BOOK REVIEW: Sweetest Venom by Mia Asher

IMG_7599

Love is the sweetest venom.

Lawrence
I told her I wanted her body and not her love.
I lied.

Ronan
I fell in love with a lie…
She was beauty and destruction.
Kissing her was a tender song.
Owning her body, a wild poem.
Loving her, my downfall.
But she was mine.
Or so I thought.

Blaire
One man offer me his love.
The other, the world.
‘m falling, falling, falling …
And there’s no end in sight.

FullSizeRender (1)

Well, they do say that the best things come to those who wait and I have waited for Mia Asher’s Sweetest Venom ever since I turned to the very last page of Easy Virtue. The wait… the longing anticipation of what was to become of the sexiest trio around was worth EVERYTHING! Holy mother, I don’t even know where to begin to tell you how much I LOOOOOVED Sweetest Venom. It far surpassed every single one of my expectations and more. The love triangle between Blaire, Ronan, and Lawrence penetrated me in such a wicked way. Much to my displeasure, the pages flew by in what seemed to be in a blink of an eye. Mia Asher’s story telling assailed me from the very start up to the very end.

Too many times to count, I found my eyes rolling to the back of my head. I was scorched by the sensuality that flowed through every crevice of this book. The raw, animalistic need between the characters had my blood pumping to the right places, sending a crushing wave of pleasure all over me, and trust me when I say that I rode out those waves in a state of delicious euphoria.

What I’ve come to know and love about Mia Asher is her ungodly talent for writing a damn good love triangle. One filled with flawless characters who play their parts exactly as they are meant to. Take for example, Blaire—a siren born to seduce and reduce men to ashes. I love her character and I praise Mia for giving us a female lead with a sexual thirst which could outlast and outdo even the most virile men. A woman who’d been so badly burned by her parents’ selfishness, she’s created another version of herself- one who has locked away her heart and in its place arose a temptress, a provocative huntress that can’t be contained. Alongside such a strong heroine, came two very different men who wanted the same thing—to possess both Blaire’s body and heart. I loved Ronan and Lawrence equally though I must admit that one seemed to raise the heat factor up a notch for me in this book. Like Blaire, I couldn’t decide who I wanted to get the girl and it drove me to the brink of insanity.

Always… In cases of love triangles, I always know who I want the person to end up with. Always. Except now. Oh, the angst! Ms. Asher does such a superb job with the male leads that you can’t help but want them both. The author makes you greedy and you truly begin to understand the hell that Blaire feels. A decision that is impossible to make, Mia Asher keeps you guessing until the very end. I mean it. You come to so many points in this book where you think, “Yep, it’s Lawrence for sure!” and the next minute, “I knew it, Ronan for the win!” My heart was beating a hundred miles a minute and OMG as a self proclaimed literary masochist, I loved it to my very core! And like Blaire, my heart ached for Ronan but my body betrayed me for my hunger for Lawrence. Even after I’ve finished this book, I honestly still don’t really know where I stand.

There were countless elements that just made me fall in love with this book. From Mia’s unbelievable narration, to the addictive story line, to some of the best lines to have ever been written in a book. So many that just took me off balance because the power behind those words were just so phenomenal. To say I was impressed is a complete understatement. I’m still reeling over them–

“I can feel it. My heart once weakened by my love for her has finally grown quiet.”
“This is need. This is cruelty. This is hunger. This is total obliteration.”
“You make hell feel like heaven, Blaire.”
“Her kisses were deceit that tasted like the sweetest venom, her laugh a lure to my demise, and her body the damn devil’s playground.”
“Men don’t fall in love with women like you, Blaire.” “They lose their f*cking minds.”

The Sweetest Venom was exactly what I needed when I didn’t even know I needed it. Mia Asher has just left me utterly amazed with this follow-up. This was THE follow-up of a lifetime and she should be incredibly proud of herself for breaking through the sequel curse. She annihilated every single one of my expectations and I cannot beg you enough to read this duet for the sole purpose of reading this sequel. A book shelf worthy book that is sure to stand on the very top of not only my 2016 best reads but atop my best reads of all time.

Buy Links:

US Amazon| B&N| iBooks

We Like It Big Tunes:

Wicked Games- Chris Issak

The world was on fire and no one could save me but you.
It’s strange what desire will make foolish people do.
I never dreamed that I’d meet somebody like you.
And I never dreamed that I’d lose somebody like you.

No, I don’t want to fall in love (this girl is only gonna break your heart)
No, I don’t want to fall in love (this girl is only gonna break your heart)
With you, with you (this girl is only gonna break your heart)

What a wicked game you play to make me feel this way.
What a wicked thing to do, to let me dream of you.
What a wicked thing to say, you never felt this way.
What a wicked thing to do, to make me dream of you

And I wanna fall in love (this girl is only gonna break your heart)
No, I wanna fall in love (this girl is only gonna break your heart)
With you.

The world was on fire and no one could save me but you.
It’s strange what desire will make foolish people do.
I never dreamed that I’d love somebody like you.
And I never dreamed that I’d lose somebody like you,

No, I wanna fall in love (this girl is only gonna break your heart)
No, I wanna fall in love (this girl is only gonna break your heart)
With you (this girl is only gonna break your heart)
With you (this girl is only gonna break your heart)
No, I… (this girl is only gonna break your heart)
(this girl is only gonna break your heart)

Nobody loves no one.

About the Author:

I am a writer, a hopeless romantic, a wanderer, a dreamer, a cynic, and a believer. And, oh yes…I might be a bit crazy – but who isn’t?

I believe in happy endings however I know that not everyone is lucky enough to get one, but such is life. I think fine lines exist to be pushed and possibly crossed.

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW: Sweetest Venom by Mia Asher

  1. Pingback: Melanie’s Best of 2016 Picks | welikeitbigbookblog

Leave a Reply

