Unblocked Collection by Marni Mann Review

Unblocked Collection Cover

Unblocked Collection Blurb:

Bestselling author, Marni Mann, brings readers, the Unblocked Collection. These steamy novellas take you on an erotic journey with Derek Block and Frankie Jordan as they navigate secrets, professional boundaries, and a connection they cannot seem to avoid.

EPISODE ONE
One taste was all it took…
Derek Block seeks revenge.
Frankie Jordan seeks professional dominance.
He wants her, she wants him.
Lines that can’t cross begin to blur.

EPISODE TWO
Derek Block demands more.
Frankie Jordan wants to run.
Pleasure complicates business.
But some passion is just too hard to resist.
Things are getting hotter as real estate gets real…

EPISODE THREE
Derek Block confronts his past.
Frankie Jordan’s past pursues her.
Secrets threaten to keep them apart.
They want to let go of each other, but can’t.
Their passion is too hot to resist.
Things are scorching as real estate gets real…

EPISODE FOUR
Derek Block is ready to fight.
Frankie Jordan must make a decision.
Their pasts are demanding attention.
Confessing the truth may not be enough.
But can their intense passion sustain them?

EPISODE FIVE
Derek Block needs to protect those he cares about.
Frankie Jordan fears the loss of those she loves.
Darkness drives them.
But could it drive them apart?
This is Episode Five, the final Episode in the Timber Towers Series.

IMG_1086

Episode one:
3.5 stars

This first episode was a quick read.
But… It did take me a while to really get into it.
Towards the middle/end of the book I was starting to feel the characters.

Frankie is one of the best realtors out there. She’s worked long and hard to get her flawless reputation. She is also trying to prove to her father that he can finally pass over the reins to her and take over the family company and not have him worry about her.

Derek is a top developer with some secrets. He’s just about finished with his latest development. He needs a top realtor to help him sell all his units.
He only wants the best. And Frankie is the best.
They both have a no fraternization rule. But once they both meet each other. They both knew it was going to be hard not to cross that line!

I’m interested to see where book 2 takes me. There were a lot of people introduced in this book that I could see a potential threats. Can’t wait to see how it’s all played out.

One issue I had with this book was…
I really wasn’t feeling how Derek was always talking about how he can please a women with his tongue. Or always referring to how he can please a women.
It was too soon for all that kind of talk.

And another thing that didn’t sit well with me….
Was how the author described Derek in the beginning.
“Brutish, grizzled, milk chocolate curls, burly, animalistic”
Hmmm…
To me… That description alone had me seeing a hairy and kind of a wild unkept man with no manners?
I think the author could have used different words to describe Derek a little better. Make him more appealing.
I think that’s why it took me a while to get into this book.

But… I’m going into book 2 with an open mind.

Episode two
3.5 stars

This one was way more in your face sexually. And I loved it!
Frankie and Derek were done waiting and they finally get together.

I just felt something big was going to happen. We still don’t know a lot of what’s going on with Derek.
Episode one just laid the groundwork.
This book…never really addressed anything.
So, hopefully book 3 starts to really shed some light on some of the things Derek is trying to achieve.

I’m not really feeling the whole dominance thing Derek has going on. It seems a little fifty shades with the whole no touching. I hate that he doesn’t let Frankie touch him. And I hate how she doesn’t open her mouth about it.

Hopefully book three picks up. And we get some answers.

Episode three
3.5 stars

I’m well into book 3 and we still don’t know what’s going on with Derek’s family drama. Or what Reed (Frankie’s ex-boyfriend) wants with Frankie.
And we still don’t know the whole story about the break-up. We keep getting little bits and pieces.
For me… It’s already starting to take too long.

The relationship between Frankie and Derek seems to be moving along. But as of right now it’s all about the sex. I need more than that.

Derek sister…. She acts like a jealous girlfriend. I’m still up in the air with her.
And Reed…. We still don’t know why he’s coming on so strong with Frankie.

One thing that keeps bugging me is the over use of the word cunt.
I’m ok with it here and there. But… Derek is supposed to be this super rich, sofistcated kind of guy with a ruggedness to him.
Cunt is just not doing it for me anymore. It’s starting to bug me.

Episode four
4 stars.

This book was what I needed. It gave all the information about everyone in this book. We now know all the secrets everyone was hiding.

The relationship between Derek and Frankie has progressed nicely.
But…. Derek I felt by this point should have been more open with Frankie.
But he was still holding back not telling her the whole story.
but, He expected Frankie to tell him everything.

Episode 5.
3.5 stars

I liked the way things unfolded in this last book.
But…. I just wished we had more information along the way with the the other episodes.
I think certain things could have been addressed…
like the whole Hadley situation. It was never really addressed. We find out her roll in Frankie’s life and that’s it. Nothing else.
Things I didn’t get or just fell a little short were.
-The whole thing with Will and Julia was just a little weird.
-The whole Tammera thing…. I got it.
But… Your going to tell me she never felt anything for Derek. And she didn’t feel used by him?
-I thought Frankie’s dad would have played a bigger roll in this last book. I just felt his character was build up. He just felt a little flat to me.
-Randy’s whole roll in the books took way to long.

The sex was good. But it just felt like this whole series was mostly all about he sex. Book 1-3 should have been a little more than just sex. Book 4-5…. Had a lot of sex. But we finally got the story too.

Overall… I liked this series… But I could not fully fall in love with it.
I wasn’t really feeling Frankie’s whole submissive side. And her need to always be drinking. She was constantly drinking wine or some form of liquor.
And I could not get into Derek’s commands. And his way of thinking. Every thought he had… Was something sexual.
It was a put off.

This whole series reminded me a little bit of Fifty Shades and the This Man series. I could definitely see characteristics of the main characters in both Frankie and Derek in those other series.

*ARC provided for an honest review*

5400988

About this author


Best-selling Author Marni Mann knew she was going to be a writer since middle school. While other girls her age were daydreaming about teenage pop stars, Mann was fantasizing about penning her first novel. She crafts sexy, titillating stories that weave together her love of darkness, mystery, passion, and human emotion. A New Englander at heart, she now lives in Sarasota, Florida with her husband and their two dogs who subsequently have been characters in her books. When she’s not nose deep in her laptop working on her next novel, she’s scouring for chocolate, sipping wine, traveling to new locations, and devouring fabulous books.

Marni’s Social Media Links:

WEBSITE: www.MarniSMann.com
FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/MarniMannAuthor
TWITTER: https://twitter.com/marnimann
INSTAGRAM: https://instagram.com/marnimann/
NEWSLETTER: http://marnismann.com/e-mail-signup/
 

Leave a Reply

