BOOK REVIEW: Slip of the Tongue by Jessica Hawkins

00d62bd1-f9b9-4a74-8959-4965dc372b9d(Buy it here)

Blurb:

Sadie Hunt isn’t perfect—but her husband is. Nathan Hunt has her coffee waiting every morning. He holds her hand until the last second. He worships the Manhattan sidewalk she walks on. Until one day, he just…stops. And Sadie finds herself in the last place she ever expected to be. Lonely in her marriage.

When rugged and sexy Finn Cohen moves into the apartment across the hall, he and Sadie share an immediate spark. Finn reveals dreams for a different life. Sadie wants to save her marriage. Their secrets should keep them apart, not ignite a blistering affair. But while Sadie’s marriage runs colder by the day, she and Finn burn hotter.

Her husband doesn’t want her anymore.
The man next door would give up everything to have her.

ed883f3e-7246-4631-89b2-27238d85379c

(ARC provided for an honest review)

Angst. The hair pulling, e-reader throwing, palm slapping sort is exactly what a literary masochist like myself get off on. The high that it causes isn’t something that I can adequately explain. It’s a need that only books like A Slip of the Tongue by Jessica Hawkins can abate. The angst factor in this book was at a boiling point and let me add that the game of cat and mouse wasn’t the only thing at maximum heat. It’s obvious from the synopsis and from the author’s note that this story deals with infidelity—one that isn’t for everyone but for those of you like me who don’t tread carefully when it comes to “taboo” topics, the love triangle between Sadie, Finn, and Nathan had me heating up like an inferno. Like Sadie, my resolve to feel pity for any of the characters quickly melted once the lust took hold.

Sadie, the catalyst and protagonist of this entire tale was a bit hard for me to swallow. Though I did understand her in some sense, I honestly thought her to be selfish and spoiled. However, as much as she ticked me off, I have to admit that this added a level of frustration on my side which only fueled so much of what I was looking for. I also feel that on some level there’s a “Sadie” in all of us. I mean, how often do we take our loved ones for granted albeit unconsciously. It’s so easy to forge through every day without once acknowledging the sweet/caring gestures extended to us by our other halves. We almost become desensitized because of our own egotistic needs and wants. Sadie, who’s been married to Nathan—sweet, selfless, considerate Nathan for 9 years becomes so unaware of his feelings, it causes their relationship to halt to a standstill. Nathan suddenly becomes too aware of his own needs and wants that he begins to shut down on his wife. I felt for Nathan. I felt his sorrow and his confusion and I couldn’t help but sympathize for him time and time again. Many of the downs I felt while reading this book came from the silence and the indifference he showed towards Sadie. And isn’t it a funny thing? How the most inactive actions could hurt the most?

It’s Sadie’s loneliness that leads her to the strong arms of Finn- a new neighbor with his own secrets. The chemistry between Sadie and Finn was off the chains- it was hot! The tension that built between them quickly escalated to the restless seduction. Oh boy, did these two seduce the heck out of me. Holy hotness! I couldn’t even balk at their thoughtless and tactless actions because when they got going, I got going. I really, really enjoyed Sadie and Finn together. Not only was I completely drawn to how they were so intimately in tuned with one another but I also fell in love with the little things that went on between them. However much I enjoyed them together though, there was also this nagging feeling at the back of my mind about Finn’s infatuation with Sadie and Sadie’s hesitation with moving forward. So how exactly did this love triangle pan out?? Well, I guess you’ll just have to see for yourself. Though I felt like Sadie got the winning end of the stick in much of this book, I can’t deny that I’m still unsure about how I felt this ended because honestly, both Nathan and Finn were way too good for Sadie. I’d like to have them for myself, actually. LOL.

I read this in one shot, unable to let go even for a few minutes because I needed to know how this would all pan out. The angst was a torrential rainfall in A Slip of the Tongue and it was exactly what I needed. A heady love triangle with characters so worth knowing you can’t help but become addicted to their story.

Ps. Ms. Hawkins would it be too much to ask for an epilogue?? Because this literary masochist really, really feels needs it.

We Like It Big Tunes:

I’m Not The Only One- Sam Smith

You and me, we made a vow
For better or for worse
I can’t believe you let me down
But the proof’s in the way it hurts

For months on end I’ve had my doubts
Denying every tear
I wish this would be over now
But I know that I still need you here

[Chorus:]
You say I’m crazy
‘Cause you don’t think I know what you’ve done
But when you call me baby
I know I’m not the only one

You’ve been so unavailable
Now sadly I know why
Your heart is unobtainable
Even though Lord knows you kept mine

[Chorus:]
You say I’m crazy
‘Cause you don’t think I know what you’ve done
But when you call me baby
I know I’m not the only one

I have loved you for many years
Maybe I am just not enough
You’ve made me realize my deepest fear
By lying and tearing us up

[Chorus x2:]
You say I’m crazy
‘Cause you don’t think I know what you’ve done
But when you call me baby
I know I’m not the only one

I know I’m not the only one
I know I’m not the only one
And I know
And I know
And I know
And I know
And I know
And I know, no
I know I’m not the only one

About the Author:

71oD3XrjBQL._UX250_

Jessica Hawkins grew up between the purple mountains and under the endless sun of Palm Springs, California. She studied international business at Arizona State University and has also lived in Costa Rica and New York City. To her, the most intriguing fiction is forbidden, and that’s what you’ll find in her stories. Currently, she resides wherever her head lands, which is often the unexpected (but warm) keyboard of her trusty MacBook.

Visit her at:

Website  | Facebook | Goodreads

Leave a Reply

