Melanie’s TOP anticipated releases

95779b0c-74c7-4754-8411-d531758cdf8c

A love a new month because it means a bunch of new book releases are in store! There are those that I stumble on either from fellow bloggers, readers, and Amazon recommendations that I luck out on. Books that I never even knew have released. Then there are those that I just can’t wait for. My leg gets all bouncy and my heart speeds up every time I see a teaser or I’m reminded of them in some way. I thought I’d share my top 8 most anticipated releases as of today with you all.

Check out my 3 Ws for each book. From one fellow book lover to another… I hope you enjoy them! 🙂

 

1-130

So Much More by Kim Holden

What’s it about:

Love is strange. It comes out of nowhere. There’s no logic to it. It’s not methodical. It’s not scientific. Its pure emotion and passion. And emotion and passion can be dangerous because they fuel love…and hate. I’m now a reluctant connoisseur of both—an expert through immersion. I know them intimately. When I fell in love with Miranda, it was swift and blind. She was the person I’d elevated to mythical status in my head, in my dreams. Here’s the thing about dreams, they’re smoke. They’re spun as thoughts until they become something we think we want. Something we think we need. That was Miranda. She was smoke. I thought I wanted her. I thought I needed her. Over time reality crept in and slowly dissected and disemboweled my dreams like a predator, leaving behind a rotting carcass. Reality can be a fierce bitch.
So can Miranda. And I can be a fool… who believes in dreams. And people. And love.

Note from the author: Due to strong language and sexual content, this book is recommended for mature audiences only. 

When (Release Date): March 29th, 2016

Why do I have “grabby” hands for this book?

Two words— The Brightside. Yep, Kim’s outstanding novel packaged in its bright orange form; though unpretentious in aesthetics, the story that it holds inside its pages is nothing less than exceptional. With a heroine unlike any I’ve ever read before, Kate was a sensation and she quickly became my FAVORITE heroine to date. With a naturally and unbelievably optimistic soul, Kate not only wins my heart but everyone else who she comes in contact with in this book. She’s easy to love and impossibly hard to forget. The Brightside ruined me, it crippled all sense of the present because I couldn’t move on from it for days and it still haunts me to this day—whether it be through a sunset (show time), black coffee (cause that’s how everyone should drink it), or even hearing those store bells hung by their doors. If Kim Holden was able to do this to me just from one book, then you can bet your last dollar that So Much More is one I will not miss.

 

IMG_7088

Dare Me by Rebecca Shea

What’s it about:

Five coworkers. Four drinks. Three glances. Two fleeting smiles. One dare. A dare that will change my life. That’s all it takes to send me plummeting into the arms of the mysterious Holt Hamilton. Behind his crystal blue eyes is a secret, one that screams danger but calls to me anyway. My name is Saige Phillips.I never walk away from a dare.

 

When (Release Date): March 28th, 2016

Why do I have “grabby” hands for this book?

Rebecca Shea has such an incredible talent, an author that should be on everyone’s “go to” list and I genuinely feel that if she isn’t on yours then you are definitely missing out. When you read her books, you can just tell how meticulous she is about each of her plot lines and the characters in them. Every single story she’s published are each so special and unique in their own way because of this. They aren’t “recycled” material—each depicting what is singularly theirs. And to me, it shows just how much of herself she pours into her work.  When I pick up a Rebecca Shea book, I know that she’ll give me something new, something fresh, something exciting and real through the eyes of her fantastic characters. And you know when you’ve discovered a special author? It’s when these characters never quite leave you. To this very day there are two characters (whom I will not name so I don’t spoil it for any of you who’ve yet to read her Unbreakable series) that run amuck in my crazy literary mind. I play this “what if” game and pretend like they somehow find their way to each other in another lifetime. Ha ha ha. Crazy right? Yes! That’s what Rebecca does to you! She drives you nuts with silly things like this because you become so completely invested in her stories, you can’t help but be swathed in her words and her fictional characters.  So I’m getting more and more and more excited about Dare Me to be released because I cannot wait for what she has in store for us. Without doubt something hot and exciting and original with a set of a characters which I’m sure will make a lasting impression for years on end.

 

IMG_7089

Where Lightning Strikes by AL Jackson

What’s it about:

Do you know what it feels like right before lightning strikes? How you can feel the current running through your veins? The trembles of warning that ripple through the air? It was a thrill Tamar King chased all her life until it became the very thing she had to escape.  For the last four years, Tamar King has hidden herself in an isolated world she created. She was safe. No one could touch her. Until Lyrik West walked through her door. He’s the lead guitarist for Sunder and everything she can never have. The dark and beautiful rock star becomes everything she craves. Lyrik’s life has been devoted to his band and that success has cost him. Bitter, hard, and filled with regret, he refuses to lose himself again, but from the moment he sees her, he wants one night with Tamar King.
The gorgeous bartender is more than he bargained for. Their attraction is consuming. Their desire overpowering. With one touch, they ignite. But is it worth the cost of getting burned?
She’s a gorgeous nightmare and he’s a wicked dream…

 When (Release Date): March 22nd, 2016

Why do I have “grabby” hands for this book?

Because it’s A.L. Jackson, b*tch. Hahaha. I had to do it. But seriously, this author is UNLIKE… like on the real… She is UNLIKE ANYONE else out there. She doesn’t exist under anyone else’s shadow and I’d read anything and everything she puts out and I have and I’ve loved each and every one of them. I fall into a trance, losing all sense of everything else that happening around me when my nose is stuck in between the pages of any of her books. She has such a signature style—organic, lyrical, and rhythmic. A dance made up of words and as a reader you truly become mesmerized. It’s also the once in a lifetime type of love that binds her characters together. Many times it’s almost ethereal, something too good, too wonderful to exist in this world. She allows you to lose yourself, to transcend into its pages and live through these characters vicariously. I’ve cried silent but such meaningful tears over so many of her stories, feeling the heartbreak and the immense love through her unforgettable fictional couples—Melanie & Daniel, Christopher & Sam, Sebastian & Shea, William & Maggie, Christian & Elizabeth, and of course my most beloved Jared & Aly. Where Lighting Strikes is the 3rd book in her addictive and sexy Bleeding Stars series. I’ve seen teasers and it’s come from the author herself that we can expect Lyrik and Tamar’s story to be her sexiest, most edgy one yet and I am BEYOND excited to get my hands on it and this is exactly why she’s one of my favorite authors to date. She continues to elevate her work, surprising us with a darker and sexier side to her writing while keeping the style she’s known and loved for strongly intact.

 

IMG_7094

The Fire Between High and Lo by Brittainy C. Cherry

What’s it about:

There once was a boy, and I loved him.
Logan Francis Silverstone was the complete opposite of me. I danced while he stood still. He was quiet, and I was always running my mouth. He struggled to find a smile while I refused to frown.
The night I saw the darkness that truly lived inside of him, I couldn’t look away.
We were broken together, yet somehow whole. We were wrong together, but always right. We were the stars that burned across the night sky, searching for a wish, praying for better tomorrows.
Until the day I lost him. I threw us away with one hasty decision—a decision that changed us forever.
There once was a boy, and I loved him.
And for a few breaths, a few whispers, a few moments, I think he loved me, too.

When (Release Date): March 25th, 2016

Why do I have “grabby” hands for this book?

Brittainy C. Cherry is a relatively new author to me, having just discovered her books a few months ago. My obsession for this author all started with an incredible story about a professor and his student. Loving Mr. Daniels totally blew me away. I love me some student/teacher books—the taboo that comes alongside it just tickles my fancy. But the thing about this book that I’d fallen in love with was that it wasn’t the atypical student/teacher romances that are out there in the market. She took their story so beyond my wildest expectations and I still remember just how badly my book hangover was. Then came the next book and then the next and my need for anything Brittainy C. Cherry just wouldn’t ebb. She made me crave her characters, made me hungry for more of her stories. Her writing, her plot lines, and her characters are so inviting, you can’t help but be pulled into it. It’s an addiction and one I can’t help but enjoy. The Air He Breathes was a 5-star read and it took my breath away during so many moments. So when the author announced that there would be a series of standalone books to follow, I couldn’t quite contain the excitement. The Fire Between High and Lo, I’ve not doubt will be another 5-star read. I look forward to some more gut punching, tear staining, emotionally packed stories that this talented author is going to be sharing with us.

IMG_7091

It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

What’s it about:

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up. She graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.
Ryle is assertive, stubborn, and maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant and has a total soft spot for Lily; and the way he looks in scrubs certainly doesn’t hurt. Lily can’t get him out of her head, but Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing. Even as Lily finds herself becoming the exception to his no dating rule, she can’t help but wonder what made him that way in the first place.
As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan, her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.
With this bold and deeply personal novel Colleen Hoover delivers a heart-wrenching story that breaks exciting new ground for her as a writer. Combining a captivating romance with a cast of all too human characters, “It Ends with Us” is an unforgettable tale of love that comes at the ultimate price.

 When (Release Date): August 2nd, 2016

Why do I have “grabby” hands for this book?

The more important question here is…. Why wouldn’t I? Colleen Hoover. That name should be enough to make you want to read it. How this author manages to effortlessly take her readers completely off guard (in the best way) is something of a mystery to me. When it comes to her books, I pretty much skip one-clicking e-book formats but instead go straight to paperback because I know, I know that it’ll be bookshelf worthy. What I love most about Colleen’s recent works are the damn plot twists. Masochistic? Sadistic? Hell yeah!!! Her lurking abilities are such a trip! I feel like I’m on some hallucinogenic goodness anytime I’m reading one of her books. The wow factor for me when it comes to Colleen is Maybe Someday. Ridge and Sydney just did it for me. It’s still on the top 3 of my very favorite books to date. I loved the simplicity, loved that she didn’t over-dramatize their story but still managed to get an one hell of a reaction from her readers. This to me, is what Colleen Hoover is all about. It’s the power behind her words that influence her readers. And there are lots of us. Lots and lots of Colleen Hoover readers who like me, are going a little nuttso over waiting for her upcoming release. She’s admitted that It Ends With Us is her favorite of all the books she’s written… Well, if that’s not enough for me to do a clankity dance and beg for release day to finally come I don’t know what else would.

IMG_7092

Swear On This Life by Renee Carlino

What’s it about:

When a bestselling debut novel from mysterious author J.Colby becomes the literary event of the year, Emiline reads it reluctantly. As an adjunct writing instructor at UC San Diego with her own stalled literary career and a bumpy long-term relationship, Emiline isn’t thrilled to celebrate the accomplishments of a young and gifted writer.

Yet from the very first page, Emiline is entranced by the story of Emerson and Jackson, two childhood best friends who fall in love and dream of a better life beyond the long dirt road that winds through their impoverished town in rural Ohio.

That’s because the novel is patterned on Emiline’s own dark and desperate childhood, which means that “J. Colby” must be Jase: the best friend and first love she hasn’t seen in over a decade. Far from being flattered that he wrote the novel from her perspective, Emiline is furious that he co-opted her painful past and took some dramatic creative liberties with the ending.

The only way she can put her mind at ease is to find and confront “J. Colby,” but is she prepared to learn the truth behind the fiction?

When (Release Date): August 9th, 2016

Why do I have “grabby” hands for this book?

Movie material. That’s how I’d describe all of Renee Carlino’s books. Her book covers are always so perfect because they resemble movie posters to a tee. The stories she tells are prolific, with resounding messages behind every one of them. I always seem to find myself saying, “wow, it’s like reading a real book” after I’ve finished and God knows why. I’m not saying all the other books I read aren’t real… It could be because Renee’s work holds such an aura of high quality behind them. They are all so well thought out with dialogues and characters that are so unlike many out there today. Take for instance Before We Were Strangers. This second chance romance sits at the very top of my most treasured and will forever be a favorite of mine. I loved the concept behind Matt and Grace’s love story. A missed connection that held so much on the line. Characters that become you for those few precious hours. You feel everything this author writes—the emotion she’s able to evoke out of you is just sensational. If the cover of Swear On This Life alone speaks for what’s to come, then I’m completely done for. Renee Carlino is a beautiful talent that I expect will do some BIG things in the future… A movie adaptation perhaps? Oh, I could only hope!

IMG_7093

Forever Pucked by Helena Hunting

What’s it about:

Being engaged to Alex Waters, team captain and the highest paid NHL player in the league, is awesome. How could it not be?

In addition to being an amazing hockey player, he’s an incurable romantic with an XL heart, and an XXL hockey stick in his pants. And he knows how to use it. Incredibly, orgasmically well. Alex is the whole package and more. Literally. Like his package is insane. Total world record holder material.

So it makes complete sense that Violet Hall can’t wait to nail him down to the matrimonial mattress and become Mrs. Violet Waters.

It’s so romantic.

Violet is totally stoked to set a date.

Eventually. At some point. Likely before the next millennium. Or when Violet stops getting hives every time someone brings up the wedding, and their mothers stop colluding on stadium sized venues. Whichever comes first.

When (Release Date): March 29th, 2016

Why do I have “grabby” hands for this book?

When you find a book that can make you both swoon and pee your pants at the same time, well people… that is GOLD! Helena Hunting’s PUCKED came out of left field for me. I loved the cover and I read some awesome reviews and thought, “hey, why the hell not?” So I did, I one-clicked and my love for beavers and super MCs only grew as each page passed. A few would say that Violet could be a bit crass and I’d agree, she totally is and that’s what I friggin’ adore about her! Her unfiltered mouth had me ROFL (rolling on the floor laughing for those of you who are like—egh?) and Alex had me rolling on the floor for other reasons. Hotness on ice. Whoo! So it would only be right to find myself f*ckin’ losing my sh*t when Helena Hunting announced the release of Forever Pucked. I mean, sure Violet looks a little bit like a vampire on the cover but lemme tell you, there’s no one else who I’d like to spend eternity with. I can’t wait to see the hilarity that is sure to ensue in this book and can’t wait to fall in love all over again with Alex and Violet.

IMG_7086

Bounty (Colorado Series # 7) by Kristen Ashley

What’s it about:

Justice Lonesome has enjoyed a life of bounty.

Even so, she’s inherited the curse of the Lonesome. A poet’s soul. Which means she’s still searching for something. Searching for peace. Searching for the less…that’s more.

And when the foundation of her life is pulled out from under her, grieving, she goes to the mountains to find her oasis. She hits Carnal, Colorado and decides to stay.

Deke Hightower lost everything at the age of two. He lost it again at fifteen. His life has not been about bounty. It’s been about learning to live with less, because there’s no way to get more.

Deke’s also watched all his friends go down to the women who gave them what they needed. He wants that for himself. But he knows that search isn’t going to be easy because he’s a rider. His home is the road. That’s the only place he can breathe. And the woman who takes her place at his side has to do it sitting on the back of his bike.

When Deke meets Justice, he knows she’s not that woman. She’s cute. She’s sweet. And she’s into him, but she’s got it all and Deke knows he won’t fit into that. So he holds her at arm’s length. Establishes boundaries. And Justice will take it because she wants Deke any way he’ll let her have him.

But when Justice finds herself a pawn in a dangerous game, Deke makes a decision.

When he does, he has no idea he’s just opened himself up to bounty.

 When (Release Date): April 18th, 2016

 Why do I have “grabby” hands for this book?

Because she is THE QUEEN, THE BAWS!!! I kiss the very ground Kristen Ashley walks on. Like seriously, I am set to meet her in CA this coming June and I may hyperventilate the entire time. I’ve warned my blog partner/BBF of the possibility. KAs books are my “go to.” When I’m feeling like I’ve reached a book slump? There’s no reason to ever fear because Kristen Ashley books are here!!! She’s got so many and ALL of them I go ga-ga over. Alpha males done right, alpha males that can only be written by Kristen Ashley. I lose myself, totally engulfed by her words like no other. Nope, none. KA fanatic. Yep, that’s what I am. Her grocery list? Her to do list? Yep, I’d read them all. The romance that this lady can think up—OMG! I’ve no sufficient words to describe my undying love for this author’s books and I feel like I don’t even need to explain myself… Because Kristen friggin’ Ashley! C’mon! I already know it. Bounty will blow me to pieces and I’ll be floating around on this big cloud called #9 and I won’t be off of it until I get my hands on another one of her books. Oh, did I mention I’ll be meeting her in person… FINALLY this coming June?? Oh frack yeah!!!

_________________________________________________________________

Phew! What a list right?! I just love, love, love our book community. I love the support and I love the excitement that bubbles out of all of us when we talk about books. It’s so wildly invigorating and I am just so happy to be a part of it– as small as our BIG blog is. 🙂

Tell us… What are YOUR most anticipated releases??? We’d love to know and hey, you may have one on your list that we don’t know about. Share your recommendations, we always welcome them. ❤

Xoxo,

Melanie (1/2 of We Like It Big Book Blog)

One thought on “Melanie’s TOP anticipated releases

  1. Pingback: Melanie’s TOP anticipated releases – cherylanne57

Leave a Reply

