Whisper If You Need Me by Dina Silver Review

22725042

Whisper If You Need Me

Stars: 4

Reviewed by:
Michelle

Synopsis:

From bestselling author, Dina Silver, comes her first Young Adult Contemporary Romance novel.

A strong-willed yet vulnerable young beauty, Julia Pearl is sixteen years old when she’s sent away to summer camp for the first time. Julia’s father and stepmother are convinced that time away from home will be good for Julia, hoping it will restore the confidence she lost when her mother disappeared five years earlier.

Released from the emotional constraints of her new family and the ugly reputation her mother left behind, Julia finds herself reluctantly tossed into the free-spirited and often drama-infused world of overnight camp—where she quickly falls for an intensely charismatic counselor named Jack Dempsey, a nineteen-year-old college student who will prove to save her life in more ways than one.

Rich with humor and poignancy, Whisper If You Need Me is a timeless story that will remind readers of the strength of friendship, the unwavering devotion of family, and ultimately, the power of young love.

FullSizeRender

I jumped at the chance to read this book early. I love Dina’s other books.

So… I knew I was going to be reading something good!
And it was good.
But…. I felt like something was missing in the beginning of this book.

I know this is a YA book. But I needed more from Jack and Julia.
-I needed to feel the butterflies.
-I wanted to feel the falling in love.
-I wanted to feel all the stolen moments between them.
-I wanted to feel the struggle of them wanting to be together.
I really didn’t feel all that with Jack and Julia right away.
It was pretty one sided for a good chunk of the book.
A girl having a crush on a older boy really.
And when things finally did happen between them..
I just felt it was kind of rushed.
I needed them to have more moments together.
Moments besides them talking here and there… and those moments were pretty far apart.
It was just hard to feel their connection.

The first 50% of the book I just didn’t know where this story was going.

I was struggling a little bit.
I was getting mixed feelings with Jack 30% in.
-Does he like Julia?
-Is he just there to be her friend?
When they would have their talks & when he kind of singled her out. I felt like their might be something.
But then he would backpedal and would treat her like a kid?
It was just so confusing.
I had a hard time wrapping my head around it.

There was a lot of drama centering around Jack. Girls just kept throwing themselves at him.
I found that hard to believe that everyone wanted Jack that way. The thing with Liz really brought the age difference with me between Jack and Julia. Because Jack had his “moments of weakness”.
And… I just kept thinking… There should have been more moments with Julia.

I was expecting something a little different with this book. I wasn’t expecting full on sex. But what I was expecting was a little more developing between Jack & Julia. Jack was more a confidant to Julia more than anything. That’s why it felt like a one sided crush more than anything to me.
Because… Jack did talk to Julia like a counselor. Then Jack would leave. And Julia would just be there all happy to have spent time with him.

At this point….I was seriously wondering about them.

After the 50% mark. This book just took off for me. To the point where I didn’t want to put this book down! I stood up until almost 3 o’clock in the morning reading. I needed to know how it all played out in the end!
I felt everything that happened in this book was answered. Her family issues with her mom, her issues with her step-mom, all the drama with the camp girls.
All the drama that went on with Julia was all believable. I felt she let herself finally let a lot go and be more open to new experiences.

Everything between Jack and her was believable but also felt too rushed. It would have been more believable and better for me if they had spent more time together establishing a relationship.

Jack… I felt for him. Growing up the way he did…. Was really hard on him. I just can’t believe his Aunt allowed everything to go on the way it did for so many years.
Jack has a good head on his shoulders. It felt like his looks got him into so much trouble.
But in the end… He knew what he wanted and he went for it. And he stood up for himself.
I was happy about that.

Overall… Even though this book was a slow start for me… the second half of this book totally saved this book for me. And was well worth loosing sleep for!

This was a good read. I really enjoyed it.

And I will definitely read more books by this author!!

*ARC provided by author for an honest review*

5288391

About this author


A graduate of Purdue University, Dina Silver has spent the past fifteen years feeding her red wine habit by working as a copywriter in the advertising industry. After seeing the bulk of her professional prose on brochures and direct mail pieces, she is delighted to have made the transition to novelist. She currently lives with her husband and son in suburban Chicago. Additionally, she loves talking about herself in the third person.

About books I review…
I am an author, so I appreciate the value of a 5-star review. I know that those stars mean more to an author, than they do to me as the reviewer who’s doling them out. That being said, if I like a book at all, chances are I’m going to give it 5-stars. However, in the detailed description of my review is where I will attempt to explain what I actually thought of the book, so people can get a better idea of exactly how much I liked or loved it.

If I did not enjoy a book, or was unable to finish it, I simply will not review it. I have no interest in bashing anyone else’s hard work.

website

 

twitter username
Facebook
Goodreads
Leave a Reply

