BOOK REVIEW: Bright Side by Kim Holden

IMG_6619

(buy it here: http://amzn.to/1n5ghmT)

Secrets.
Everyone has one.
Some are bigger than others.
And when secrets are revealed,
Some will heal you …
And some will end you.

Kate Sedgwick’s life has been anything but typical. She’s endured hardship and tragedy, but throughout it all she remains happy and optimistic (there’s a reason her best friend Gus calls her Bright Side). Kate is strong-willed, funny, smart, and musically gifted. She’s also never believed in love. So when Kate leaves San Diego to attend college in the small town of Grant, Minnesota, the last thing she expects is to fall in love with Keller Banks.

They both feel it.
But they each have a reason to fight it.
They each have a secret.

And when secrets are revealed,
Some will heal you …
And some will end you.

FullSizeRender

My heart. Oh my GOD my heart. How can it be so painfully broken but be so unbelievably full at the same time?! I went to sleep with puffy eyes and clogged up sinuses only to wake up the next morning with the same broken heart. Listen, I knew to expect to be shattered. I mean, this is on everyone’s Ugly Cry list for goodness sake. But the thing is, I didn’t know the depth of how this book for affect me until it was too late. Until the last of the balled up tissues were thrown into the waste basket.

This review is a hard one for me because Bright Side cannot be spoiled by spoilers. Everyone deserves to read this book with the blind knowledge that it will not only rock your  literary world but will forever change the way you look at life in general.

I LOOOOOOVED it. I flippin’ LOVED Bright Side. Kim Holden did epic– she’s written one of THE BEST books I’ve ever read equipped with characters that are irreplaceable. Kate the heroine is my ALL TIME fave. She is my #1 favorite heroine EVAH!!! No kidding, I LOVE every piece of her. She embodied what living in the moment is. The thing we always remind ourselves but too quickly forget to do because we either obsess over what the next day or the next month, or hell, even the next year will bring or we become stuck in the past living through regret. Katie reminds us that life is so much more than that and I wish that I could be an inkling of who she was. 

Keller oh my heart, Keller will you marry me?! I love you and I want to make babies with you. I love how he came into Katie’s life; an unexpected love she didn’t even know she needed. They formed a swift connection but a love so boundless and so meaningful it made me weep. I can’t even begin to adequately express just how beautiful they were together. My eyes are literally brimming in tears as I think of them. The fairy tales they’d drummed up together, ugh THAT scene!! Give me Xanax now!

And of course,  Gus… Oh my dear Gus. Could we walk on the beach hand in hand for the rest of my days? I love you, Gus. So much. The best friend that not too many in this lifetime are blessed with. His passion for everything especially his music and his relationship with his Bright Side, Kate was addicting. It made you want to have him in your life. My heart hurt for him and for what fate had in store for him. I can’t even… I can’t move past knowing that Gus has his own book because selfishly, it makes me realize that life has to go on… For him.. For all of them and that just toys with my already hypersensitive emotions. But deep, deep down I know that Gus deserves his happily ever after even if that means moving on. I’m dreading reading GUS to tell you the truth but I know that once all these warring feelings have died down a bit, I’ll be reaching for it knowing Kim Holden will once again “do epic.”

I don’t want to summarize what this book is about because I want you to just go and read it for yourself. Experience the glory that is Bright Side. With over 1500+ reviews on Amazon, it’s the kind of book that changes people– be it their perspective or their outlook on life… It will inspire you to open your eyes… Really open them. Life is beautiful, experience it, live it, and cultivate it. The message behind Kim Holden’s story is powerful. It is also startling emotional. I wanted to curl up in the corner of the room and just rock back and forth. Traumatizing. A massive blow to the heart; she really takes you into its pages and you begin to live in these characters world. I am so hung up, I don’t know when this sense of desperation will let up. It’s like. when I take really deep breaths, I feel  some bit of peace exists but then when the exhale follows, I’m right back to bawling my already puffy eyes out all over again. I can’t.. OMG I cannot let this story and Katie and Keller and Gus and the whole gang go. Please don’t make me. Take me back to the beginning when it didn’t dawn on me just how unfair life is.

I cannot recommend this book enough. PLEASE, PLEASE read it! Bright Side is the real deal. It’s a book for the masses and the masses owe it some one on one time. I want to cuddle with this book until I’m somewhat sane again but at this moment, I’m not quite sure when that will be. I can’t express the magnitude of love I have for Bright Side. I loved every minute of it and I will always, always love the Bright Side that is Katie and her very brave friends.

We Like It Big Tunes:

Gone Away- The Offspring

Maybe in another life
I could find you there
Pulled away before your time
I can’t deal it’s so unfair

And it feels
And it feels like
Heaven’s so far away
And it feels
Yeah it feels like
The world has grown cold
Now that you’ve gone away

Leaving flowers on your grave
Show that I still care
But black roses and Hail Mary’s
Can’t bring back what’s taken from me
I reach to the sky
And call out your name
And if I could trade
I would

And it feels
And it feels like
Heaven’s so far away
And it stings
Yeah it stings now
The world is so cold
Now that you’ve gone away

About the Author:
711U-QK2Q5L._UX250_
I (Kim Holden) live in the greatest city in the world: Denver, Colorado. Some of my favorite things: reading, writing, the two coolest guys on the planet (my husband and son), my bicycle, Facebook, iced coffee, and music. I also love dreaming. And speaking of dreaming, I have a bit of advice for anyone reading this … follow your dreams. It’s never too late. Get started today … heck get started RIGHT NOW! Make your dreams reality.
I love to hear from fellow readers. Love. It.
Please come find me. We’ll hang out. It’ll be fun:
Facebook https://www.facebook.com/KimHoldenAuthor
Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7445352.Kim_Holden
My Website https://kimholdenbooks.com

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW: Bright Side by Kim Holden

  1. Pingback: Melanie’s Best of 2016 Picks | welikeitbigbookblog

Leave a Reply

