BLOG TOUR & BOOK REVIEW: Translucent by Erin Noelle

FullSizeRender (22)

Buy Links:

Amazon Kindle-> http://amzn.to/1f4N2MA

Amazon Paperback -> http://amzn.to/1DEE5pr

IMG_4268

Blurb:

Sometimes you reach a point where you just can’t take anymore—a breaking point, some call it. The day I watched my husband murder the woman who was pregnant with his child, my point didn’t just break; it exploded like a full magazine’s worth of hollow points firing through the barrel of a fully-automatic AK-47. Literally. I am no longer his American Princess, nor am I his slave. Now, I’m a murderer in hiding. My name was Bryleigh Carter Oliveira, and that was my story. Translucent is one woman’s story of breaking free, starting over, and learning to trust again through willful submission.

Melanie’s 3-Star Review:

Translucent by Erin Noelle caught my eye for three main reasons– the cover, the blurb, and the author. I was riding an Erin Noelle high after reading her amazeballs MILF. I loved how she drew me in with something forbidden and so when I read the blurb for Translucent, I’d pretty my cemented in my mind that I’d be lost in Bryleigh “Blake” and Madden’s story too. And I was totally engrossed with Blake’s disturbing past. I thought it amazing how Erin Noelle stepped out of her usual style giving us a bold look at her darker side. I felt Blake’s helplessness; bound to the ugly demons she’d experienced at the hands of a psychopath. And though the suspense was there, it didn’t quite remain constant for me. I didn’t feel the  twists in my stomach from the anxiousness that suspense driven books usually give me. Maybe because I was so weighed down by my sympathy towards Blake’s character.

I also wish that I knew what lay behind Madden’s instant connection and allure to Blake was. It was left unexplained and that bothers me so much; why did Blake suddenly switch on his need to dominate? What was it that drew him to her at their first meeting? These are the kind of questions that kept swirling around which lead to my disconnect with their relationship. There were just such awkward moments between them too like her calling him “Sir” without even being told to. Now, I know this falls under the Erotica/Romance/BDSM genre but it certainly didn’t feel that way to me. I’d say it’s a whole lot more of an angst-filled romance.

So while I hoped to be blown away by this darker tale, I was instead met with a lukewarm feeling. Sure I’d like to find out what happens in the next book after an ending like Erin Noelle left me with and of course I am really, really hoping for a much stronger pull between Madden and Blake because I think these two could be quite electric given the right dialogue and a more natural interaction between one another. I also look forward to seeing Blake break through those binds and to finally become the woman she’d always dreamed of being.

One thought on “BLOG TOUR & BOOK REVIEW: Translucent by Erin Noelle

Leave a Reply

