BOOK REVIEW: When I Was Yours by Samantha Towle

IMG_5451

“Marry me.”
“What?” I stared back at him, unblinking.
He moved closer, taking my face in his hands. “I love you, Evie. I look into the future, and the only thing I see clearly is you. Marry me.”

What’s an eighteen-year-old girl who was madly in love with her nineteen-year-old boyfriend say?

Of course, I said yes.

Twenty-four hours later, I married Adam Gunner at a Vegas chapel to the sounds of “Livin’ on a Prayer” by Bon Jovi. Not the best omen. I get that now.

Then, exactly one week later, I left him. I walked out, leaving behind my wedding ring, annulment papers, and my heart, and he never knew why.

I haven’t seen him since. Not in ten long years.

Now, he’s here, standing before me. Looking at me with nothing but hurt and hatred in his eyes, he wants answers.

Answers I can’t give.

FullSizeRender (1)

Adam and Evie’s story had to have the sweetest, cutest first time meeting I’ve ever read. In the first few pages of the book, the author sets up the intense connection that Adam felt for Evie and because of that I felt like he deserved his chance with her. So when they finally meet, it was as if his whole world had really changed for the better. It’s what I loved most about their story—the vigor of their need and love for one another so terrifyingly powerful I as a reader could almost feel the vibrations bouncing off the pages of the book.

Adam adored the hell out of Evie; it was loud and it was clear as crystal. There was never,  not even for a nanosecond of doubt that clouded his loyalty and his love for her. Though Evie was a lot more subdued in some ways, the depth of her love for him was just as strong. I think what made it so different for the both of them was that Adam’s whole world revolved around Evie and Evie alone. Born and raised to parents who were the farthest from being one, he was essentially ignored and used in the most heartbreaking ways. I thought it showed such strength in his character not to only to be able to express his love for Evie but to actually be able to understand what true love was even from someone like him who’d never had an ounce of it growing up. Evie however, had her dad and little sister whom she loved deeply. Meeting Adam added more meaning, more love, creating an overflowing amount of goodness into her life. Things were beyond perfect for the both of them. Living their days on the beach, with their arms constantly around one another, it was smooth sailing and I so very much enjoyed every moment of it with them as well. But of course, the proverbial other shoe had to drop sometime and when it did, there’s an endless amount of heart ache and loss.

I will admit that I had expected a ton more worth of angst. I was waiting for that crazy, confounding set of emotions to overtake me. And there were sparks of it here and there during a few scenes. Hints of that promise during some vital moments in the book but I couldn’t really pin point an exact time where I just “lost it all” because of the emotional turmoil happening between two amazing characters. But what did me in, in the best sort of way was the love that existed between Evie and Adam. Their story is the definition of true, infinite love. The kind that time or tragedy could not diminish in the slightest. That’s what When I Was Yours is all about and that’s what made me fall madly in love with the book. This was another satisfying second chance romance to add to my ever growing must read list.

We Like It Big Tunes:

Hello- Adele

Buy Links:

Amazon US: http://amzn.to/20NzVDR

Amazon UK: http://goo.gl/CH8hTA
Amazon AU: http://goo.gl/jk8JMQ
Amazon CA: http://goo.gl/16q1Zo
iBooks US: https://goo.gl/pTpW3I
iBooks UK: https://goo.gl/88nT2O
Kobo: https://goo.gl/0jlM74
B&N: http://goo.gl/Lz9zGn

About the Author:

bio_01

Samantha Towle began her first novel in 2008 while on maternity leave. She completed the manuscript five months later and hasn’t stopped writing since.

She is the author of The Mighty Storm, The Bringer and the Alexandra Jones series, all penned to tunes of The Killers, Kings of Leon, Adele, The Doors, Oasis, Fleetwood Mac, and more of her favourite musicians.

A native of Hull and a graduate of Salford University, she lives with her husband, Craig, in East Yorkshire with their son and daughter.

To get in touch with me, email: info@samanthatowle.com

– See more at: http://www.samanthatowle.co.uk/bio#sthash.T6DssPfb.dpuf

Leave a Reply

