BOOK REVIEW: Bounty by Kristen Ashley

IMG_7600

Justice Lonesome has enjoyed a life of bounty.

Even so, she’s inherited the curse of the Lonesome. A poet’s soul. Which means she’s still searching for something. Searching for peace. Searching for the less…that’s more.

And when the foundation of her life is pulled out from under her, grieving, she goes to the mountains to find her oasis. She hits Carnal, Colorado and decides to stay.

Deke Hightower lost everything at the age of two. He lost it again at fifteen. His life has not been about bounty. It’s been about learning to live with less, because there’s no way to get more.

Deke’s also watched all his friends go down to the women who gave them what they needed. He wants that for himself. But he knows that search isn’t going to be easy because he’s a rider. His home is the road. That’s the only place he can breathe. And the woman who takes her place at his side has to do it sitting on the back of his bike.

When Deke meets Justice, he knows she’s not that woman. She’s cute. She’s sweet. And she’s into him, but she’s got it all and Deke knows he won’t fit into that. So he holds her at arm’s length. Establishes boundaries. And Justice will take it because she wants Deke any way he’ll let her have him.

But when Justice finds herself a pawn in a dangerous game, Deke makes a decision.

When he does, he has no idea he’s just opened himself up to bounty.

FullSizeRender

Bounty by Kristen Ashley was filled with so much light and sweetness both which I thought was the perfect way of telling Justice Lonesome and Deke Hightower’s love story. I have to say that this book felt different for me when compared to the sundry of KA books I’ve read in the past. There was a gentler, more tender feel to this one and I thought, how very fitting for two people who needed it most.

I especially loved the theme that KA drilled into her readers when it came to her protagonists—he was made for her as she was made for him. This rang loud throughout this entire book, it took root, and she made you believe it. There was no denying the fact that Justice Lonesome and Deke Hightower were made specifically for one another, fitting into each other’s lives to a tee. Justice lived a gypsy lifestyle while Deke lived a nomad’s life—both thriving and loving the road and the freedom it had to offer. It isn’t until Justice finds grief that she decides to finally settle somewhere outside of the limelight she’d been accustomed to; that being born a Lonesome—granddaughter to Jerry and daughter to Johnny. It isn’t until she finds herself looking outside an unfinished house overlooking an expansive amount of land in the mountains that she begins to truly feel the need for less which would mean so much more for her. And it isn’t until she spots Deke Hightower who had sworn off “rich b*tches ” who made his and his Ma’s life a living hell in a local bar that Justice is taken back into time, reminding her of how much more of the less she desperately needed in her life.

Justice resurfaces looking much different from the girl whom Deke had his sights on seven years ago. In her place is a gypsy lookalike who reeks of money. The type of girl who he makes sure to stay away from no matter how strong the pull to her is. Resisting the unnatural connection to her, Deke walks away from the temptation and quite possibly from the promise of finally settling down roots. Fortunately, fate steps in and forces Justice and Deke together. With Deke working on Justice’s new house, he begins to see how wrong he was about his misconceptions about her and when an act of terrifying violence threatens his chance to make things right between them, Deke breaks down the barrier he’d worked so hard to build thus allowing them both begin to really get to know each other. Not Justice Lonesome, the granddaughter of Jerry Lonesome and the daughter of Johnny Lonesome but the Justice Lonesome who Deke Hightower can’t seem to shake. A woman who finds joy in bringing him sandwiches, a woman who writes lyrics in a biker bar at 1 am… Justice Lonesome, the woman made for him.

I enjoyed this book as I always do with any of KAs books. However, what I felt was missing amidst the layers and layers of sweetness was that gut wrenching, nail biting angst that KA is so phenomenal at doing. Though there were quite a good dose of emotion in the familial sense I wanted that heat of heartache to bloom, to add an unhealthy dose of turmoil for a literary masochist like me. But more importantly, what I loved about Bounty was how Kristen Ashley delivered her message of “finding the one made for you” even years after you thought you’ve lost it or even after you thought it didn’t exist for you. Justice and Deke embodied this belief. They make you hope, they make you want, and they make you a believer. I loved that they were a reflection of one another and at the same time they drove each other to experience and to feel things they both never imagined possible. Bounty is a great addition to this Colorado Mountain series. Easy and breezy, this is a perfect Sunday morning read to get you ready for a hectic week ahead.

Buy Links:

Amazon US| B&N |iBooks

We Like It Big Tunes:

Mirrors- Justin Timberlake

Aren’t you somethin’ to admire?
‘Cause your shine is somethin’ like a mirror
And I can’t help but notice
You reflect in this heart of mine
If you ever feel alone and
The glare makes me hard to find
Just know that I’m always parallel on the other side

‘Cause with your hand in my hand and a pocket full of soul
I can tell you there’s no place we couldn’t go
Just put your hand on the glass
I’ll be tryin’ to pull you through
You just gotta be strong

‘Cause I don’t wanna lose you now
I’m lookin’ right at the other half of me
The vacancy that sat in my heart
Is a space that now you hold
Show me how to fight for now
And I’ll tell you, baby, it was easy
Comin’ back here to you once I figured it out
You were right here all along

It’s like you’re my mirror
My mirror staring back at me
I couldn’t get any bigger
With anyone else beside of me
And now it’s clear as this promise
That we’re making two reflections into one
‘Cause it’s like you’re my mirror
My mirror staring back at me, staring back at me

Aren’t you somethin’, an original
‘Cause it doesn’t seem merely assembled
And I can’t help but stare, ’cause
I see truth somewhere in your eyes
I can’t ever change without you
You reflect me, I love that about you
And if I could, I would look at us all the time

‘Cause with your hand in my hand and a pocket full of soul
I can tell you there’s no place we couldn’t go
Just put your hand on the glass
I’ll be tryin’ to pull you through
You just gotta be strong

‘Cause I don’t wanna lose you now
I’m lookin’ right at the other half of me
The vacancy that sat in my heart
Is a space that now you hold
Show me how to fight for now
And I’ll tell you, baby, it was easy
Comin’ back into you once I figured it out
You were right here all along

It’s like you’re my mirror
My mirror staring back at me
I couldn’t get any bigger
With anyone else beside of me
And now it’s clear as this promise
That we’re making two reflections into one
‘Cause it’s like you’re my mirror
My mirror staring back at me, staring back at me

Yesterday is history
Tomorrow’s a mystery
I can see you lookin’ back at me
Keep your eyes on me
Baby, keep your eyes on me

‘Cause I don’t wanna lose you now
I’m lookin’ right at the other half of me
The vacancy that sat in my heart
Is a space that now you hold
Show me how to fight for now (please show me, baby)
I’ll tell you, baby, it was easy
Comin’ back into you once I figured it out
You were right here all along

It’s like you’re my mirror
My mirror staring back at me
I couldn’t get any bigger
With anyone else beside of me
And now it’s clear as this promise
That we’re making two reflections into one
‘Cause it’s like you’re my mirror
My mirror staring back at me, staring back at me

You are, you are the love of my life [x10]

Now you’re the inspiration of this precious song
And I just wanna see your face light up since you put me on
So now I say goodbye to the old me, it’s already gone
And I can’t wait wait wait wait wait to get you home
Just to let you know, you are

You are, you are the love of my life [x8]

Girl you’re my reflection, all I see is you
My reflection, in everything I do
You’re my reflection and all I see is you
My reflection, in everything I do

You are, you are the love of my life

About the Author:

71x4P3eFE7L._UX250_

Kristen Ashley was born in Gary, Indiana, USA and nearly killed her mother and herself making it into the world, seeing as she had the umbilical cord wrapped around her neck (already attempting to accessorise and she hadn’t taken her first breath!). Her mother said they took Kristen away, put her Mom back in her room, her mother looked out the window, and Gary was on fire (Dr. King had been assassinated four days before). Kristen’s Mom remembered thinking it was the end of the world. Quite the dramatic beginning.

Nothing’s changed.

Kristen grew up in Brownsburg, Indiana and has lived in Denver, Colorado and the West Country of England. Thus, she’s blessed to have friends and family around the globe. Her family was (is) loopy (to say the least) but loopy is good when you want to write. They all lived together on a very small farm in a small farm town in the heartland. She grew up with Glenn Miller, The Everly Brothers, REO Speedwagon and Whitesnake (and the wardrobes that matched).

Needless to say, growing up in a house full of music, clothes and love was a good way to grow up.

And as she keeps growing, it keeps getting better.

Leave a Reply

