BOOK REVIEW: The Air He Breathes by Brittainy Cherry

IMG_4960

Blurb:

I was warned about Tristan Cole.

“Stay away from him,” people said.
“He’s cruel.”
“He’s cold.”
“He’s damaged.”

It’s easy to judge a man because of his past. To look at Tristan and see a monster.

But I couldn’t do that. I had to accept the wreckage that lived inside of him because it also lived inside of me.

We were both empty.
We were both looking for something else. Something more.
We both wanted to put together the shattered pieces of our yesterdays.

Then perhaps we could finally remember how to breathe.

FullSizeRender (1)

It’s official. I’ve become a Brittainy Cherry fanatic and oh, with such great reason. Every single book I’ve picked up from this author have blown me away; all of which have had such different feelings associated with each story line but in the end have all given me what I chase after when reading books—a high so powerful I know that I’ve just journeyed through something incredible. That’s the magic that this author weaves. Taking different characters with their intrinsic and unique stories thereby giving us all something new to hyperventilate about.

Her latest release and #1 best seller, The Air He Breathes is no exception. She has once again taken my breath away. This book had it all! Seriously, it just touched on every possible emotion imaginable. She had me hiccupping, fighting through tears from just the first few pages and I knew, I just knew that I was in for something great. Tristan and Elizabeth and Emma – these were the trio of something great. Their story was even greater than I had anticipated. Who knew that something so incomprehensibly tragic could turn into something so inexplicably beautiful?

Tristan’s character was so well developed. The town’s recluse and a-hole who was actually much more than his bearded face and bare feet. The amount of loss he’d experienced in life was heart shattering. I cannot for even one nanosecond imagine the kind of emotional turmoil he felt and how in God’s name one would begin to accept it and move on from it. My heart ached for every memory that he’d recall and I grieved the fact that he’d only have those memories to hold on to for every day he took a breath. There was something so special about seeing his character grow and move towards the Tristan Cole he eventually becomes and everything of what he becomes has to do with Elizabeth. Oh, how Brittainy managed to create two broken, lost souls in her hero and heroine in this book, I’d never know. Inspiration from Shakespeare’s great tragedies perhaps? Like Tristan, Elizabeth suffers from immeasurable loss as well but what holds her together is her rambunctious, beautiful little girl Emma. What I loved so much about Elizabeth’s character was how much she adored and loved Emma. She was a wonderful mother and one line in the book had me pumping my fist up in the air; a sign of victory and praise for the kind of woman she was—“ She needs me. I snuggled in closer to her, kissed her forehead, and promised myself I wouldn’t fall apart anymore.” That right there, proved her strength and her courage and her selflessness. I wanted to cling to those very words hoping that if I’d ever one day come to the same point in my life, that I’d be able to pull myself back together for the sole purpose of living life for my child.

The progression of Tristan and Elizabeth’s relationship came with such varying emotions. I felt the very moment that they were able to look beyond their pasts. A tide of realization knocking the air out of their lungs from the startling sentiment of actually being able to move beyond the past and the ghosts that come alongside it. I was helpless to fall under the spell as both Tristan and Elizabeth navigated their way around the present. The fierceness behind the intimacy their shared had my own body responding, needing reprieve from the rawness of their desperation. Their need for one another so apparent that you too will find yourself falling in love. Every word uttered, every inhale taken, and every exhale released I’d understood. These feelings are what book lovers like myself long for and it’s what we chase after. It’s what Brittainy Cherry gave me in this book. It rocked my world as this author has done every single time I’ve picked up any of her published works.

The Air He Breathes is not only poignantly told but it encompassed every known emotion known to man. I cried through their heartache, I sighed and blushed through every romantic and swoon worthy moments, I laughed out loud when Elizabeth’s BFF Faye was in the mix, I wanted to reach out and ask Emma for one of her Eskimo kisses, I felt hopeful in every single minute I read this book. The message in their story is clear; we breathe for the people we love and in times of the worst possible despair, we forget to take those breaths. The air which we breathe may physiologically sustain our life, but it is love that ultimately keep us truly living life. Tristan and Elizabeth’s story is a consummate reminder of it. I cannot recommend this book and this author enough. If you’ve not had the chance to read any of her works, it’s time you discovered them and experienced them.

We Like It Big Tunes:

Wasn’t Expecting That- Jamie Lawson

About the Author:

615xZTSROxL._UX250_

Brittainy Cherry has been in love with words since the day she took her first breath. She graduated from Carroll University with a Bachelors Degree in Theatre Arts and a minor in Creative Writing. She loves to take part in writing screenplays, acting, and dancing–poorly of course. Coffee, chai tea, and wine are three things that she thinks every person should partake in! Brittainy lives in Milwaukee, Wisconsin with her family. When she’s not running a million errands and crafting stories, she’s probably playing with her adorable pets.

You can find her on facebook at: http://www.facebook.com/BrittainyCherryAuthor

Buy Link:

Amazon US- http://amzn.to/1WuJBzW

Leave a Reply

