She Dims the Stars by Amber L. Johnson Review

29009205.jpg

She Dims the Stars
by Amber L. Johnson

Stars: 4

Reviewed by:
Michelle

Synopsis:
Who is Audrey Byrd?

Ask her ex-best friend, Cline Somers, and he’ll tell you that she’s the girl who inexplicably stopped talking to him when they were fifteen years old, leaving him with nothing but questions and bitterness for the better part of the next six years.

Ask his roommate, Elliot Clark, and he would say that Audrey is the enigmatic girl who randomly showed up outside a window one day and turned his whole world upside down in a matter of moments.

Ask Audrey herself and she’ll tell you that she has no idea who she is, because her entire life is a lie. However, the older she gets the more she needs answers about who she really is.

What she discovers is a tangled web of secrets better left in the dark.

Some truths do more harm than good.

***Recommended for readers 18+ due to sensitive subject matter, language and situations.

18049596._SX540_

FullSizeRender-2

Where do I start with this review.

First off…. After reading this book. I’m officially putting Amber in my automatic 1-click list! Every book I’ve read by her so far has been so good.
This book I think she did a fantastic job on!

This story touches on a topic that I hardly read in books.
But… I have read a few and I feel Amber did a great job expressing how and what Audrey was going through.
I really felt for Audrey. Her every day struggles just get by. Her internal battle she had with herself to convince herself that she wasn’t a burden to anyone.
It was truly heartbreaking to read. I just wanted to give her a big hug and tell her to just breathe.

I loved Elliot. He was very accepting and understanding and very patient with Audrey. He never judged her. And I loved the roll he played in Audrey’s life.

I really hated Cline for most of the book. I just found the way he treated Audrey for most of the book very childish. He knew something was going on with her. Instead of being patient and understanding…. He took her lack of communication so personal!
Towards the end… I didn’t hate him as much. But I still felt he could have said and did a little more to make up for his rude behavior towards her.

I don’t want to give anything away… But this part of the story had me seeing red.
I found it really hard to believe that Patrick didn’t know what was going on between Miranda and Audrey. He had to have known something was going on. And I wish we would have gotten more about Miranda after everything.
This book was such an eye opener. And I’m so glad I got to read it early!

*ARC provided for an honest review*

18049683._SX540_

AuthPhot

Amber lives in Texas with her amazingly talented husband and incredibly gifted son. Most known for her novella Puddle Jumping (a 2014 Goodreads Choice Award nominee for Best YA) she is constantly trying her hand at new genres and ideas to force herself to think outside the box.

She is inspired by music, her family, a close group of friends, and real life. Mostly in that order.

Website

Twitter

WhereIsJakeRyan

Goodreads
Facebook
Leave a Reply

