BOOK REVIEW: Break Even by Lisa De Jong

b482480b-2c83-4a17-8e25-9bb52fca641b

(Buy it here: http://amzn.to/1nkemv8)

My story isn’t a love story … not the typical kind anyway.
As a lawyer, I’m used to discovery, but I never saw this one coming.

Every day, River gives me ten reasons to stay away, and then eleven reasons why I can’t. Our relationship was to remain strictly business, or at least I tried.

Four years of marriage, and everything with Cole has changed. I never knew two people who lived together could be so distant. But I’m not ready to give up on him.

One man wants to break me.
The other is just trying to get even.

Both are lying to me.

**This is a standalone!**

FullSizeRender (46)

Break Even by Lisa De Jong was addictive from the very beginning and from the very start, my heart ached for Marley and it never ebbed until the very end. What was so great about this book was how convoluted this love triangle was. The author presented us with a secret, something literary masochists like myself thrive on. It adds a relentless need to find out what else is behind the misconceived simplicity of the situation. I knew without reading reviews from peers that this story would have a cataclysmic plot twist, the kind that would pull the rug from under me even when I’d expected something big would happen.

Marley’s 11 year marriage to Cole is slowly wilting away and at the same time quickly crumbling right in front of them. The wife and the woman in me, naturally felt a copious amount of empathy toward our female protagonist. The self-deprecating thoughts and the “what did I do wrong?” mentality ran rampant in Marley and I hated. I loathed that Cole ever made her feel this way. Though smart, beautiful, successful, with a body fit for a man to enjoy, Cole’s inability to give her the love and affection a wife should receive from her husband was enough to drown out the beauty that was Marley Mason. So many times I felt my throat tighten and my heart hurting. These moments made it almost impossible for me to catch my breath, I’d have to walk away from my PC in search for reprieve. The position in which Marley found herself is one that many women often pray they’d never have to experience. I think that’s why this hit such a sensitive part of me. So when River appears into Marley’s life, he not only drags her out of the darkness, but he too dragged me alongside Marley into something ridiculously magnificent. From the get go, their chemistry was undeniable. A ticking time bomb just waiting to explode. The loneliness that Marley has become so accustomed to no longer existed when she was around River. The “hottie tottie” scenes were beyond sexy. Where I found myself unable to catch my breath before, well, during these honey dripping moments, I wasn’t able to catch my breath for whole new reasons. The blush crept up my cheeks, at times making my legs tremble. Intense, perverse, and goddam delicious. This was what River did to me and I wanted to own him as he did Marley. A perfect specimen that would increase the already rising infidelity rate across the country. He would be the reason many women would lose their minds right alongside their panties. A savior with a full sleeve of tattoos in a leather jacket, he allows Marley to rediscover her self-worth.

But alas, as expected, Lisa De Jong throws us all a curve ball enough to knock someone out of consciousness. This is when it starts getting a bit shaky for me. Once the grand plot twist was out there… The story begins to dissolve for me. I know that the relationship between Cole and Marley wasn’t right but then it suddenly became overtly distorted as the pages were beginning to thin. Overcompensating for a sudden surge of chaos in just the last few pages isn’t something that bodes well with me. Wrapping up such an intricate plot line in just these last few pages made me feel like I was being forced out of a really raging party when I wasn’t quite ready to leave yet. Gosh, I wish the author had just slowed down the pace in the end. It would have made me feel a far deeper sense of vindication for Marley. So even though Break Even started out strong for me, the approach taken to close out their story just rubbed me the wrong way.

However, there is absolutely no denying of Lisa De Jong’s ability to draw in her readers with her writing, her complex characters, and a story line worth a Hollywood adaptation. Break Even is one I highly recommend.

We Like It Big Tunes:

As We Lay- Kelly Price

Whoa, it’s morning

And we slept the night away
It happened
Now we can’t turn back the hands of time, no, no

Yes we’ve stolen this moment
We forgot to face one simple fact
We both belong to someone else
As we slept the night away

It’s morning
Sunlight shines across your sleeping face, oh
A new day
Brings reality and we both go our separate ways

What a lovely night we had yeah, yeah
As we shared each other’s love
We forgot about all the pain we caused
As we slept the night away

As we lay
We forgot about tomorrow
As we lay
Ooh hey, hey

As we lay
Didn’t think about
The price we’d have to pay
No, no, no

It’s morning
And now it’s time for us to say goodbye
Goodbye baby
You’re leaving me
I know you’ve got to hurry home to face your wife, wife

I would never want to hurt her, no, no, no
She would never understand
You belong to me for just one night
As we slept the night away

Ooh oh, whoa

I would never, never want to hurt her, no, no, no
She would never understand
You belong to me for just one night
As we slept the night away

As we lay
We forgot about tomorrow
As we lay
Ooh hey, hey

As we lay
Didn’t think about
The price we’d have to pay
No, no, no

We should have counted up the cost
But instead we got lost
In the second, in the minute
In the hour, hey, hey, hey
As we lay
We forgot about tomorrow
As we lay
Oh no, oh no, no
My love why can’t you see
How loving you is killing me
I can’t think of no one else
Baby, baby I can’t take it no more

You see I can’t be in your life
You gotta go home to you wife
Oh it’s morning

About the Author:

6670530

Lisa De Jong is a wife, mother and full-time number cruncher who lives in the Midwest. Her writing journey involved insane amounts of coffee and many nights of very little sleep but she wouldn’t change a thing. She also enjoys reading, football and music.

For more information about Lisa and her books follow her at:
Twitter: @LisaDeJongBooks
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/lisadejongauthor/
Website: http://www.lisadejongbooks.com
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/lisadejongbooks/

Leave a Reply

