Shortstop by A.M. Madden Book Review

FullSizeRender

Buy Link: http://amzn.to/1SmfAyg

IMG_3999

Blurb:

“Quint and Annie sitting in a tree…K.I.S.S.I.N.G.”

Quint Lawson and Annie Weber heard that childhood song over and over and it never bothered them. Even though Quint was only five, Annie wasn’t just his neighbor. She would become his best friend and the love of his life. Annie wasn’t interested in dolls, or girly things when growing up. A tomboy at heart, having a boy as a best friend suited her just fine. That same boy captured her heart.

Quint had two passions, his girl and baseball. From kindergarten to college, Quint tore up every baseball diamond he played on. His position was shortstop. His talent was undeniable. Professional ball was most definitely in his future, and he was ready for it. Annie would be right by his side.

When everything in life is perfect, it’s hard to imagine heartbreak in any form. Quint wasn’t immune to its power. This shortstop had no idea what any form of heartbreak could do to his perfect world. When it hit, there were many casualties left in its wake…the most important one was Annie.

Can a person be prepared for, understand, or even endure a misfortune if they’ve never experienced one before? In Quint Lawson’s case the answer is no.

The Shortstop is a contemporary romance stand alone novel meant for readers who are 18+ due to mature content.

Melanie’s 3-ANNIE Stars Review:

The blurb and the cover of A.M. Madden’s Shortstop definitely caught my eye. I love reading books about first loves and add on to that an athlete as the hero—yes, yes, yes!

Unfortunately, I found this book to be way too fast, way too much, and way too short for all of the issues that go down between Annie and Q. I thought that the time lapse between such crucial periods were too quickly done that it eliminated any chance of finding a genuine connection with the hero of this book and the love story itself. It didn’t give me the opportunity to soak up their journey and to me that is very hard to accept.

Quint… Oh Quint Lawson. I could not wrap my mind and my heart around his actions and I am so disappointed in myself for not being able to look past them even with the reasons behind his actions for the life of me just could not love the guy. I thought he was immature and selfish and proved this time and time again even during the times he asks for forgiveness and works to redeem himself. But again I think because the story was so rushed, I couldn’t catch my breath to truly understand him and for the first time in my literary life, this hero didn’t rise from the “ashes” and it does abhorrent things to my psyche.

So you may be asking how I could possibly give this book 3-stars with everything I’ve said. I’ll tell you that all of these stars go to Annie, the heroine of this book. She was the silver lining to everything. I empathized with her and A.M. Madden must be given praise where it’s due because she actually brought tears to my eyes; tears for Annie and the heart break she was subjected to. Annie is THE girl next door—sweet, beautiful, smart, and loyal. So much more deserving than what she was dished with. I was able to identify with her, getting burned because she was too nice, too faithful to walk away before she was hit with the proverbial sledgehammer breaking her heart into tiny pieces. I was crushed right alongside her and this much I loved about this book.

Shortstop was a definite short stop for me; beginning and ending with Annie. One heck of a heroine who needed a much stronger hero in my opinion. If you are looking for something cathartic and quick, then this could be for you and because my opinion is subjective, you may find better luck in looking past Quint’s faults and finding Shortstop to be a great summer romantic read.

About the Author:

41Eei+GPIXL._UX250_

Amazon Best Selling Author ~
A.M. Madden’s debut novel is Back-up, the first in The Back-Up Series. The series includes Back-Up, Front & Center, Encore, Backstage, and The Devil’s Lair Novella.

A.M. Madden is a wife, a mother, an avid reader of romance novels and now an author. In Back-up she aspired to create a fun, sexy, realistic romantic story. She wanted to create characters that the reader could relate to and feel as if they knew personally. A self-proclaimed hopeless romantic, she loves getting lost in a good book. She also uses every free moment of her time writing, while raising teenage boys.

A.M. Madden, Independent Author of the Back-up Series.
http://www.ammadden.com

A.M. Madden is a Goodreads Author and can be contacted on Facebook, twitter, or at am.madden@aol.com

Leave a Reply

