RELEASE BLITZ & BOOK REVIEW: The Fire Between High & Lo by Brittainy C. Cherry

 

 

 

Title: The Fire Between High & Lo
 Series: Romance Elements #2
Author: Brittainy C. Cherry
Genre: Romance
 Release Date: March 25, 2016

 

Blurb
There once was a boy, and I loved him.Logan Francis Silverstone and I were complete opposites. I danced, and he stood still. He was quiet, while I ran my mouth. He struggled to find a smile, and I refused to frown.

The night I saw the darkness that truly lived inside of him, I couldn’t look away.

We were broken together, yet somehow whole. We were wrong together, but always right. We were the stars that burned across the night sky, searching for a wish, praying for better tomorrows.

Until the day I lost him. He threw us away with one hasty decision–a decision that changed us forever.

There once was a boy, and I loved him.

And for a few breaths, a few whispers, a few moments, I think he loved me, too.

 

FullSizeRender

Whew, talk about an emotional journey. This book holds so many varying levels of “the feels,” all of which run so vast and so deep. A best friends to lovers story, Brittainy C. Cherry has orchestrated a perfect harmony of romance and heartache, of falling into the deepest low and of rising to the highest high. A story that had me silently weeping, haphazardly swatting tears off my face. Told in 2 parts, the author hooks you from the very beginning. I loved that she took her time introducing us to Alyssa and Logan—from the very first moment they met to the budding friendship that would ultimately lead them into each other’s arms intimately. It is the first part of their story that just had me shaking my head in amazement. I fell in love harder and harder as the love and the challenges grew between the protagonists.

The unbearable weight that Logan “Lo” Silverstone carries doesn’t merely end on his shoulders, it inhabits his entire being. Consumed by the belief that he’s set in a path of inherent self-destruction, he battles a multitude of addictions. My heart broke for him and many of my tears were shed for every time he gave into the darkness. I thought that Ms. Cherry did a sensational job conveying exactly what Lo was feeling before, during, and after those moments because she takes you into those dark places alongside him. I wanted to grab a hold of him and tell him that he was worth so much more than he believed he was and it killed me time and time again because he truly believed that he was a born addict, unworthy of redemption. Even having someone like Alyssa who was innately selfless, understanding, and forgiving telling him and showing him that he was priceless and that his was loved wasn’t ever enough for him to break through his self-hatred. Ugh. Again, it just broke me up. I wanted Logan to understand how right Alyssa was and to finally realize that how she saw him was who he truly was. I do wish, especially during the second part of this story, was for Alyssa to push back some, to give Logan a hard time and make him realize that his hurtful actions to push her away was not OK. I needed a little more fire out of her, rather than continuously enabling him and forgiving him straightaway.

I loved, loved the friendship between Alyssa and Lo. I loved who they became to one another when they both least expected it. Alyssa became Lo’s greatest “high” and he became hers as well. Time and time again, they would find themselves saving one another during the most crucial years in their lives. Lives that have somehow cheated them out of having loving parents and stable homes. It’s funny how similar their lives were but how completely different they’d both turned out to be because of it. Alyssa, overcoming and breaking out of her mother’s controlling hands and Logan being swallowed whole by the decisions of his drug-addict mother. This book was so much more than a love story. It touches on quite a bit of a familial element as well as Lo’s own individual journey. While I enjoyed that the author took it outside of the atypical romance, by throwing into the mix Lo’s heartwarming relationship with his brother and chaotic one with his mom, I personally thought that it also took away a little too much out of his and Alyssa’s story. They were what I loved most about this book which was why for me, the first part of this book is my utmost favorite.

The Fire Between High and Lo is without a doubt, heartbreaking but it held an unbelievable promise of redemption. In this book, Ms. Cherry shows her readers just how much of heart she put into this story and I know that my fellow Brittainy C. Cherry fans will love this book. Like me, you’ll shed tears and you too will fall in love with this best friends to lovers romance.

We Like It Big Tunes:

Count On Me by Bruno Mars

ADD TO GOODREADS

 

 

Purchase Links

 

AMAZON US / UK

 

Also Available
AMAZON US / UK
Author Bio
Brittainy Cherry has been in love with words since the day she took her first breath. She graduated from Carroll University with a Bachelors Degree in Theatre Arts and a minor in Creative Writing. She loves to take part in writing screenplays, acting, and dancing–poorly of course. Coffee, chai tea, and wine are three things that she thinks every person should partake in! Brittainy lives in Milwaukee, Wisconsin with her family. When she’s not running a million errands and crafting stories, she’s probably playing with her adorable pets.
 Author Links
Leave a Reply

