BOOK REVIEW: Art & Soul by Brittainy Cherry

FullSizeRender (27)

Buy Links:

Amazon US Kindle -> http://amzn.to/1U7wmCe

Amazon US Paperback -> http://amzn.to/1U7wsK5

IMG_4371

Blurb:

I had always been the invisible art student in high school.
Passed by. Glossed over. Unnoticed.
Now I was Aria Watson… that girl.

After one bad decision, and being labeled a slut, I was no longer unseen. I was the whore. The ignoramus. The tramp.
I would never be invisible again.

Particularly to Levi Myers. He was the odd boy with the beautiful soul who accepted and understood the broken girl inside me.

Falling in love wasn’t the plan. But how could I resist his promises of hope? Of forgiveness? Of a future I had stopped dreaming of?
We were shattered. We were scarred. We were something strange and beautiful.

We were two lost souls holding on to the only thing that could keep us together.

Each other.

Melanie’s 4.5 Oooooh I really wanted to give a 5 Star Review:

It’s been a long while since I’ve read an eye opening YA book. Brittainy Cherry’s Art & Soul, just blew that out of the water. I have enough confidence in this author that I pretty much went into this book blind; ignoring the blurb and any published reviews from fellow bloggers/readers. Loving Mr. Daniel’s to this day still sits atop my “best reads” and so I dove into this book with great expectation. Brittainy Cherry has once again impressed the heck out of me. Art & Soul is a profoundly prolific read; like I said before, it opened up my eyes in a way I hadn’t in a long while and I was moved beyond measure by her words.

The power of characters in this book goes beyond Levi and Aria. The secondary characters play parts that are just as vital and their relationships with one another create for a stirring story. What I loved most about this book was that I feel like I came out of this a better person. The author paints such a vibrant mix of the good and the bad—an oxymoron that is so brilliantly told through the lives of these young people. There are a number of unexpected twist of events for both Levi and Aria; and it is these life changing events that lead them to one another. I loved them both; genuinely good people who stumble upon one another not by happiness but by the grief and sadness that they have become so attuned with. But the most glorious thing about finding one another in their darkness is that they somehow become the light for one another. I believe that when people work past the grief and the sadness together, the connection becomes so profound that you somehow, in some inexplicable way become tethered to each other. The journey that the author takes us on makes you believe this theory that much more.

I cannot tell you how many times I felt my tears crawling down my face. Art & Soul is so much more than a romantic love story; it is simply a love story… Between friends, family, and even one’s self.  This wasn’t the obligatory YA novel of just finding the love of their lives. No, this book was all about finding their place in this world. It touched on both the young characters like Simon who is Aria’s forever best friend whom I was completely smitten with. I loved how extraordinarily brave he was even when he was scared. This book didn’t just stop with these young characters. It showed that parents, whom children may think always seem to have it all figured out, really don’t. Personally, I think that Art & Soul is a true contender to bestselling books like The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Paper Towns…

I loved every bit of this book and I’m really, really sad that I feel cheated of more. This book had everything going for me but then it just wrapped itself up without fully satisfying my hunger because I wish that we had some sort of an epilogue to give that complete closure to their stories. They deserved that, fully vested readers like myself deserve that, and this book needed that. So I implore you Brittainy Cherry, to please give us that. Give Aria and Levi and the beautiful cast an ending that should have been.

For you reading this review, BUY this NOW! It is a spectacular read that will move you and change you even if just an inkling. Art & Soul is pleasantly unexpected and it is definitely can’t miss YA read.

We Like It Big Tunes:

Snow Patrol- Chasing Cars

About the Author:

615xZTSROxL._UX250_

Brittainy Cherry has been in love with words since the day she took her first breath. She graduated from Carroll University with a Bachelors Degree in Theatre Arts and a minor in Creative Writing. She loves to take part in writing screenplays, acting, and dancing–poorly of course. Coffee, chai tea, and wine are three things that she thinks every person should partake in! Brittainy lives in Milwaukee, Wisconsin with her family. When she’s not running a million errands and crafting stories, she’s probably playing with her adorable pets.

You can find her on:

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/BrittainyCherryAuthor

Website: https://brittainycherry.wordpress.com/

Twitter: @BrittainyCherry

Leave a Reply

