BOOK REVIEW: Hollywood Dirt by Alessandra Torre

unnamed

Buy Link: http://amzn.to/1OD9UPT

Publication Date: September 7, 2015

unnamed (1)

Cole Masten. Abandoned by his superstar wife, Hollywood’s Perfect Husband is now Hollywood’s Sexiest Bachelor: partying hard and screwing even harder. Watch out Los Angeles, there’s a new bad boy in town.

Summer Jenkins. That’s me, a small town girl stuck in Quincy, Georgia. I cook some mean chicken and dumplins, can bluff a grown man out of his savings in poker, and was voted Most Friendly my senior year.

We were from different worlds. Our lives shouldn’t have collided. But then Cole Masten read a book about my small town. And six months later, his jet landed on our dusty airstrip, and he brought Hollywood with him.

From the start, I knew he was trouble. For our town. And for me.

Sometimes, opposites just aren’t meant to attract.

Melanie’s 4-SOLID Stars Review:

I absolutely loved the cover and the synopsis of Alessandra Torre’s Hollywood Dirt. Loved that the cover encompasses exactly what this book is all about; the lavish Hollywood lifestyle combined with the deep simplicity of Southern dirt road. I enjoyed Cole and Summer’s story very much. It kept you on your toes, pulling at your girly bits every single time the sexual tension between the two characters grew and grew. I loved everything about Cole; from his cocky ways in the beginning of this book up until the last layer of his multi-dimensional personality was peeled away. At the heart of it all, he was ever the romantic, never once letting up on the chase. He knew what he wanted and he was out to win Summer’s heart.

When Cole and Summer were together, everything about them was electrifying—their game of cat and mouse a total tease to the senses. Enough to pull you in and make you hungry for more but not beyond the level of angst to make you want to slap ‘em something good. I loved that about this book; a gratifying change to the angst-filled romances out there in the market. Because I loved them so much together, it made the beginning of this book a bit too slow paced for me. While I appreciated being educated on Southern etiquette, I kept wanting to skip over those parts to get to the “good stuff.” This was a big peeve for me because I hate to ever rush through pages because I feel that each word on each page in any book is worth savoring and that’s why I had to dock down to 4 stars even when Cole and Summer’s romance was worth every bit of a 5-star.

Hollywood Dirt didn’t have the dramatic flair that I had expected from an Alessandra Torre book—given the last couple I’ve read from her BUT I thought this was such a refreshing change. While I kept waiting for the other shoe to drop and for a big blow up, those never came. Situations that could have been over dramatized were instead softly cushioned and the blows never came too painfully. This was definitely a pleasant, modern day love story and exactly what I needed at the time. I recommend this book to those hopeless romantics out there who don’t exactly have their heads stuck on top of the clouds. Those who still somehow believe in soul mates even when their everyday lives can get in the way. It is books like this that help us escape those realities and spend at least a couple of hours away from mundane and into the pages of something so sweet, you’re sure to come out of it with at least one cavity.

We Like It Big Tunes:

Ever ever ever after by Carrie Underwood

About the Author:

61O37rbVOaL._UX250_

Alessandra Torre is an award-winning New York Times bestselling author of ten novels. Her books focus on romance and suspense, all with a strong undercurrent of sexuality. Torre has been featured in such publications as Elle and Elle UK, co-hosted Dirty Sexy Funny with Jenny McCarthy, as well as guest blogged for the Huffington Post and RT Book Reviews. She is also the Bedroom Blogger for Cosmopolitan.com.

Learn more about Alessandra on her website at http://www.alessandratorre.com, or you can find her on Twitter (@ReadAlessandra) or her Facebook fanpage.

Leave a Reply

