Something in the Way He Needs (Family #1), Strong Enough (Family #2), More Than Everything (Family #3), The Half of Us (Family #4) by Cardeno C. Reviews

FullSizeRender-2

27212266

A Book in the Family Collection

Controlled Asher didn’t expect to fall for free-spirited Daniel, but they’ll find what they desperately need in one another.

Police captain Asher Penaz’s staunch professionalism bleeds into his home life, down to his neatly pressed attire and spartan apartment. He enjoys being in charge and in control, so his sudden and powerful attraction to the lighthearted, free-spirited Daniel Tover throws him for a loop. In his entire life, Daniel has never gotten what he needs, so he moves to the next place, the next job, the next attempt to find something worth staying for, always landing at the top of his game, but never feeling like he belongs.

The chemistry between Asher and Daniel sizzles, but with all that fire comes the risk of getting burned. As both men struggle to learn themselves while getting to know each other, the lines of desire and control blur. If Daniel and Asher can walk through the flames together, they might find what they desperately need.

IMG_1086

3 stars

This was interesting book. I’m just going to dive right into my review.

Asher was a hard guy to like. I had a love hate relationship with him. He was so up and down.
When he lost it… He really lost it.
There was no middle with him. No slow build up…. He would just think the worst then after when he would calmed down. He would say that he over reacted. Like that’s an excuse to be that way.
I didn’t really feel bad for him.
What I did love about him was how sure he was when he met Daniel. And I loved how he just changed his ways for him too.

Daniel was an ok guy. I felt like he was a little lost puppy at times. Always looking for someone to be there for him. I really did care for how clumsy he was. Or how he was always “getting distracted” And never ate. To me… It felt like he had an eating disorder.

This book reminded me a little of Daddy/little play. But instead of just playing here and there. Daniel seemed to crave it more often. He liked being taking care of but at the same time he liked to take care of his lover.
He also like his Independence here and there. But totally felt comfortable submitting to Asher.

The sex scenes between Asher and Daniel were really hot! I loved it. I wish Daniel would have taken more initiative in that department towards Asher. I love when both partners take turns with topping.

I’m not going to lie… I was not feeling he whole concert scene. I thought it didn’t work in this story. It just seems so far out there. I just wasn’t feeling it.
I also wasn’t feeling Ash & Daniel’s scene after the concert. It was hard for me to get into.

I’m glad it ended the way it did. They both brought out the best in each other.

*ARC provided by author for a honest review*

27212293

When a casual hookup turns into the potential for love, staid Spencer realizes he wants to build a life with vibrant Emilio.

When twenty-two-year-old Emilio Sanchez sees handsome Spencer Derdinger walking by his construction site, Emilio makes it his goal to seduce the shy professor. Getting Spencer into bed isn’t difficult, but Emilio soon learns that earning the trust of a man deeply hurt will take time and patience. With a prize like brilliant, sweet Spencer on the line, Emilio decides he is strong enough to face the challenge.

Spencer is surprised when he’s approached by the gorgeous construction worker he’s admired from the safety of his office window. Acting spontaneously for the first time in his thirty-eight years, Spencer takes Emilio home. When the casual hookup turns into the potential for love, Spencer realizes that if he wants to build a life with Emilio, he’ll need to be strong enough to slay his personal demons and learn to trust again.

IMG_1086

3.5 Stars

This was a super quick super sweet read. I enjoyed Emilio & Spencer’s story a lot!

Emilio was young but acted much older. He knew what he wanted. He never played games. And I just loved that. I just loved Emilio’s family! They had me laughing. I loved how close they were with each other. They had no problems with Emilio being gay at all.

Spencer
I liked his character. I felt at times he could have been a little more assertive with certain things. I just wanted him to step it up a little. I know something bad happened to him a long time ago. But, I just needed a little more from him.

The instant attraction was just way to fast for me. They just had met and BOOM Emilio is already going to live with Spencer.
And even though it was fast. It worked. Do I wish a little more time past before all that…. Yes, I do. But it was ok.

The Ex coming into the picture. I just wish Spencer wasn’t so timid with him. He should have been strong with him.
I was hoping that being with Emilio would have given him enough courage to open his mouth and stand up to him.
Every time Spencer would try to talk to his ex… He was always at a lost for words. Or he just couldn’t get anything out.

I loved all the sex scenes between them! Emilio really showed Spencer how things could be between them. I think Spencer needed that from Emilio.

Other than that… I enjoyed this book.

*ARC provided by author for an honest review*

27212302

A Book in the Family Collection

Time might not heal all wounds, but with two motivated and strong-willed men on a campaign to win him back, Charlie will get more than he ever thought possible.

As a teenager, Charlie “Chase” Rhodes meets Scott Boone and falls head over heels in love with the popular, athletic boy next door. Charlie thinks he’s living the dream when Scott says he feels the same way. But his dreams are dashed when Scott unexpectedly moves away.

Years later, Charlie meets brash and confident Adan Navarro, who claims all he wants is a round between the sheets. After eight months together, Charlie is convinced Adan returns his love. But when the opportunity comes to be open about their relationship, Adan walks away.

Time passes and life moves on, but when Charlie learns the only two men he’s ever loved are now in love with each other, his heart breaks all over again. Scott and Adan tell Charlie they want him back, but Charlie doesn’t know if he can trust two people who have hurt him so deeply. Time might not heal all wounds, but with two motivated and strong-willed men on a campaign to win him back, Charlie will get more than he ever thought possible.

IMG_1086

1.5- 2 stars

Ughhh… I feel so bad about not liking this book! I’ve been a big fan of Cardeno’s books. I’ve read a lot of them. But I just couldn’t see past certain things in this book.
But, just because I didn’t care for this one…. Doesn’t mean I’ll never read any of his books again.
Nope… I’m A lifetime fan! (I’ve read 16 of her books already!!)

This book was just really hard for me to read. I loved the beginning of the book. But it pretty much went down hill for me when Adan came into the picture.
After that… It was hard to fully enjoy the book. Because… I just didn’t want the main characters to be together!

I’ll just jump right into my review.

I loved loved loved Scott and Charlie’s beginning! Omg…. It was just everything. I had butterflies in my stomach, I felt all the excitement of their first’s every things. I just loved it. I loved how they just came together.
The relationship at the end broke my heart. How it all ended between them. I felt like crying. I felt Charlie’s pain! First loves are always the hardest to get over.

I really wasn’t feeling Adan. I wasn’t feeling how they met. And I wasn’t feeling how Adan acted towards Chase. The things he would say. “Case Rhodes was fruity and Flamey and Flamboyant”. That wasn’t even the worst of it!

And…. I probably wouldn’t think anything about it… But since I already couldn’t stand him from the beginning. I just felt like he thought he was better than him & he only wanted him for one thing.
I mean… He was thinking of Chase as a trick… Not a person! Just someone he can have sex with!

Ughhhh… No thank you!

I seriously wanted to skim his parts. Everything that came out of his mouth was just getting me angrier and angrier.

Then reading the next part of the story. Where Scott and Adan are together.
I’m sorry… I was not feeling it at all. I actually hated it. I can understand Scott. They were young when they broke up. They drifted apart.
But Adan…. No. He had no redeeming quality to him at all. And the fact that they are together now…
Is just like a slap to the face.

When Scott and Adan started to describe their relationship…
Omg… It sounded like they needed a bottom for their relationship. It seemed Scott & Adan bottomed here and there. But, didn’t really enjoy it. They just did it when they wanted to be inside each other.
So right away I saw Charlie as their solution. Towards the end of the book… That’s really what it felt like.
I wasn’t buying how happy Charlie was to be with two tops.
or maybe he was happy and it just bugged me….lol
Oh man….
I was not feeling it at all!

And right from the start…. Both Adan and Scott wanted to jump right into something with Charlie!
I mean… It’s been 5 years! And they just saw each other that day & they want Charlie back.
Adan’s apology didn’t do anything for me. He had said and did too much to forgive.

I truly feel Charlie should have ended up with someone else. And just be friends with Adan and Scott.
I truly wasn’t feeling Scott or Adan for Charlie at all.

So 67% in… I checked out.
When Scott and Adan bought the house… I was so annoyed. Why couldn’t they have included Charlie in the whole process. Make him feel like an equal in the relationship. It just felt like they have the money… They make the decisions.

To be honest…. I wish it was only Scott & Charlie getting back together. Adan brought nothing to the relationship in my book. He was rude, and obnoxious. And Scott should have broken up with him once he found out how he acted and treated Charlie when they were together.

I’m sorry but this book was a miss for me.

*ARC provided by author for an honest review*

27212317

If short-tempered Jason can open his heart and life to optimistic Abe, he might finally find the family he craves.

Short-tempered, arrogant heart surgeon Jason Garcia grew up wanting a close-knit family, but believes he ruined those dreams when he broke up his marriage. The benefit of divorce is having as much random sex as he wants, and it’s a benefit Jason is exploiting when he meets a sweet, shy man at a bar and convinces him to go home for a no-strings-attached night of fun.

Eight years living in Las Vegas hasn’t dimmed Abe Green’s optimism, earnestness, or desire to find the one. When a sexy man with lonely eyes propositions him, Abe decides to give himself a birthday present—one night of spontaneous fun with no thoughts of the future. But one night turns into two and then three, and Abe realizes his heart is involved.

For the first time, Abe feels safe enough with someone he respects and adores to let go of his inhibitions in the bedroom. If Jason can get past his own inhibitions and open his heart and his life to Abe, he might finally find the family he craves.

IMG_1086

4 STARS

This book was an ok read for me. I have not read the previous books in this series… This was the 1st book I’ve read from it… and not once did I feel lost in anyway. I truly felt connected with all the characters in this book.

I liked Abe’s character. I thought maybe he was a little too passive with certain things that went on in this book. He was a doormat… When it came to Jason’s tantrums. But I felt he could have done a little better with telling Jason how he really felt. He kept a lot of things bottled up.
I mean… They went months seeing each other. & Abe didn’t even know where he lived! He was never invited to Jason’s house! And not once did Abe feel the need to say anything. He didn’t want to rock the boat when it came to Jason. Sex was differently 1st in their relationship. Which I think it’s good…to a certain point! You need to talk about things and not let it go..or cover it up with sex.

I wasn’t feeling Jason at all. He had this messed up attitude. It was always his way or no way. I just couldn’t get into.
Yes… He was simi ok… But only after he has his tantrum. And all problems were usually solved with sex…

Jason is grown man… With a powerful job! He should not be acting like that.
But… Abe balanced Jason. They had a good relationship for the most part. The sex was pretty hot! And I loved the dirty talk!! And I loved Jason’s relationship with his ex-wife.

Overall… I liked this story but… I didn’t love it.
But…I do want to read the other books in this series.

*ARC Provided by author for an honest review*

4620386

Cardeno C.—CC to friends—is a hopeless romantic who wants to add a lot of happiness and a few awwws into a reader’s day. Writing is a nice break from real life as a corporate type and volunteer work with gay rights organizations. Cardeno’s stories range from sweet to intense, contemporary to paranormal, long to short, but they always include strong relationships and walks into the happily-ever-after sunset.

AUTHOR LINKS

email: cardenoc@gmail.com

Website: www.cardenoc.com

Blog: (Shared Blog) http://caferisque.blogspot.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/CardenoC

FB Profile: http://www.facebook.com/CardenoC

FB Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/CardenoC/

Leave a Reply

