BOOK REVIEW: King & Tyrant by TM Frazier

Book one and two in the King series.

King:

Homeless. Hungry. Desperate. Doe has no memories of who she is or where she comes from. A notorious career criminal just released from prison, King is someone you don’t want to cross unless you’re prepared to pay him back in blood, sweat, sex or a combination of all three. King’s future hangs in the balance. Doe’s is written in her past. When they come crashing together, they will have to learn that sometimes in order to hold on, you have to first let go.

Tyrant:

I. Remember. Everything. But the relief I thought I would feel never comes, and I’m more afraid now than I was the morning I woke up handcuffed in King’s bed. Because with the truth comes dark secrets I was never meant to know. I will put the lives of those I love most at risk if I let on that my memory has returned, or if I seek help from the heavily tattooed felon who owns me body and soul. I don’t know if I’m strong enough to resist the magnetic pull toward King that grows stronger every day. He’s already saved me in more ways than one. Now it’s my turn to do whatever it takes to save him. Even if that means marrying someone else…

FullSizeRender (1)

After reading King and Tyrant, I feel like I just watched an action packed movie—explosives, gunfights, blood bath, crazy hot sex and all!!! Doe and King’s love story had it all. The book gave us a great introduction to who Brentley King was and how his ugly childhood shaped him to become THE King. I really liked that the author started off the book this way because it held my interest from the get go and by adding on a sidekick like Preppy and Bear, she really gave us a great trio of characters to start off what would be one of the most interesting, yet bizarre stories I’ve read all year.

King was definitely one enigmatic man. Though in the years that he’d become this monster who had absolutely no regard or guilt over taking someone’s life, his own world is suddenly turned upside down when he becomes wildly obsessed with Doe from the very moment he lays his eyes on her. An instant connection, a love at first sight if you will. And though their love story is weirdly unconventional to say the least, I really did enjoy the ride. The fighting back and forth, the yelling and kicking which would then turn into passionate, rough sex—well, that had my lady bits buzzing. Thank you very much! And while Doe begins to fall in love with King, the loss of her own memory is still a huge weight on her shoulders. Not knowing where she came from and who she is, I felt bad for her especially when she starts feeling guilty about the choices she’s been making. Their story was full of secrets and violence and it kept me on my toes. I wanted to find out who Doe really was and I wanted to see how King’s and Doe’s relationship would unfold as well.

King and Tyrant were action packed with tons of twists and turns that will both shock you and make your stomach uneasy. I mean, some of the scenes in this book were out of control and definitely not one for the faint of heart. Though the dialogue was a bit rough for me, this book did take me on quite a ride. There were a whole lot of romance alongside hints of heartwarming and comedic elements in a world full of drugs, murder, and deceit. Like I said in the beginning, these books were so bizarre, I still don’t really know how I felt about these books. Either way, I was entirely entertained  the whole way through and I’m sure you will be too.

We Like It Big Tunes:

I am colorblind
Coffee black and egg white
Pull me out from inside
I am ready, I am ready, I am ready,
I am taffy stuck and tongue tied
Stutter shook and uptight
Pull me out from inside
I am ready, I am ready, I am ready,
I am fine

I am covered in skin
No one gets to come in
Pull me out from inside
I am folded and unfolded and unfolding
I am colorblind
Coffee black and egg white
Pull me out from inside
I am ready, I am ready, I am ready,
I am fine
I am fine
I am fine

About the Author:

5769238

T.M. Frazier resides in sunny Southwest Florida with her husband and baby girl.

In the third grade she wrote her very first story about a lost hamster. It earned rave reviews from both her teacher and her parents although her spelling could have (and could still) use some help.

It only took her twenty years to start the next book.

The Dark Light of Day was her debut novel.

She LOVES talking books with her readers.

www.facebook.com/TMFrazierBooks

Leave a Reply

