But suddenly fate steps in and Maddox becomes an everyday fixture for her and ultimately, albeit pretty quickly Maddox falls for Emerson. I thought they were charming together, lots of little sweet moments between them that spoke volumes. She begins to open up to Maddox as she’s never done with anyone else in her life and as their relationship progresses into something more, he begins to set this fire within her that I’d been waiting to see. For the latter part of this book, Emerson grew into the heroine I wish we could have seen more of.

Though this book was a bit too drawn out for my taste, I can’t deny the silent beauty behind Cynthia Rodriguez’s words. The Sound of Serendipity most certainly meets the angst quota. So if you’re in the market for that, this one is a definite must read for you.

** ARC provided for an honest review **

“Maddox will ruin any man for you. DAYUM MADDOX. Day-um.” – H.B. Stumbo, Author
“The Sound of Serendipity was the craziest, most epic roller coaster ever, and I never wanted to get off.” – Jessi Elliott, Goodreads
“Cynthia Rodriguez has went and knocked it out of the park AGAIN! Her writing is truly remarkable. Every single thing about this story was spell binding.” – Tarah, Book Queen
“This book was pure bliss!” – Mg Herrera, Goodreads
“The Sound of Serendipity has blown me away. It’s an eloquently told, unique story that will undoubtedly leave a mark in the romance genre.” – Erin, Southern Belle Book Blog
Cynthia A. Rodriguez hates writing her own bio. In her down-time, you can find her watching movies, ranging anywhere from classic movies to action flicks (she has a weakness for Marvel adaptations), and reading steamy novels. She is stationed in North Carolina, where she lives with her husband and their Miniature Pinscher, Winnie (as in Pooh).

 

Leave a Reply

