BLOG TOUR & BOOK REVIEW: Pucked Up by Helena Hunting

IMG_5194

Blurb:

Miller “Buck” Butterson has been banging his way through life ever since a puck to the face fixed his messed up front teeth, and he was drafted into the NHL during his first year of college. After five years of deflecting goals on the ice and scoring them with puck bunnies across the Continental US and parts of Canada, Miller is ready for a girlfriend. A real girlfriend of the non-bunny variety. One he takes on dates and doesn’t jump into bed with after five seconds of conversation.

Miller thinks he’s found that woman in his teammate’s sister. Except, unlike Alex Waters, center, team captain and all round nice guy—who happens to be dating his step-sister—Miller’s manwhore reputation is well earned, and not blown out of proportion by the media. Beyond that minor detail, Miller doesn’t know the first thing about having a girlfriend. But he’s determined to make it happen.

What he doesn’t take into account is the amount of time and effort relationships require, or that constantly letting bunnies take selfies with him to post all over social media isn’t going to win him any points in the boyfriend department. Miller learns—not so quickly—that if he wants to make Sunshine “Sunny” Waters fall for him, he going to have to do a whole lot more than show her his stick skills in the bedroom.

FullSizeRender (37)

Well, I most definitely embraced the Yeti. I have been so excited for this follow up book after Helena Hunting blew me away to PUCKING pieces after reading Pucked. I was curious to get to know the real Miller aka Buck and I thought that Ms. Hunting gave us a great, in depth look into just who he was. Pucked Up unlike Pucked, focused a whole lot more on Miller as an individual. We got to read pages and pages of what exactly goes on in his head. His antics had me giggling and the sweeter part of him had me melting. I loved that there was so much more of who we saw in the first book and especially enjoyed his comradery with his sister Violet. Their back and forth banter had me shaking my head and laughing out loud. Violet’s unfiltered inappropriateness combined with Miller’s shamelessness was a ball of hilarious good times. #winning

Sunshine aka Sunny as you all know if you’ve read the first book of this series is Alex’s (Vi’s love interest) sister so as you can imagine, Alex who is as alpha and domineering as they come is quite over protective of his baby sister. Alex is just one of many who are skeptical about Miller’s intentions and I felt horrible for Miller. I felt like he couldn’t do anything right even when he wasn’t doing anything wrong. There were so many… I mean… Many, misconstrued scenarios in this book. Along those “it’s not what it looks like” scenarios, come a lot of running away from our heroine. Seriously, I felt like I saw more of the back of her head than anything else and my goodness did that bother me. Here was Miller so willing to change because he’s finally found “the one” and that one doesn’t seem to trust him at all. So while I fell head over heels over him, I just continued to feel frustration towards Sunny. I mean, I get it, she didn’t have anyone whom she’d been around all her life trust Miller and were feeding her negative thoughts but for the love of God… give the poor shmuck a chance!

Oh, how I wish that the romance that was brewing between Sunny and Miller was as boiling hot as it was between Alex and Violet. I will say though that when Sunny had her head on straight and not facing away, the chemistry between her and Miller was ridiculously sweet. I liked that she fell into that charming, innocent spectrum because I felt like it balanced out Miller’s “manwhoreness” so well.  I especially loved Sunny’s reactions when Miller would do something so sensational, it’d have her eyeballs rolling at the back of her head twice over.

So while I liked this book, I do wish that we had a lot more of Sunny and Miller together rather than page after page of misunderstandings and chasing each other across the border’s wilderness. I could have done with a whole lot less of Miller and his hockey buddies and whole lot more of wooing and pucking. Though my review may sound a bit whiny, I do have to say that Pucked Up is highly enjoyable (thanks to the Yeti) and Helena Hunting still rocks my socks. If you’re a fan of this author and of this series and have a love for laugh out loud rom/coms, then you’ll for sure need to pick this up.

Buy Links:

AMAZON.COM: http://amzn.to/1kBoUod

AMAZON.CA: http://amzn.to/1jE8sCR

AMAZON.CO.UK: http://amzn.to/1LcpEJe

AMAZON.AU: http://bit.ly/1OFLW8y

iTUNES: http://apple.co/1hDZF2u

NOOK: http://bit.ly/1k6Ra1T

KOBO: http://bit.ly/1RJNCxK

Other books in the series:

Pucked (book 1): http://amzn.to/1H0fFmn

About the Author:

51oVSDvMIiL._UX250_

NYT and USA Today bestselling author of PUCKED, Helena Hunting lives on the outskirts of Toronto with her incredibly tolerant family and two moderately intolerant cats. She’s writes contemporary romance ranging from new adult angst to romantic sports comedy.

Leave a Reply

