BOOK REVIEW & BLOG TOUR: Loud Is How I Love You by Mercy Brown

IMG_6623

Release Date: 1/19/16

Pre-order it here: http://amzn.to/1nsoDFu

One girl’s heart gets rocked to the core in the first novel in this sexy New Adult series.

Twenty-one-year-old front girl Emmylou knows that getting her band noticed in the ‘90s indie rock scene will be no easy task. She definitely knows better than to break the number one rule of the band: Don’t sleep with your bandmates! But after she ends up having the best sex of her life with her guitarist, Travis, she finds following that rule is a lot harder than it sounds.

When the band gets the gig of their dreams, making it big seems just within reach. But Emmy’s inability to keep her hands off Travis threatens everything they’ve worked for. Can Emmy find a way to break the rules and not blow the chance of a lifetime?

FullSizeRender (2)

There’s nothing better than discovering new authors. The thrill and the excitement that I feel after finishing up a stunning book like Mercy Brown’s Loud Is How I Love You cannot be contained. This book had me feeling countless emotions. I thought it was written extremely well and many times I’d have to re-read and re-read again certain parts because the words that bounced off the digital pages were just so hauntingly striking. The volumes it spoke caused goosebumps to erupt against my skin. It simply made me feel.

“ I pull Travis’s jacket tighter around myself even though it’s not cold. I just like breathing under it because it smells like him. I am in love with him, I know that I am. I’m feeling it, full f*cking on. And I am terrified about everything I am about to f*ck up in my life because of it.”

Emmylou’s struggle between choosing the band and her new found realization of her love for Travis was so painfully real. I’ll admit that there were plenty of times that I felt such frustration and at times annoyance towards her because I knew just how great the both of them were together. I loved how the author approached Emmy’s self-defiance and apprehension. She lays it out for her readers, explaining exactly why Emmy is the way she is and this allows frustrated readers like myself to look beyond her flakiness. I empathized with Emmy and God did I feel so bad for her as the pages kept turning. This girl who loves music and her band so much. So much so that she breathes and lives them and these guys who are so much more than just her bandmates but who are also her family—the beat brothers, Cole and Joey and her musical soul mate, Travis. These guys who make up Stars on the Floor is Emmy’s very essence; it’s who she has defined herself to be and the risk of ever messing up this family and what they’ve accomplished is something so terrifying for her that she fights the romantic relationship forming between her and Travis. So much of what Emmy says and does to push Travis away had me squirming inside because I felt so sorry not only for poor Travis, but even more so for her. She was killing herself with her own words and her own actions and it was brutal to read. Her inner turmoil and the confusion that was swirling around her was even so much more painful knowing that the person taking the brunt of it was someone as sweet and patient as Travis. OMG did I love this man! I loved how faithful he was to Emmy and how honest he was with himself. He loved Emmy, through and through; against all the odds that was stocked up against him, he remained loyal to her. I felt so much for him every single time Emmy blew through like a destructive storm. She annihilated him every time he thought that they were making head way and man, were those tough to swallow and even in those times, Travis never wavers.

When Travis and Emmy were actually on the same page… Boy, were they like the best song you’ve ever heard. Together, they made beautiful music and they were absolute perfection. The physical intensity between them was crazy good because they just had this profound connection with one another.

“They’ll hear me all the way across the river to New Brunswick,” I argue. “I’m too loud, I can’t help it.” “Good ,” he says. “Loud is how I love you.”

I can’t compliment the author’s writing enough. This book was so full of life and you know that this story had to have come from firsthand experience. It was like walking down memory lane where everything was wondrously vivid. Loud Is How I Love You spoke in volumes. I recommend this book to fellow readers who thoroughly enjoy a story’s journey because there isn’t anything instantaneous about Emmylou and Travis’s story. Not only is this your typical romance but it is so much of a young woman’s journey to self-discovery by letting go of her fears and simply accepting a lifelong love that is equally as loud and as beautiful as the music that surrounds so much of who she is.

** ARC provided for an HONEST review **

We Like It Big Tunes:

Alanis Morrisette – Head Over Feet

I had no choice but to hear you
You stated your case time and again
I thought about it

You treat me like I’m a princess
I’m not used to liking that
You ask how my day was

You’ve already won me over in spite of me
And don’t be alarmed if I fall head over feet
Don’t be surprised if I love you for all that you are
I couldn’t help it
It’s all your fault

Your love is thick and it swallowed me whole
You’re so much braver than I gave you credit for
That’s not lip service

You’ve already won me over in spite of me
And don’t be alarmed if I fall head over feet
Don’t be surprised if I love you for all that you are
I couldn’t help it
It’s all your fault

You are the bearer of unconditional things
You held your breath and the door for me
Thanks for your patience

You’re the best listener that I’ve ever met
You’re my best friend
Best friend with benefits
What took me so long

I’ve never felt this healthy before
I’ve never wanted something rational
I am aware now
I am aware now

You’ve already won me over in spite of me
And don’t be alarmed if I fall head over feet
Don’t be surprised if I love you for all that you are
I couldn’t help it
It’s all your fault

About the Author:

Mercy Brown is an author from New Jersey who writes about bands, sex and shenanigans. LOUD IS HOW I LOVE YOU is her debut with Intermix, (Berkley-Penguin)

Leave a Reply

