BOOK REVIEW: One With You (Crossfire #5) by Sylvia Day

IMG_7483

Blurb:

Gideon Cross. Falling in love with him was the easiest thing I’ve ever done. It happened instantly. Completely. Irrevocably.

Marrying him was a dream come true. Staying married to him is the fight of my life. Love transforms. Ours is both a refuge from the storm and the most violent of tempests. Two damaged souls entwined as one.

We have bared our deepest, ugliest secrets to one another. Gideon is the mirror that reflects all my flaws … and all the beauty I couldn’t see. He has given me everything. Now, I must prove I can be the rock, the shelter for him that he is for me. Together, we could stand against those who work so viciously to come between us.

But our greatest battle may lie within the very vows that give us strength. Committing to love was only the beginning. Fighting for it will either set us free … or break us apart.

FullSizeRender (1)

The Crossfire series is a novelty and for me, it will always remain that way alongside some of my forever favorites like FSoG, Harry Potter, The Hunger Games, The Bronze Horseman, and the Outlander, just to name a few. These sorts of series that span a years’ worth of investment, I often categorize as something like being in a league of their own. They make you feel a sense of pleasant nostalgia simply from hearing the book title or series name in passing. So for me, One With You by Sylvia Day was indeed bittersweet. I longed for Eva and Gideon to find their happy ending 4 years after they were bared to us all. Fans like myself ached to see where Ms. Day would take them, hoped that their endless sea of demons would be slayed, and yearned for the raw passion that could only be defined by these two.

When I think of Gideon Cross and Eva Tramell, the one word that seems to always come to mind is, “animalistic.” That word to me, encompasses everything that they touch. Be it in a sexual context or their pasts. Everything about the series was intense and primal. It’s what I could always expect and it’s what always drove me wild. In One With You, we see touches of it but I’d have to admit, Eva and Gideon were quite tame when compared to the other previous books in the series. Please don’t get me wrong when I say this. You most definitely still feel the obsessive passion that exists between them but in this final book, I felt like Ms. Day wanted to show their growth both individually and as a couple and honestly, she did that with precision. I saw a whole new side to both Gideon and Eva. I felt them drawing strength from one another, allowing them to mature in ways that I thought I’d never see. As a reader, you begin to fully understand just how vital they are to one another. The Ying and the Yang, the light to his dark. Everything between Gideon and Eva really came into place in this final book.

For me, it was essential not to only see their relationship come to full circle, but also for Eva and for Gideon on a singular level to find peace within themselves. For them to finally put their ghosts to rest and resolve to move forward. Even though One With You held that feeling of closure for the most part, there were quite a few pieces that didn’t quite click as I’d wished. Going into about 80% of this book, I could wholeheartedly tell you that I was feeling like Sylvia Day had knocked this final book out of the park but then things started to become skewed. A plotline that I felt was nicely bound together started to become unraveled. I felt like this created too many loose ends that were never quite put back together again. Working this review without any spoilers, I will say that there’s a huge turning point, a climax if you will, in this book. When that all took place, my mouth went wide and I felt like my heart dropped to my feet. It was a direct hit to my literary masochistic heart and I thought for sure that Ms. Day was going to take us on a whole new level—emotionally. I was gearing up for it, for the myriad of emotional turmoil, for chaos to run amuck. But instead, everything fell flat. That pivotal moment suddenly felt out of place, like pages from a different book somehow got mixed into its pages. Ugh. The feeling of utter despair because, everything up to that point in the book showed signs of a seamless closing to a precious series. I honestly felt robbed by the last 20ish percent of this book. How a few chapters could make me feel so wrong about everything I’d began to feel before everything went south for me is something I can’t quite fairly express. I want a do over for these few pages, I want to somehow get that “loving feeling” back. So yes, I’m wholly conflicted about the final book in this series. Perturbed by the maniacal turn of events that have just left me feeling flat-lined.

I end this bittersweet review with this. There will never be another Gideon Cross and there will never be another Eva Tramell. These beloved characters and their story stand strong in book shelves and e-readers all over the world. So while I feel bereft about how this series closed, in the end, Sylvia Day told the story that she wanted to tell—and I get it, as many reviewers do. My opinion is subjective, it’s my own and it’s words of how I feel. For another, One With You is probably everything they’d thought it would be and goodness am I envious of them. But I have to say this with great appreciation– I thank you, Sylvia Day for allowing me the honor of falling in love with characters that have lived with you for years. I’ve loved the anticipation for every release day announcement and most of all, I’ve loved reading this tumultuous, passionate love story of two broken people who find unconditional love when they least expected it. It’s been one beautiful ride that I hate to see end. Crossfire.

We Like It Big Tunes:

Angels- xx

Light reflects from your shadow
It is more than I thought could exist
You move through the room
Like breathing was easy
If someone believed me

They would be
As in love with you as I am
They would be
As in love with you as I am
They would be
As in love with you as I am
They would be
In love, love, love

And everyday
I’m learning about you
The things that no one else sees
And the end comes too soon
Like dreaming of angels

And leaving without them
And leaving without them

Being
As in love with you as I am
Being
As in love with you as I am
Being
As in love with you as I am
Being
As in love, love, love
Love, love, love
Love, love, love

And with words unspoken
A silent devotion
I know you know what I mean
And the end is unknown
But I think I’m ready
As long as you’re with me

Being
As in love with you as I am
Being
As in love with you as I am
Being
As in love with you as I am
Being
As in love, love, love

About the Author:

19823

Sylvia Day (aka S. J. Day and Livia Dare) is the #1 New York Times and #1 international bestselling author of over 20 award-winning novels sold in more than 40 countries. She is a #1 bestselling author in 28 countries, with tens of millions of copies of her books in print. Her Crossfire series has been optioned for television by Lionsgate. Visit her atwww.sylviaday.com, Facebook.com/AuthorSylviaDay and on Twitter @SylDay.

Leave a Reply

