BLOG TOUR & BOOK REVIEW: The Last Round by Emmy Montes

 

TLR Blog Tour Banner

Buy the Book

Amazon US: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B019VM2KQE?*Version*=1&*entries*=0

Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B019VM2KQE?*Version*=1&*entries*=0

Amazon CA: http://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B019VM2KQE?*Version*=1&*entries*=0

AMAZON AU: http://www.amazon.com.au/gp/product/B019VM2KQE?*Version*=1&*entries*=0

the last round

Synopsis

In the ring, I’m trained, powerful, and in control.

And that’s exactly how I built my legacy.

For years I’ve trained to fight, but no championship title in the world has prepared me for the most important fight of my life.

Out of the ring, I’m untamed and reckless.

Which is why my wife of nine years has filed for divorce.

I’m done with living up to the bad boy image my middleweight titles come with. Boxing is my life, but the money and the fame mean nothing to me without her by my side.

This fight is for the woman that I love.

And I can’t lose.

I won’t lose.

add-to-goodreads-button

The Last Round Teaser4

TheLastRoundTeaser2

Trailer

FullSizeRender (2)

Emmy Montes’ latest book, The Last Round is a quick light hearted romance that will have you smiling. I enjoyed reading about Julian and Natalia’s story because it resonates so much of what long-time married couples have to work for. Being high school sweethearts, they both find fame in their chosen careers. Julian, a champion boxer who loses his way to wild parties, heavy drinking, and drugs now finds himself also losing the love of his life. Natalia whose career is gaining speed in Hollywood has finally had it with Julian’s addiction. It is when she serves him divorce papers that he re-evaluates his life and works to find his way back into his wife’s heart.

There were so many sweet moments between Julian and Natalia. I loved that the author gave us some flashbacks to their past because it gave us readers an even deeper understanding about the love they share. From the halls of high school to the buzzing red carpet, they struggle to find the right balance to make their marriage work. It is Julian’s selfish behavior that brings Natalia to her breaking point. I felt so bad for her because she was so torn between looking out for herself and fighting the love that she still had for Julian. I do however wish that she didn’t give into him so quickly after everything that he had put her through. I mean, I get that the history they shared was long and the love that they had for one another even stronger, but I also think that Julian was forgiven way too easily. Though he does try and atone for his sins, I still felt like she could have made him work for it more. Really drive him to his brink and fight as hard as he does in the ring. Blood, sweat, and tears were a must and unfortunately, those didn’t come with his apologies.

It could be because the book felt like it didn’t really go the entire 12 rounds. It was quick, it was to the point, without any real heart squeezing emotional power.  I craved that for their story. A broken marriage between two high school sweethearts all playing out in the limelight? I think that could have been played out so much more. It had the potential for readers to throw their books or their e-readers against the wall. However, the author seemed to take a more stoic, anti-climactic approach. At times I felt like—“this is it.. sh*t is about to go down!!” but then it didn’t. We were just back to Natalia taking pity on Julian all over again. Ugh. I just wanted so much more out of their story because they were such great characters with such a strong plot line. I wanted to feel angry, I wanted to feel torn apart, I just wanted to feel something more.

Although this wasn’t a knock out read for me, for the most part, I did enjoy the sweet moments between Julian and Natalia. I thought the author did a great job with their chemistry; you could really feel their connection and their love for one another. So if you’re in the mood for a quick, easy romantic read, then Emmy Montes’ The Last Round may just be the book for you.

AboutTheAuthor
EL Montes

USA Today Bestselling Author, E.L. Montes (Emmy Luz Montes) lives in Pennsylvania with her husband, Alex, and their English Bulldog name Butters. She has a Bachelor of Science in Legal Studies.

Ms. Montes worked several years as a paralegal for a mid-size law firm. She had always loved the legal field and found it to be interesting. She more so “secretly” loved to write. Disastrous was her debut novel which was released October 2012. After the release of her second novel Ms. Montes took a huge leap, by leaving her fulltime job to focus on her writing career. She has and continues to write characters with flaws. Ms. Montes said, “No one is perfect and neither are my characters. It makes the storyline a bit more realistic, in my opinion. But I also feel no matter who you are or the life you have lived, everyone deserves someone to love and be loved. I’m a hopeless romantic, and enjoy writing a story where my readers feel like they’re living and feeling every emotion.”

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

Giveaway

Emmy L. Montes THE LAST ROUND Release Week Event

Leave a Reply

