BOOK REVIEW: Appealed by Emma Chase

IMG_5786

Synopsis:

When Brent Mason looks at Kennedy Randolph, he doesn’t see the awkward, sweet girl who grew up next door. He sees a self-assured, stunning woman…who wants to crush the most intimate – and prized – parts of his anatomy beneath the heels of her Christian Louboutins.

Brent has never let the loss of his leg in a childhood accident affect his ability to lead a fulfilling life. He sets high goals–and then he reaches them.

And now he has his sights set on Kennedy.
**
When Kennedy looks at Brent Mason, all she sees is the selfish, Abercrombie & Fitch catalogue-worthy teenager who humiliated her in high school to join the popular crowd. A crowd that made those years a living hell.

She’s not a lovesick social outcast anymore – she’s a DC prosecutor with a long winning streak behind her. Brent is the opposing attorney in her next case and she thinks it’s time to put him through a little hell of his own.

But things aren’t exactly working out that way.

Because every fiery exchange has her wondering if he’s as passionate in the bedroom as he is in the courtroom. Each argument and objection only makes him want her more. In the end, Brent and Kennedy may just find themselves in love…or in contempt of court.

FullSizeRender (1)

I’ve absolutely loved reading Emma Chase’s Legal Briefs series. From Stanton and Sofia’s tawdry friends with benefits to becoming forever lovers story to Jake’s and Chelsea’s charmingly sexy love at first sight plot line—the author had my full attention from the very beginning. I knew that Brent’s story would be just as great.

I love, love the direction that she took for Brent’s story line and the heroine she concocted to match Brent’s confident persona. A sort of second chance love story with a dose of unrequited love caused by misinterpreted emotions in their younger years. We see a whole lot of flashbacks from Brent and Kennedy’s past. Digging into the days they were in diapers to their years in boarding school. Seeing both Kennedy and Brent in their younger years afforded me a chance to feel like I really knew the characters. These flashbacks were their defining years, shaping them as the individuals we see today and seeing their past was also crucial to understanding why their present relationship is where it’s at. Kennedy charmed the hell out of me; I loved how comfortable with who she was in her younger years even with her mother constantly berating her about her style and even when the “mean girls” came into the picture. She did “her” and she stood by herself with her head high focused on doing what she was comfortable with. The best part is? Brent loved Kennedy just as she was too. Now, unlike our heroine, Brent grew up to be Mr. Popular with looks that could disarm the opposite gender, he never let his own tragedy of losing a limb overshadow his life. A hero with a prosthetic leg who could talk the talk and walk the walk even better than most; so dang hot! I thought this made them the perfect match for one another.

Alas, because life is cruel and well, because we need some sort of fan-fare in the plot line, the mean girls… one in particular sets her sights out to stick it to Kennedy right on the jugular. This ensues a whirlwind of life altering decisions which would ultimately separate Brent and Kennedy for years. The best part about these sorts of “twist of fate” plots is the reunion. Oh gosh, those are always the best—in movies, in books, in real life. And the reunion between these two is something that Emma Chase does so wonderfully. Filled with tons of the most witty and laugh out loud dialogues and scenarios, Brent finds himself face to face with a completely different Kennedy. Outfitted in the most dressed to kill looks and with a new sense of bravado, she once again disarms him. The ways in which he tries to woo her back is magnificent. I was smiling the entire time, gushing over all the romantic antics Brent comes up with. Even with all of the romance that he throws at Kennedy, she really makes him work for it and that was definitely fun to read.

Appealed was the perfect title for this book. At Kennedy’s mercy, Brent pleads his case through the most swoon-worthy acts in hopes that she gives him and their love a second chance with the utmost knowledge that this is the most worthwhile and life changing fight he’ll ever have outside of the courtroom. I loved Brent and Kennedy’s story and this entire series is an absolute must read.

About the Author:

71Cmdb2AD0L._UX250_

By day, Emma Chase is a devoted wife and mother of two who resides in a small, rural town in New Jersey. By night she is a keyboard crusader, toiling away the hours to bring her colorful characters and their endless antics to life. She has a long standing love/hate relationship with caffeine.

Emma is an avid reader. Before her children were born she was known to consume whole books in a single day. Writing has also always been a passion and with the 2013 release of her debut romantic comedy, Tangled, the ability to now call herself an author is nothing less than a dream come true.

We Like It Big Tunes:

Jason Mraz & Colbie Caillat– Lucky

Do you hear me,
I’m talking to you
Across the water across the deep blue ocean
Under the open sky, oh my, baby I’m trying
Boy I hear you in my dreams
I feel your whisper across the sea
I keep you with me in my heart
You make it easier when life gets hard

[Chorus]
I’m lucky I’m in love with my best friend
Lucky to have been where I have been
Lucky to be coming home again

Oh oh oh oh oh oh oh oh

They don’t know how long it takes
Waiting for a love like this
Every time we say goodbye
I wish we had one more kiss
I’ll wait for you I promise you, I will

[Chorus]

Lucky we’re in love in every way
Lucky to have stayed where we have stayed
Lucky to be coming home someday

And so I’m sailing through the sea
To an island where we’ll meet
You’ll hear the music fill the air
I’ll put a flower in your hair
Though the breezes through the trees
Move so pretty you’re all I see
As the world keeps spinning round
You hold me right here right now

[Chorus]

I’m lucky we’re in love in every way
Lucky to have stayed where we have stayed
Lucky to be coming home someday

Oh oh oh oh oh oh oh oh
Oh oh oh oh oh oh oh oh

Leave a Reply

