BOOK REVIEW: The Storm (Storm 3.5) by Samantha Towle

24053306

STORM (noun)—a turbulent disturbance; a disruption or dispute.

Jake Wethers’s life is perfect. He’s married to the woman he’s always loved, and they have three beautiful children. The Mighty Storm is still going strong, and his record label is thriving.

Jake has everything—a life he thought he would never have and one that he didn’t think he deserved.

Not so long ago, Jake’s life wasn’t perfect. The unexpected and untimely death of his best friend, Jonny Creed, sent an already out-of-control Jake spiraling down further.

Drug addiction. Alcohol. Women.

Jake was in the fast lane to following Jonny to the grave until Tru Bennett walked back into his life and changed everything.

But now, the past that Jake left behind has come back to find him. And what the past brings with it is going to be one of the biggest challenges he has ever faced.

FullSizeRender

I am a BIG fan of the Mighty Storm series and it is a lifetime favorite of mine. I can still recall the moment that I finished Jake and Tru’s story and the sheer panic that ensued right after because well…. It was OVER! What in God’s name would I read next and how do I get over this massive book hangover (this was before I even knew a term had been coined). So yes, huge panic attack to say the least. So you can imagine how happy it always makes me when Samantha Towle adds on to this unbelievably addictive series and there was no question that I’d pick up this novella, The Storm.

I confess that I had a perma-smile already plastered across my face from the very first page. I loved seeing Jake and Tru settled with their beautiful trio of kids and still deeply, madly, and hungry in love with one another. The physical chemistry between the two of them hadn’t ebbed since the moment they’d reunited in The Mighty Storm. There’s just something so wildly beautiful about these two. It could be the loyalty and the innate love they have for one another from the very start of their relationship. It’s the term “meant to be” that rings loudly when I think of them. In The Storm, Samantha Towle proves just true that sentiment is. When Jake’s past returns to haunt him, the fear that curses through reverberated off the digital pages of my Kindle. Scared to death of losing Tru and his family, Jake must once again rely on the genuine and unwavering love that exists between them and Tru doesn’t disappoint. It’s what makes me love Tru so much and it’s why she’s still a staple heroine in my book. She’s incredibly strong and steady—she loves deeply, she looks past her own hurt and allows love to take precedence. She rocks my socks.

The best thing about this novella was that it gave us something new and I couldn’t agree more wholeheartedly with the author when she mentions in her note to her readers that this was a novella that was needed to complete the series. YES, YES, YES! I loved that she gave us a side of Johnny that I am sure many fans didn’t even know we needed. The Storm completed the storybook ending. It sealed the deal in such a perfect way and I couldn’t have asked for more. I love that Samantha was able to unearth something totally profound without tainting Jake’s and Tru’s LOVE story. If anything it just proved even further the longevity and the strength of their love. The Storm is the perfect example of what a novella should be. It held just the right amount of drama to get hearts pumping and palms sweating, it had all the swoon-factor we all look for when we’re reunited with our favorite characters, and it had an end that satiated a reader’s need.

We Like It Big Tunes: 

Coming out of my cage
And I’ve been doing just fine
Gotta gotta be down
Because I want it all
It started out with a kiss
How did it end up like this
It was only a kiss, it was only a kiss
Now I’m falling asleep
And she’s calling a cab
While he’s having a smoke
And she’s taking a drag
Now they’re going to bed
And my stomach is sick
And it’s all in my head
But she’s touching his chest
Now, he takes off her dress
Now, letting me go

I just can’t look its killing me
And taking control
Jealousy, turning saints into the sea
Swimming through sick lullabies
Choking on your alibis
But it’s just the price I pay
Destiny is calling me
Open up my eager eyes
Cause I’m Mr Brightside

I’m coming out of my cage
And I’ve been doing just fine
Gotta gotta be down
Because I want it all
It started out with a kiss
How did it end up like this
It was only a kiss, it was only a kiss
Now I’m falling asleep
And she’s calling a cab
While he’s having a smoke
And she’s taking a drag
Now they’re going to bed
And my stomach is sick
And it’s all in my head
But she’s touching his chest
Now, he takes off her dress
Now, letting me go

‘Cause I just can’t look its killing me
And taking control
Jealousy, turning saints into the sea
Swimming through sick lullabies
Choking on your alibi
But it’s just the price I pay
Destiny is calling me
Open up my eager eyes
‘Cause I’m Mr Brightside
I never
I never
I never
I never

About the Author:

4838933

New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal and international bestselling author Samantha Towle began her first novel in 2008 while on maternity leave. She completed the manuscript five months later and hasn’t stopped writing since.

She has written contemporary romances, THE MIGHTY STORM, WETHERING THE STORM, TAMING THE STORM, REVVED, REVIVED and TROUBLE.

She has also written paranormal romances, THE BRINGER and the ALEXANDRA JONES SERIES, all penned to tunes of The Killers, Kings of Leon, Adele, The Doors, Oasis, Fleetwood Mac, and more of her favourite musicians.

A native of Hull and a graduate of Salford University, she lives with her husband, Craig, in East Yorkshire with their son and daughter.

You can find Samantha at –

Facebook: Books by Samantha Towle – https://www.facebook.com/pages/Books-…

Twitter: samtowlewrites

Website: http://www.samanthatowle.co.uk/

Leave a Reply

