BOOK REVIEW: SEBRING by Kristen Ashley

IMG_6568

(Buy it here: http://amzn.to/1J1Y3Nq)

Synopsis:

Nick Sebring has issues. Born feeling like an outsider in his own family, growing up under the shadow of a brother who could do anything, Nick isn’t that great of a guy. But when this culminates with Nick lashing out to hurt his brother through the woman he loves, Nick turns inward and makes some decisions about the man he intends to be.

And as he does this, he falls in love and truly learns the man that he’s grown to be.

When his love is murdered right before Nick’s eyes, Nick knows he has to avenge her. He knows how he’s going to avenge her. And he has no qualms using Olivia Shade to exact that vengeance.

Olivia Shade has grown up on the outside of her family too. Her problem is that they don’t want her outside. They want her all the way in, right under their thumbs. She pays the price for seeking escape and learns her lesson—she’ll never see a dawn where she wakes up free.

Then she meets Nick Sebring, and even as she fights it, the hope that died years ago starts to blossom. She can find love. She can have a man of her own. She can be happy. She can be free.

Olivia hopes while Nick schemes.

However, as Nick peels back the layers of all that is Olivia Shade, he finds something surprising. He understands its fragility. He falls in love with its beauty. He seeks to protect it.

But he forgets to protect his Livvie from one thing: Nick Sebring.

FullSizeRender (45)

I got it. Early into this book, I got it. I understood why Nick Sebring and Olivia Shade’s story would close the curtain to this unforgettable series. I felt it, I got it and I loved that the finale gave Nick Sebring and Olivia Shade their happy ending. As you are all aware of, because well, I proudly and maybe at times obnoxiously made it known just how much Kristen Ashley rocks my literary world. She IS, the very definition of Rock Chick and her stories are all and always, always a double platinum hit for me… Ok.. Some a triple platinum hit … But always a hit. All a hit to the gut, to the heart, and to the soul. There is something just unexplainably magical about them. The way they make me feel and the way in which they allow me to burrow myself into its pages and live the multiple lives even if just vicariously through her characters. I fell in love with a powerful man who’d go to the ends of the earth for me as Anya, found my second chance with the love of my life being Sylvie, pleased as hell to have been the woman who finally got the happy ending she’d wanted with a boy since she was 6 years old in Hannah, over the moon honored and content to have broken through Deacon in the beauty that was Cassidy Swallow… and in Sebring, I became my most favorite heroine of this series.

Olivia Shade blew me away into miniscule shards. Be it from the heartbreaking and I mean… HEART friggin’ BREAKING life she’d be dealt with as a Shade or simply because she’d managed to remain good amidst the ugly that surrounded her. Whatever the reasons are, Olivia Shade had me on my knees. There were too many times that I’d felt the annoying sting right at the bridge of my nose leading up to my eyes at which would cause tears to brim and ultimately, without regard, lead those tears to crawl freely down my cheeks. A wee bit poetic? Yes. Hell. Yes. Because that’s what Olivia Shade deserves and Nick Sebring is exactly the man she deserved to finally have in her life. Frankly, as excited (and I mean… ALL CAPS EXCITED) as I was to have Nick Sebring’s story come to life… I was also apprehensive about how Kristen Ashley would turn this antagonist into her leading protagonist. I really should have known better than to even feel that shadow of doubt. Only Kristen Ashley could make a believer out of me and make me feel a hint of shame at ever thinking I’d not love this Sebring. I LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVED (and I mean… ALL CAPS LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVED) him. Everything he did… He did them all right. Having atoned for his past discretions, paying in ways that would cripple other men (obviously not KA alpha males.. nope not ever), he instead became the man that Knight Sebring was proud of. And for those who’ve followed this series, that right there should say it ALL. Knight Sebring was proud of the man that Nick Sebring had become. An anti-heroine to match the most notorious anti-hero. A match made in KA heaven, a match that lit a burning, raging fire in me whenever Nick and Olivia were together.

To say that Nick and Olivia were hot for each other would be too much of an understatement. These two together lit up the entire city of Denver… Hell, they lit up the entire damn state of Colorado. Animalistic, raw, primal, perverse… That’s how wild they were for each other and I FED off of them. Rock chicks… seriously.. The “hottie tottie” scenes in this book had my lady bits tingling and buzzing like bees having a rager in a honeycomb. Dripping sweet, sweet goodness I could feel their chemistry at the marrow of my bones. HOT like fire and these two were not afraid to play in it. All hail KA and her ability to get me hot and bothered when reading at places no one would ever think they could get hot and bothered at. Like I said.. Magic. KA magic. The very best kind.

Sebring though bittersweet, brought back our beloved characters in this Unfinished Heroes series and boy, did those few paragraphs on each of the characters send me into a frenzy. I may have done a happy dance in my living room, not giving a care even when my husband and son directed strange looks my way. This book was the perfect culmination of everything beautiful about this series. Addictive with a set of characters that embodied what the meaning of hope is. Both defying dark pasts, slaying demons in order for them to find their happily ever after with one another. In Sebring, Kristen Ashley sheds a blinding light of faith and allowed us all to believe alongside Nicky and Livvie that goodness, no matter how stark in that moment, actually exists. KA drove it home. She knocked it right out of the park, sliding this series to a home run worth the World Series. I got it in the beginning and I still get it now as I’m emotionally writing this review why Nick Sebring and Olivia Shade’s story needed to close this chapter out and I know… I know, you will too.

We Like It Big Tunes:

(Kristen Ashley had noted this song and it was such a happy surprise because I FLOVE Jose Gonzalez and this song as well as a couple of others {Heartbeats & Crosses) are constant anthem on my Spotify playlist. I couldn’t agree with KA more about this being the theme song for SEBRING.)

There’s a rhythm in rush these days
Where the lights don’t move and the colors don’t fade
Leaves you empty with nothing but dreams
In a world gone shallow
In a world gone lean

Sometimes there’s things a man cannot know
Gears won’t turn and the leaves won’t grow
There’s no place to run and no gasoline
Engines won’t turn and the train won’t leave

I will stay with you tonight
Hold you close ’til the morning light
In the morning watch a new day rise
We’ll do whatever just to stay alive
We’ll do whatever just to stay alive

Well the way I feel is the way I write
It isn’t like the thoughts of the man who lies
There is a truth and it’s on our side
Dawn is coming
Open your eyes
Look into the sun as the new days rise

And I will wait for you tonight
You’re here forever and you’re by my side
I’ve been waiting all my life
To feel your heart as it’s keeping time
We’ll do whatever just to stay alive

[3x]
Dawn is coming
Open your eyes

Look into the sun as the new days rise

There’s a rhythm in rush these days
Where the lights don’t move and the colors don’t fade
There is a truth and it’s on our side
Dawn is coming
Open your eyes
Look into the sun as a new days rise

About the Author:

71x4P3eFE7L._UX250_

Kristen Ashley was born in Gary, Indiana, USA and nearly killed her mother and herself making it into the world, seeing as she had the umbilical cord wrapped around her neck (already attempting to accessorize and she hadn’t taken her first breath!). Her mother said they took Kristen away, put her Mom back in her room, her mother looked out the window, and Gary was on fire (Dr. King had been assassinated four days before). Kristen’s Mom remembered thinking it was the end of the world. Quite the dramatic beginning.

Nothing’s changed.

Kristen grew up in Brownsburg, Indiana and has lived in Denver, Colorado and the West Country of England. Thus, she’s blessed to have friends and family around the globe. Her family was (is) loopy (to say the least) but loopy is good when you want to write. They all lived together on a very small farm in a small farm town in the heartland. She grew up with Glenn Miller, The Everly Brothers, REO Speedwagon and Whitesnake (and the wardrobes that matched).

Needless to say, growing up in a house full of music, clothes and love was a good way to grow up.

And as she keeps growing, it keeps getting better.

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW: SEBRING by Kristen Ashley

  1. Pingback: Melanie’s Best of 2016 Picks | welikeitbigbookblog

Leave a Reply

