BLOG TOUR & BOOK REVIEW: The Play by Karina Halle

IMG_5397

The Play is a STANDALONE, CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE comprising of two books in one, totaling 150,000 words. $1 from all preorders and release week sales will be donated to a range of animal charities.

A troubled Scottish rugby player who doesn’t play by the rules.

A vivacious man-eater who’s given up on love.

When it comes to Lachlan and Kayla, opposites don’t just attract – they explode.

From the New York Times, Wall Street Journal and USA Today Bestselling author of The Pact and The Offer, comes The Play, a standalone spinoff and contemporary romance about taking chances and rescuing hearts.

Kayla Moore has always been comfortable with her feisty, maneating reputation. At least it was fine until she hit her thirties and saw her best friends Stephanie and Nicola settle down with Linden and Bram McGregor, leaving Kayla to be the odd one out. Tired of being the third wheel with nothing but one-night stands and dead-end dates in San Francisco, Kayla decides to take a vow of celibacy and put men on the backburner.

That is until she lays her eyes on Linden and Bram’s cousin, hot Scot Lachlan McGregor. Lachlan is her sexual fantasy come to life – tall, tatted, and built like a Mack truck. With a steely gaze and successful rugby career back in Edinburgh, he’s the kind of man that makes her want to throw her vow right out the window. But Lachlan’s quiet and intense demeanor makes him a hard man to get to know, let alone get close to.

It isn’t until the two of them are thrown together one long, unforgettable night that Kayla realizes there is so much more to this brooding macho man than what meets the eye. But even with sparks flying between the two, Lachlan can’t stay in America forever. Now, Kayla has to decide whether to uproot her whole life and chance it all on someone she barely knows or risk getting burned once again.

Sometimes love is a game that just needs to be played.

**The Play features a brooding, hot as sin Scottish rugby player with a soft spot for rescuing dogs. Because of this, there is a SPECIAL PREORDER AND RELEASE DAY CHARITY RUN for this book: $1 from all profits from the release day and pre-orders of The Play will be donated to Best Friends Animal Society, Battersea Dogs & Cats, Bad Rap, ASPCA and other animal charities that focus on rescues, adoption and fostering for dogs and cats.

The Play contains profanity and sexually explicit contact – reader discretion is advised. This is not new adult.**

FullSizeRender (41)

Oh goodness, The Play by Karina Halle was so unbelievably good! The start of the book alone had my heart squeezing mercilessly and I knew that Kayla and Lachlan’s story was going to play out differently than the two previous books in the series. With that, I have to say that this was undoubtedly my favorite of them all. Karina took their story on a whole new level. The Play is filled with heavy topics which greatly affected me. In turn, it made me a whole lot more invested in both Kayla and Lachlan. Not only does the author highlight the importance of family in this book, but she also amps up on the hotness factor. Holy smokes, you guys, the chemistry between Kayla and Lachlan was off the charts. Seriously, off the charts sexy! Some of the “hottie tottie” scenes in this book so thigh clenchingly delicious.

I do have to confess that I felt major trepidation about Kayla and Lachlan’s story and if you’ve read the first two books in this series, I’m sure you share some of my hesitation. I was unsure whether I could get past Kayla and Linden’s history and I felt that she was a bit of an ice queen in the first couple of books, but damn, let me tell you, the author totally made me eat my words. She’d set me up expecting the same Kayla and I was tippy toeing during the first couple of chapters afraid that I wouldn’t connect with her. But Kayla Moore is misunderstood; she is so much more than the woman we see in The Pact and The Offer. She’s come out on top for me. I’d initially thought she was lacking any heart but it turns out that Kayla Moore is a stunning heroine who is ALL heart. The love she has for her mom, oh goodness! The mother/daughter relationship between her and her mom just brought me to my knees. I loved how much she cared for her mom and how much love she had for her. I felt like Kayla shared so much of herself in this book through the relationship she had with her mom.

Lachlan McGregor; the roguish, powerful yet broken man disarmed me. His dark past that continue to haunt him and the ways in which it affects him was just so heart breaking. He hides behind the pain and continues to battle so many demons. This book made me realize what a beautiful thing it is  when life provides you with relief especially when it comes in the form of a stunning woman whose heart has so much to give. Lachlan needed Kayla and Kayla needed Lachlan way before they even knew it. I swear, the most broken always seem to love the best. Lachlan’s vulnerability is so achingly beautiful. I went nuts once he’d let his walls down and allowed Kayla in because his adoration and his need for her was really something to behold. I swooned like a mad woman because let’s be honest, when a man loves a woman in and out of the bedroom like Lachlan does Kayla, hot damn it’s unbelievable.

So yes, The Play exceeded every single one of my expectations. I sobbed, I swooned, I got hot, and I discovered that not everything at first glance is what it truly is. Kayla and Lachlan’s story won’t leave me for a while. I can still feel the after effects of how their story made me feel in the past couple of days I had the pleasure of spending with them. This is a definite must read and I apologize in advance for the book hangover you’ll be left with.

Teaser:

theplayteaser1

We Like It Big Tunes:

Can’t Drink You Away- Justin Timberlake & Chris Stapleton

About the Author:

Halle Headshot

Karina Halle is a former travel writer and music journalist and The New York Times, Wall Street Journal and USA Today Bestselling author of The Pact, Love, in English, The Artists Trilogy, Dirty Angels and over 20 other wild and romantic reads. She lives on an island off the coast of British Columbia with her husband and her rescue pup, where she drinks a lot of wine, hikes a lot of trails and devours a lot of books.

Halle is represented by the Waxman Leavell Agency and is both self-published and published by Simon & Schuster and Hachette in North America and in the UK.

Hit her up on Instagram at @authorHalle, on Twitter at @MetalBlonde and on Facebook. You can also visit http://www.authorkarinahalle.com and sign up for the newsletter for news, excerpts, previews, private book signing sales and more.

Leave a Reply

