BOOK REVIEW: Fading by E.K. Blaire

IMG_6480

Can a guilty conscience keep wounds from healing?

Fine arts major, Candace Parker, grew up with a mother who thinks image is everything, and her daughter’s perfection will never be good enough. About to graduate college and pursue her dreams of becoming a professional ballerina, Candace decides it’s time to let go and have a little fun. But fun is short-lived when a brutal attack leaves her completely shattered.

The memories that consume and torment Candace are starting to destroy her when she meets Ryan Campbell, a successful bar owner. He feels instantly connected and tries to show her that hope is worth fighting for. But is Ryan harboring his own demons? As walls slowly begin to chip away, the secrets that are held within start to become painful burdens.

At what point do secrets become lies?

(17+) This book contains mature subject matter that is not suitable for those under the age of 17.

FullSizeRender (1)

A heartbreaking and emotionally filled story, E.K. Blaire’s Fading is unforgettable to say the least. What I loved so much about this book was that the author passionately told Candace’s story without shortcuts and as a reader I could tell that she was committed to give us a thorough look into her heroine’s life with the unwavering sense of hope that in the end, she would get the happily ever after she so deserved.

I finally picked up Fading after months of having it sit on my Kindle as preparation for an upcoming author event which E.K. Blaire will be signing at. It’s one of the many reasons why I love attending these events because it gives avid readers like myself who have a pile high, filled with books on their “to be read” lists a chance to buck up and pick up a book with reason. Goodness, am I glad that I finally did. The vice that gripped my heart and the tightness in my throat never seemed to let up until the very end. Candace Parker has lived a loveless life. Growing up in a home which was missing any genuine love, she quickly learns that she is nothing more than just a trophy for her affluent parents to show off and when she doesn’t bend to their rules, uncaring, they toss her aside, disowning her with no regard. The trauma from the pain that her parents could just end their relationship with her so easily, oh that did ugly things to my heart. And just when my poor heart thought that it ended there, well, E.K. Blaire demolishes it and all it took was one scene that caused a ripple effect of grief throughout the book. I felt the tremor behind the authors words and I could only imagine how crippling it must have been for her to write. Such a heinous act of taking what isn’t one to take—the worst kind of desecration anyone could experience. I appreciated the pace that the author took when it came to Candace dealing with the aftermath; not once rushing it. This really gave me an insight and it allowed me to form an attachment with Candace that much more. Her pain, her paranoia, and even the guilt that she harbored somehow became mine as well.

Though this book is definitely filled with some seriously sad overtones, I felt like when Ryan stepped into the picture, he was Candace’s symbol of hope. Fading was also so full of that. I fell head over heels in love with Ryan—his patience and his undeniable love for Candace made me want to be loved that exact way. The bit of a plot twist was great too; fate taking control of both their futures.

The characters as a whole made up a wonderful cast. I loved Jase and Mark and Ryan’s mom and Kimber. The kind where you look forward to spin-off sequels because you know that they’ve got stories to tell too. As emotionally rough as it was to read this book, I was totally drawn into Candace’s story as I’m sure you will be too. I highly recommend this book.

We Like It Big Tunes:

Hollow-Tori Kelly

I don’t wanna be the last man standing
I don’t wanna be the lonely one
Picking petals when the party’s over
No, it’s not any fun

Cause I’m fragile
And you know this

So hold me
Wrap me in love, fill up my cup
Empty and only your love can fill up my cup
Cause I’m hollow
Yeah, I’m hollow, oh oh oh
Cause I’m hollow
Yeah, I’m hollow, oh oh oh

I don’t wanna be the first one folding
I don’t wanna be the joker heart
Tell me, darling, will you understand me?
And not show me your cards?

Cause I’m paper-thin
And you, you make me home again

So hold me
Wrap me in love, fill up my cup
Empty and only your love can fill up my cup
Cause I’m hollow
Yeah, I’m hollow, oh oh oh
Cause I’m hollow
Yeah, I’m hollow, oh oh oh

I confess (yeah), my weakness
Til you pick up the parts that are broken
Pour out your perfection on me now

And hold me
Wrap me in love, fill up my cup
Empty, cause only your love can fill up my cup
So hold me
Wrap me in love, fill up my cup
Empty and only your love can fill up my cup
Cause I’m hollow
Yeah, I’m hollow, oh oh oh
Cause I’m hollow
Yeah, I’m hollow, oh oh oh
Cause I’m hollow (yeah)
Yeah, I’m hollow, oh oh oh (oh yeah)
Cause I’m hollow (I’m hollow)
Yeah, I’m hollow, oh oh ooooooh

About the Author:

316GH0bYzgL._UX250_.jpg

New York Times, USA Today, and International bestselling author, E.K. Blair, takes her readers on an emotional roller coaster with her books. A former first grade teacher with an imagination that runs wild. Daydreaming and zoning out is how she was often found in high school. Blair tends to drift towards everything dark and moody and has been noted as ‘The Queen of Dark and Twisted’. Give her a character and she will take pleasure in breaking them down, digging into their core to find what lies underneath.

Aside from writing, E.K. Blair finds pleasure in music, drinking her Starbucks in peace, and spending time with her friends. She’s a thinker, an artist, a wife, a mom, and everything in between.

Buy Link:

http://amzn.to/1PODLq4 <— FREE!

Leave a Reply

