BOOK REVIEW: November 9 by Colleen Hoover

IMG_5529

Beloved #1 New York Times bestselling author Colleen Hoover returns with an unforgettable love story between a writer and his unexpected muse.

Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date every year. Until one day Fallon becomes unsure if Ben has been telling her the truth or fabricating a perfect reality for the sake of the ultimate plot twist.

Melanie’s 4-star review:

FullSizeRender

November 9 is officially a date that I both love and hate at the same time. Colleen Hoover has done it, she’s driven me into the looney bin. I have been looking forward to reading Fallon and Ben’s story; stalking my mailbox days even before the November 10th release date in hopes that Amazon felt extra kind this year and would deliver a few days earlier than schedule. If you’re curious, no they didn’t but they did have it in my mailbox on that Tuesday, the 10th of November and it was on Saturday, the 14th of November that I officially loved and hated a book all at the same time. These conflicting feelings are so crazy annoying, that I had to wait a few days to finally sit and write this review… So here it goes—

I adored this book. Plainly. Simply. Ben and Fallon are an incredible set of characters with a story worth staying hours and hours past your bedtime. Colleen Hoover being the architect and mastermind behind this love story, makes the red rimmed and stingy eyes well worth it. I loved how involved Fallon and Ben’s story is given the fact that we are only getting less than 24 hours of it at a time. Never have such short moments meant something so deeply. It was a vortex, I was sucked into, without any chance of being spit back out. Never have I experienced anything like it before. How those few hours between them surmount to so much more than years and years some characters have with one another. Their connection was an abyss—so deep and so profound. And there was a moment when I was drowning so deep in the story that when my 5 year old son (who is by the way, the sweetest in the world) asked me to help him write his letter to Santa and all I wanted to do was yell back in frustration that…. —– SPOILER ALERT—- “Oliver! Santa isn’t real so no… NO! Mommy will NOT put down this book to help you write that letter!” Yes, I hang my head in shame; unable to believe I would think such a thought. I mean, I’ve been a pretty good mom for his 5 years… surely 1 slip up wouldn’t warrant him to despise me in his years to come right? Oh, Miss Hoover how you turn people into something so vicious!

So it may have taken Fallon 4 years and 4 pages…. But it took me less than 1 day and 320 pages to fall in love with every word, every page, every… thing. It also took just 1 ULTIMATE plot twist to make me cry out in disbelief and disappointment . I felt wild about it. I kept trying to justify it, I tried to look at every angle, going so far as putting myself in the characters shoes… But for the love of me, I just couldn’t be OK with it and I think Colleen Hoover is incredibly brilliant to be able to drive her readers to this point by taking such a risk. By hoping that the depth of Fallon and Ben’s story could make up for that plot twist; for her readers to be able to look past such a painful curveball to the gut. I wish, that I could unread those pages and to have just continued on believing it never happened. I will go with the “ignorance is bliss,” route here. As much of a literary masochist as I am, for some unfathomable reason, I couldn’t find it in me to look past it. So for the sake of it all, there was no plot twist. Nope… never happened.

November 9 is most definitely my first LOVE/hate relationship with a book—LOVE in all CAPS because that stood out to me a whole lot more than the hate part. Damn you, Colleen Hoover for being brilliant! Damn you for bringing me to my knees, clutching my wine glass looking like a madwoman in front of my husband, and almost having me ruin the spirit of Santa Clause for my only child. And even with all of that… You, Colleen Hoover not only rock my world but shake it like a Polaroid picture too.

We Like It Big Tunes:

Boom Clap- Charlie XCX

About the Author:

12042677_1164385280241738_7274748782923175908_n

Colleen Hoover is the author of ten New York Times bestselling novels. She self-published her first novel, SLAMMED, in 2012. Five months later it debuted on The New York Times. Colleen has since signed with Atria Books, a division of Simon & Schuster. Her next novel, November 9, is scheduled to release in November, 2015.

Ugly Love, a novel she released in August, 2014, is currently in pre-production with Hackybox Pictures and is slated to release in 2016.

You can follow Colleen on Instagram and Twitter @colleenhoover. You can also find her on her blog at http://www.colleenhoover.com or on her very active Facebook page at http://www.facebook.com/authorcolleenhoover

Leave a Reply

