BOOK REVIEW: F*ck Love by Tarryn Fisher

IMG_6621

(Buy it here: http://amzn.to/1OzvOCG)

Helena Conway has fallen in love.
Unwillingly. Unwittingly.
But not unprovoked.
Kit Isley is everything she’s not—unstructured, untethered,
and not even a little bit careful.
It could all be so beautiful … if he wasn’t dating her best friend.
Helena must defy her heart, do the right thing, and think of others.
Until she doesn’t.

FullSizeRender (1)

Whoa talk about a human roller coaster of emotions. Tarryn Fisher is so good with this; experiencing it firsthand when I picked up The Opportunist a couple of years ago and here I am, back again. She’s so mind boggling good with messing with her readers heads. So, F*ck Love most definitely f*cked with me and I can’t tell you enough just how great that makes a literary masochist like me feel. I’m actually giddy about it.

What started out as just a dream leads to life changing decisions and foreign and unexpected feelings to arise. Helena who never once looked at Kit as someone more than her best friend’s boyfriend suddenly finds herself obsessed with making that dream a reality thus ensuing a flurry of disastrous outcomes. I thought that the dream sequence which led to this ripple effect was brilliantly done and to pick a heroine who is in the midst of finding herself, it made for a perfect plot line. I loved how quirky and funny the heroine was. I kept thinking, if she is anything like Tarryn Fisher is in real life, then I want to be her best friend. Helena is someone that people need in their lives (except maybe for the whole lusting after your boyfriend deal) but heck, she had good reason. LOL. Anyway, I digress… Along with her wittiness, the kindness and the vulnerability she possessed drew me in.

This book was so unlike many out there. The frustration that it made me feel— oh my God! I felt myself shaking from it. You know when you’re really, really pissed at your boyfriend or your husband because you hate how stupid they are?! YES! THAT! Because you love them so, so much you can’t fathom why they can’t see the difference between right and wrong?? That’s how I felt about Kit. As much as I loved the guy because I did! I just wanted to shake the living daylights out of him. I wanted him to break away from his passiveness and be bold enough to fight for Helena instead of always taking the passive/aggressive route by asking her what SHE wants. I mean, I get it… 1. her he was involved with her best friend but deep down he knew that Della wasn’t for him and 2. timing was never on their side and that’s what made this whole story fun… it took it to a level where I felt manic. I needed a shot of tequila to drown out the desperation that bounced right off the pages from both Helena and Kit. I needed that extra shot or two to mute the painful ache I felt around my heart for Helena and the helplessness of the entire situation. I recall a particular scene with Della that I swear was literally like a punch to the gut. That sudden loss of breath because of such a startling blow caused my eyes to feel with tears. That’s what this book did to me. I felt myself clawing through the pages hoping that Helena would finally, finally have enough of the entire thing and find her own happiness. Revenge. I wanted that for her so badly because I just really, really loved who she was and I hated the position she always found herself in… Second fiddle to someone undeserving of being in first place. The whole “good guys always finish last” coming in full blasts.

Now comes, the iffy for me… There were moments towards the end of the book that just had me scratching my head. Like some parts that were written into this story that I felt just didn’t belong. It almost made me feel like the author wrote it in just to mess with her readers some more but it instead came out too nonsensical and I just kept thinking, “why?!” But maybe I’m just not in tune enough with the author to have understood her. Overall, I really enjoyed this book. I read it from start to finish in just a few hours and I’d definitely recommend this for my fellow angst lovers out there.

PS. FLOVED all the Harry Potter references. Hufflepuff for life!

PPS. I also have to note just how many lines I had to highlight in this book. So many one liners that were just so inspirationally eye-opening. I wish I could tattoo them all on my body. I’ll leave this review with one of them.

“ I don’t want to be someone’s girl who got away. I want to be someone’s girl who’d I’d never let get away.”

#BAM

We Like It Big Tunes:

Next Lifetime- Erykah Badu

Now what am I supposed to do
When I want you in my world
How can I want you for myself
When I’m already someone’s girl?

First time that I saw you boy
It was a warm and sunny day
All I know is I wanted you
I really hoped you look my way
Then you smiled at me
So warm and sweet
I could not speak
You make me feel like a little bitty girl
What do you do to me

I guess I’ll see you next lifetime
No hard feelings
I guess I’ll see you next lifetime
I’m gonna be there

You’re energy
Feels so damn good to me
It picks me up don’t wanna come down
You got me spinning all around
Yeah
You need to know
I’ve got somebody
You’re beautiful
But still it ain’t that type of party

Well I guess I’ll see you next lifetime
Maybe we’ll be butterflies
I guess I’ll see you next lifetime
That sounds so divine
I guess I’ll see you next lifetime
I guess I will now
I guess I’ll see you next lifetime
Wait
Wait a little while

See it ain’t nothing wrong with dreaming
Boy don’t get me wrong
Cause every time (every time) I see you (every single time)
It lets me know just how strong (every single time)
That my love is for my baby
But emotions just don’t lie
Well I know I’m a lot of woman
But not enough to divide the pie

I guess I’ll see you next lifetime
You know I want to stay around
I guess I’ll see you next lifetime
I’m so confused now

I guess I’ll see you next lifetime
Already
I’m going to be there
I guess I’ll see you next lifetime
I’m going to look for you

I guess I’ll see you next lifetime
Oh
Oh baby
I’m gonna be there
I’m gonna be there

About the Author:

81I9JOZWIFL._UX250_

New York Times & USA Today bestselling author Tarryn Fisher is cooler than you, but not one to rub it in your face. She graduated first in her class at Hogwarts school of Witchcraft and Wizardry. She is a lover of human nature, and a real life villain (House of Slytherin). Her heart is dark, but she loves you with it anyway. Currently she lives in Washington with her son and daughter, and just finished her eighth novel, F*ck Love, which will is now available.

If you would like to order signed books or check for a book signing near you, visit her website at:
http://www.tarrynfisher.com

You can also find Tarryn on Facebook:
https://www.facebook.com/authortarrynfisher

Instagram:
TarrynFisher

Twitter:
https://twitter.com/Tarryn__Fisher

Leave a Reply

