BOOK REVIEW: Beloved & Beholden (The Belonging Duet) by Corinne Michaels

IMG_5530

Blurb:

The Bestselling Belonging Duet Boxset includes both books as well as Bonus Material available only in this set!

Catherine Pope had her happily ever after in sight, only to have it ripped away. To ensure it doesn’t happen again, she constructs impenetrable walls around her heart. When Jackson Cole turns her world upside down, she’ll have to fight every fear she has. Jackson pushes her, gives her hope, and terrifies her.

His training as a Navy SEAL never prepared him for the battle to win her heart, but he’s determined to claim her. However, Jackson isn’t without his own demons. If she lets him in and he destroys her … can she survive?

Together they must decide if they are each other’s beloved or if they’re beholden to their fears.

Melanie’s 5-Star Review:

FullSizeRender (1)

I’ve got myself a new book husband and his name is Jackson Cole!!! Wahoooo!!! Seriously, you guys… Jackson Cole in Corinne Michael’s Belonging Duet is per-fec-friggen-tion. He was perfection to the tee. I picked up Beloved late on a Sunday night looking for something to pass the time before heading off to bed, something that I thought would help tire out my eyes and allow me a nice sleep-filled night. What I didn’t anticipate was instead staying up way too late because Catherine and Jackson just wouldn’t let me go. I kept at it, I read and I read until I had to berate myself of the fact that I had to be up early the next day for work. I dreamed of a gorgeous, blue/green eyed man with sinewy muscles flexing, caging me in against a wall… *fans self* Even in REM, Jackson Cole wouldn’t leave me alone.. Or I wouldn’t leave him alone.. Doesn’t really matter. Point being, I could not get that delicious Muffin off my mind.

What’s funny is that I had Beloved on my Kindle even before I started Consolation and Conviction (the spinoff of this duet) and FLOVED them both—those books made my heart beat like a drum being relentlessly pounded on; but Beloved and Beholden made my heart go berserk for totally different reasons. The best kind of reasons. The connection between Catherine and Jackson was instantaneous and what I loved about it the most was that it was also so unexpected. Both fighting the idea of falling in love again after both being hurt in different ways, they gather all of their bravado (Catherine especially) trying to fight the electrifying feelings bouncing between one another for each other. As with all of the best love stories, fate supersedes everything. Just like in Beloved, it steps right in and forces Catherine and Jackson to have to become permanent fixtures in each other’s lives. It’s when my book-hubby finally takes the bull by its horn and tirelessly pursues Catherine that she takes that leap of faith. And it’s when they come together that the real fun begins. It’s safe to say that I was addicted to their love. Not only were there lots of LOL moments but there were some really sexy and sensual “hottie tottie” scenes between them that just drove me right off the cliff. Each one had me reach the pinnacle and I was dangerously falling into a euphoric, endorphin induced coma. Not only did Jackson’s naughty and dirty mouth set me off like a rocket, but what I really loved and what I have to give praise the author for was that she was able to pour the depth of their emotions for one another in these intimate moments. It went far beyond the droned out, atypical love scenes. I could have read a certain part (hello, shoulder bite) over and over again and it would have been worth the time and the money I’d spent on both books. It was intense and it was beautiful.

The trepidation and the fear that both Catherine and Jackson felt elevated the sense of fulfillment I felt at the end of the book. It’s a gift to literary masochists like me when two endearing and unforgettable characters get their happy ending after all the drama and the angst that had driven the majority of their story. The intensity of what Jackson felt for Catherine filled me so full I was weighed down, unable to move an inch away from their love story. It is why he is didn’t make it to my ever growing list of book boyfriends but instead took his place in my very exclusive and short list of book husbands (considering how many romance novels I read a week) — “Hello Christian Grey, Braden Carmichael, Jake Wethers, Ridge Lawson, Landon Christianson, Jared Holt, and Travis Maddox… I’d like you all to meet Jackson Cole…” ;D

I cannot, CANNOT tell you enough how much I loved this book. Both Beloved and Beholden are on my top reads to date and definitely book shelf worthy approved. Make sure you don’t miss out on your chance to meet Jackson Cole—100% perfection.

Ps. The Epilogue! Holy cow was that Kristen Ashley worthy!!! It was just everything!

We Like It Big Graphic:

IMG_5535

We Like It Big Tunes:

My Beloved- Bradford Loomis

About the Author:

corinne michaels

Corinne Michaels is the USA Today and Wall Street Journal Bestselling author of The Salvation Series (Beloved, Beholden, Consolation and Conviction). She’s an emotional, witty, sarcastic, and fun loving mom of two beautiful children. Corinne is happily married to the man of her dreams and is a former Navy wife. After spending months away from her husband while he was deployed, reading and writing was her escape from the loneliness.

Both her maternal and paternal grandmothers were librarians, which only intensified her love of reading. After years of writing short stories, she couldn’t ignore the call to finish her debut novel, Beloved. Her alpha Navy SEALs are broken, beautiful, and will steal your heart.

Contact Corinne

 Website: http://www.corinnemichaels.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/CorinneMichaels

Instagram: http://instagram.com/authorcorinnemichaels

Twitter: https://twitter.com/AuthorCMichaels

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7753662

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/corinnemichaels/

Leave a Reply

