BLOG TOUR & BOOK REVIEW: Liquid & Ash by EM Abel

f49b12fc-c30b-4f44-a019-32bf44e5c6f0

Title: Liquid & Ash
Author: E.M. Abel
Genre: Contemporary Romance
 Release Date: March 1, 2016
Love was my weakness.
In the light of the truth, no one can hide.Derek had ignited a spark inside of my heart, a hope for a love I never expected to find. However, our connection lacked the substance it needed to burn. Weakened with resentment, our relationship crumbled under deception, slowly dissolving into ash.I had sacrificed myself for him and paid the price.By the time Brandon entered into my life, the longing in my heart had turned cold. But fate was not done with me. His crystal blue eyes and fluid touch revived a wish that had been frozen in time. He gave me hope once again. Hope is a dangerous thing, especially when you dare to dream.

**WARNING: This book contains adult content and drug use.

967d94b2-4fe1-4619-a483-1e6ae28bff17

The synopsis for Liquid & Ash had my heart anxiously beating like Ricky Ricardo’s palms pounding on his conga drums. I couldn’t wait to finally read what this was all about and from the very beginning of this book, I was taken into such a wild tailspin that I couldn’t understand the desperation creeping inside of me. The deceit, the lies, and the heartbreak they leave in their wake left me so wretched I had to put down my Kindle to gather my wits before I could continue on.

EM Abel created a heroine so enthralling that I was caught up in everything Penelope was feeling. I can’t explain exactly why or how but from the start of her story, I became an extension of her character. I was sucked in, too paralyzed to fight the control she seemed to have over my psyche. A woman with big dreams and aspirations, determined to prove her mother wrong and to ascertain that she break the vicious cycle that had fallen on her mother, Penelope made it her mission to look past love. Instead she focused on her academics, resolute on having a career in Nursing. But of course, because life always has other ideas, she stutters and falls in love with Derek—a charming Marine full of promises of a happily ever after. A happily ever after that somehow never comes to fruition. Nine years later, Penny finds herself in a state of omnipresent depression. Stuck in a marriage that is no longer working, Penny finds out that Derek has committed the ultimate betrayal which becomes the final nail on the coffin. The insecurities that bombard her were so stifling, I felt myself falling down into an endless black hole right behind her. I had tears trickling down my face, my heart so full of empathy for her. As a woman, as a wife…. My goodness, did I feel for her. Having had to give up her dreams to instead live the dreams of someone else only to be betrayed in the worst way possible, it was just all so sad. I loved Penny. I loved that she had to fall rock bottom in order for her to pick herself back up. It showed such bravery and resilience on her part and for me? Those are some of my most favorite things about a heroine.

The author does a sensational job with juggling the past and present. The flashbacks weren’t choppy nor were they confusing in anyway. What it did instead was really bring you into Penny’s mind; it was like re-discovering those moments for myself. It made me understand why she was in the place she was at and made me really appreciate her character even more. And what becomes even more for me is when Brandon Cain enters the picture. Oh my goodness this man!!! A male model/bartender/weed dealer (yep you read that right). Chasing away his own ghosts, he instantly feels a connection with Penelope. Drawn to her, he becomes a friend who eventually becomes a friend with a whole lot of delicious benefits. Something about an enigmatic bad boy who finally finds unexpected love just does happy things for my literary heart. The chemistry between Brandon and Penelope was feverish and the hottie tottie scenes were all steamy hot. It couldn’t be denied that they fed off of each other and so did I. I quickly became their biggest fans, rooting for them to defeat their demons and find a genuine happily ever after with one another even with the plot twist that EM Abel throws at us. I knew that plot twist was lurking somewhere and when that threat finally drops on us, I still couldn’t believe it. I saw red and I wanted Penelope avenged.

Throughout this book I was desperate for Penelope to find happiness. Because of my frantic need to find out what happens, I found that the pages began to wane a little too fast for my liking. That was probably my biggest gripe with this book. I wish I could have shared a bit more of Penelope’s journey outside of Brandon and Derek, I wanted to see the world she’d finally conquered simply through her eyes.

In the end, I couldn’t have been happier with Liquid & Ash. This to me is EM Abel’s best work yet— hands down. I hadn’t expected to be so caught up in Penelope’s story and when that last page finally came, I was glad to have been able to finally let go of the heaviness that was so potent throughout her heartbreaking story. I loved this book and I know that my fellow literary masochist/angst lovers will also be sucked in deeply into EM Abel’s Liquid & Ash and love it as much as I did too.

bfbd5986-3cb1-4b82-913c-d427cd7a0890

We Like It Big Tunes:

Gallant- Weight in Gold

 

Black dust in orbit

Cascades down like a parachute

Bricks on my shoulders

This gravity hurts when you know the truth

I’m pulling my weight in gold

Call me anxious, call me broke

But I can’t lift this on my own

Pulling my weight in gold

Call me anxious, call me broke

But I can’t lift this on my own

We dreamt like martyrs

I never thought I was bold enough

You pushed me further

And I take the blame for the both of us

I’m pulling my weight in gold

Call me anxious, call me broke

But I can’t lift this on my own

Pulling my weight in gold

Call me anxious, call me broke

But I can’t lift this on my own

Oh, Universe, hold me up

Tried your best, is it ever enough

When it’s already dragging me down?

I’m pulling my weight in gold

Call me anxious, call me broke

But I can’t lift this on my own

Pulling my weight in gold

Call me anxious, call me broke

But I can’t lift this on my own

Purchase Links:

US:  http://amzn.to/1VgyNnF

UK:  http://amzn.to/1QD3XSs

Giveaway: 

There is a giveaway for 5 signed paperbacks of Liquid & Ash, $20 Amazon gift card + $20 iTunes gift card (7 winners)

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/ba3ffd55924

About the Author:

62cd4-em2babel

 

E.M. Abel was born and raised a Marine Corps brat. She spent a large portion of her life moving and living in her mother’s home country, Japan. As a result, she gained independence and a unique perspective on the world. The youngest of three girls, E.M. Abel spent a lot of time alone in her room writing or sketching in her journals and dreaming up stories. Growing up, she wrote poems, short stories and articles for her high school newspaper. She also fell in love with art and discovered her deep need for self-expression.

Now, a Navy wife with two small children of her own, she still loves being creative and most of all translating her stories into novels. E.M. Abel, now referred to as E or Em by her friends and readers, can often be found with her headphones on jamming out to punk rock, in a chair getting tattooed or cooking dinner for her kids and attending gymnastics practice. No matter what she’s doing in her life, she’s always sure to do it her way.

Author Links
Leave a Reply

